- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- SOCS325
- SOCS325 Resources
SOCS325
Students in this course explore environmental issues as perceived by society. Coursework addresses cultural norms, ideologies, beliefs, and economic and gender-related factors that affect finding and providing sustainable solutions to environmental issues
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Environmental Social Science by
Environmental Social Science offers a new synthesis of environmental studies, defining the nature of human-environment interactions and providing the foundation for a new cross-disciplinary enterprise that will make critical theories and research methods accessible across the natural and social sciences. Makes key theories and methods of the social sciences available to biologists and other environmental scientists Explains biological theories and concepts for the social sciences community working on the environment Helps bridge one of the difficult divides in collaborative work in human-environment research Includes much-needed descriptions of how to carry out research that is multinational, multiscale, multitemporal, and multidisciplinary within a complex systems theory context
ISBN: 9781444319064Publication Date: 2010-02-02
Dynamic Sustainabilities by
Linking environmental sustainability with poverty reduction and social justice, and making science and technology work for the poor, have become central practical, political and moral challenges of our times. These must be met in a world of rapid, interconnected change in environments, societies and economies, and globalised, fragmented governance arrangements. Yet despite growing international attention and investment, policy attempts often fail. Why is this, and what can be done about it? How might we understand and address emergent threats from epidemic disease, or the challenges of water scarcity in dryland India? In the context of climate change, how might seed systems help African farmers meet their needs, and how might appropriate energy strategies be developed?This book lays out a new 'pathways approach' to address sustainability challenges such as these in today's dynamic world. Through an appreciation of dynamics, complexity, uncertainty, differing narratives and the values-based aims of sustainability, the pathways approach allows us to see how some approaches are dominant, even though they do not produce the desired results, and how to create successful alternative 'pathways' of responding to the challenges we face.As well as offering new ways of thinking about sustainability, the book also suggests a series of practical ways forward - in tools and methods, forms of political engagement, and styles of knowledge-making and communication. Throughout the book, the practicalities of the pathways approach are illustrated using four case studies: water in dryland India, agricultural seeds in Africa, responses to epidemic disease and energy systems/climate change.Published in association with the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)
ISBN: 9781849775069Publication Date: 2010-08-12
Environmental Anthropology Today by
Today, we face some of the greatest environmental challenges in global history. Understanding the damage being done and the varied ethics and efforts contributing to its repair is of vital importance. This volume poses the question: What can increasing the emphasis on the environment in environmental anthropology, along with the science of its problems and the theoretical and methodological tools of anthropological practice, do to aid conservation efforts, policy initiatives, and our overall understanding of how to survive as citizens of the planet? Environmental Anthropology Today combines a range of new ethnographic work with chapters exploring key theoretical and methodological issues, and draws on disciplines such as sociology and environmental science as well as anthropology to illuminate those issues. The case studies include work on North America, Europe, India, Africa, Asia, and South America, offering the reader a stimulating and thoughtful survey of the work currently being conducted in the field.
ISBN: 9780203806906Publication Date: 2012-05-08
Routledge Handbook of Climate Change and Society by
As the time-scales of natural change accelerate and converge with those of society, Routledge Handbook of Climate Change and Society takes the reader into largely uncharted territory in its exploration of anthropogenic climate change. Current material is used to highlight the global impact of this issue, and the necessity for multidisciplinary and global social science research and teaching to address the problem. The book is multidisciplinary and worldwide in scope, with contributors spanning specialisms including agro-forestry, economics, environmentalism, ethics, human geography, international relations, law, politics, psychology, sociology and theology. Their global knowledge is reflected in the content of the text, which encompasses chapters on American, European and Chinese policies, case studies of responses to disasters and of the new technological and lifestyle alternatives that are being adopted, and the negotiations leading up to the Copenhagen conference alongside a preface assessing its outcomes. Starting with an initial analysis by a leading climatologist, key issues discussed in the text include recent findings of natural scientists, social causation and vulnerability, media and public recognition or scepticism, and the merits and difficulties of actions seeking to mitigate and adapt. This accessible volume utilizes a wealth of case studies, explains technical terms and minimises the use of acronyms associated with the subject, making it an essential text for advanced undergraduates, postgraduate students and researchers in the social sciences.
ISBN: 9780203876213Publication Date: 2010-07-12
Environmental Impact Assessment by
Environmental Impact Assessment: Theory and Practice describes the various pieces of knowledge necessary to speak the language of EIA and carry out EIAs focusing on a variety of environmental issues, including impacts on environmental components, like air, water, soils, land, noise and biological environments. Organized into 15 chapters, the book provides engineers with the tools and methods to conduct an effective assessment, including report preparations, design measures and relevant mitigation steps that can be taken to reduce or avoid negative effects. Case Studies are presented, providing guidance professionals can use to better understand, plan and prepare environmental impact assessments. Presents detailed methodologies for air pollution control, waste treatment schemes, phytoremediation, bioremediation, hazardous waste, green belt development and rainwater harvesting Highlights concepts and important definitions of EIA and the planning and management of EIA study Discusses the impacts on valued environmental components, like air, water, soils, land, noise, and biological and socioeconomic environments in a systematic manner
ISBN: 9780128112380Publication Date: 2017-06-14
Climate Change, Media and Culture by
The acceleration of massive global climate change creates a nexus for the examination of power, political rhetoric, science communication, and sustainable development. This book provides an international view of twenty first century environmental communication, from journalism to artistic expression, to critically explore mediated expressions of climate change. Seeking to understand how government policies, environmental news reports, corporate messages, and social influences communicate the complexities of climate change to the public, this book examines the roles that journalism, entertainment, and strategic messaging play in mediating meanings of science, health, economy, and sustainable solutions. It considers the critical importance of the study of climate change communication, which is inherently interdisciplinary, as well as globally and locally impactful. With topics ranging from communicating resilience through environmental journalism and linguistics, the storytelling of climate change explanations in the news, the role of visual communication in capturing and addressing climate change, and the communication of the health impacts of climate change, this book will appeal to undergraduate and graduate students and scholars in environmental sciences, international relations and politics, media, journalism and mass communication.
ISBN: 9781787699670Publication Date: 2019-10-14
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowContains more than one million records with links to over 300,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowContains more than 375,000 records covering all aspects of human impact to the environment (with full text for over 4,500 records).
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides coverage of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, and databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and more.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Full-text periodicals covering "all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as...performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and...thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world".
- ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Academic searches the content of ProQuest Central, Ebook Central (Academic Complete), Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of 400 journals on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new window "This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics."
- Science Database This link opens in a new window "This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences."
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window "Indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology."
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers more than two million records with more than 850 full-text journals dating back to 1908; includes more than 800 books and 16,000 conference papers.
Recommend Journals
- AMBIO: A Journal of the Human Environment Open Access
- Business Strategy and the Environment Business Strategy and the Environment (BSE) is the leading academic journal in its field with peer-reviewed contributions of a high quality. It seeks to provide original contributions that add to the understanding of business responses to improving environmental performance. It seeks to examine links between competitive strategy and environmental management as well as providing results of research into systems and standards, corporate environmental management tools, organisations and management, particular industry sectors and responses of business to contemporary environmental issues. It examines the role of regulation and policy in the business sector and encourages cross-country analysis. Contributions are encouraged which extend the scope of activity from environmental management to sustainable development in business. The journal should be of interest to a broad interdisciplinary audience including academics, practitioners, business managers and consultants.
- Capitalism Nature Socialism Open Access
Recommended Websites
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283