According to the Global Wellness Institute (n.d.), wellness is "the active pursuit of activities, choices and lifestyles that lead to a state of holistic health." Further, wellness encompasses physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, social, and environmental health (GWI, n.d.).
Global Wellness Institute. (n.d.). What is wellness? https://globalwellnessinstitute.org/what-is-wellness/
How to Thrive at Work
by
An essential read for anyone experiencing low level anxiety or stress, this book pulls together the various individual strands of business logic, scientific research, self-care, spirituality and common sense to provide a one-stop guide to thriving at work. The widespread 'more for less' attitude is creating a dramatic rise in work-related stress and a higher ratio of staff sickness. Not only does this create a fiscal impact upon the organisation and the broader economy but it has the potential to create significant long-term mental health issues for employees. You cannot always alter the demands of your professional or personal lives but, by understanding more about how your brain functions and by actively pursuing well-being techniques, you can enhance the skills that help you manage and succeed at the challenges thrown at you and reduce the risks associated with burnout. With a focus on improving mindfulness, motivation and productivity, this book offers sound, practical advice and strategies for self-care whatever your working environment and whatever stage you are at in your career.
Improving Learning and Mental Health in the College Classroom
by
How teachers can help combat higher education's mental health crisis. Mental health challenges on college campuses were a huge problem before COVID-19, and now they are even more pronounced. But while much has been written about higher education's mental health crisis, very little research focuses on the role played by those on campus whose influence on student well-being may well be greatest: teachers. Drawing from interviews with students and the scholarship of teaching and learning, this book helps correct the oversight, examining how faculty can--instead of adding to their own significant workloads or duplicating counselors' efforts--combat student stress through adjustments to the work they already do as teachers. Improving Learning and Mental Health in the College Classroom provides practical tips that reduce unnecessary discouragement. It demonstrates how small improvements in teaching can have great impacts in the lives of students with mental health challenges, while simultaneously boosting learning for all students.
Meditation for Dummies
by
Take an inward journey for a happier, healthier life Meditation has been used for centuries to reduce stress, increase energy, and enhance overall health and well-being--so it's no wonder more and more people in today's fast-paced and stress-centric world are adopting this age-old practice. If you want to achieve a greater state of calmness, physical relaxation, and psychological balance, Meditation For Dummies is your life raft. Covering the latest research on the health benefits of meditation, this new edition explains in plain English how you can put meditation into practice today and start reaping the benefits of living a more mindful life. Whether you're new to meditation or a seasoned practitioner coming back for a refresher course, this plain-English guide provides a wealth of tips and techniques for sitting (or lying) down with your mind to meditate successfully. From preparing your body for meditation to focusing your awareness and being open to the present moment, it covers everything you need to put distractions to rest and open yourself up to a meditation practice that works for you. Provides the latest research on the causes of happiness and how meditation can improve your mood Includes a new chapter on the growing trend of meditation in the workplace Explains how meditation and other mindfulness practices have made their way into hospitals, schools, prison, and military groups Illustrates the benefits of taking time to consciously cultivate mindfulness through meditation If you're ready to find some zen and benefit from all meditation has to offer, this friendly guide sets you up for success.
Men's Health
by
This comprehensive book addresses men's health and wellness in the context of the male psyche, provides up to date research on men's health, discusses theoretical frameworks, shares perspectives from men and lists consumer resources and tools. Men's Health explores social, cultural, physical and psychological approaches to men's health with sections focusing on the psycho-social issues, the body, relationships, healthy living and aging, while taking into account cultural differences. Each chapter: · provides a review of the current science and emerging research of the topic; · outlines theoretical frameworks, best practices and recommendations for advancing men's health through service delivery, research, education, policy and advocacy; · features a personal assessment tool on the topic; and · includes vignettes from men, their friends and families, and care providers. Suitable for students taking undergraduate courses on men's health and wellness, this broad-ranging textbook is the ideal introduction to the topic.
Mindfulness
by
An easy to follow guide to creating a mindful approach to life In this updated Second Edition of Mindfulness, mindfulness expert Gill Hasson explains how, instead of rushing through your life, you can take things at a slower pace and feel calmer and more grounded. You will discover how being mindful opens you up to new ways of thinking and doing things, reducing stress and increasing your enjoyment of life. With ideas, tips and techniques to help you enjoy a more mindful approach to life, you'll learn how to: Adopt more positive ways of thinking and behaving Become calmer and more confident Let go of the past and break free from unhelpful thoughts and behaviour Bring about positive changes in your relationships Achieve a new level of self-awareness and understanding Too often, you don't fully experience what is and is not happening now. Mindfulness explains how to be more aware and better able to stay in the present moment so that you can benefit from a fresh new approach to your life.
Mindfulness for Dummies
by
Breathe deep, declutter your mind, and start leading a healthier, happier life The worry won't stop. You're feeling stressed out, the day-to-day seems overwhelming, and it seems difficult to do the simplest things. How can you escape this continual negative feedback loop? Mindfulness is the answer. Practiced by millions of people worldwide, mindfulness puts you back in a healthy relationship with yourself by teaching techniques that allow you to maintain a moment-by-moment awareness of your thoughts, feelings, and environment. Clear your mind of distracting thoughts Focus on breathing and other self-control techniques Change the wiring and makeup of your brain Free yourself from the stress With this expert, easy-to-follow guide, there's never been a better time to get to grips with mindfulness and the many ways it can help you lead a happier, healthier life.
Nutrition for Dummies
by
Updated with the latest available research and the new 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines It's a scientific fact: You really are what you eat. Good nutrition is your meal-ticket to staying sleek, healthy, and strong--both physically and mentally. Nutrition For Dummies, 7th Edition is a complete guide that shows you how to maintain a healthy weight, promote health, and prevent chronic disease. This book gives you the know-how to put together a shopping list, prepare healthy foods, and easily cut calories. Along the way, there's up-to-the-minute guidance for building a nutritious diet at every stage of life from toddler time to your Golden Years. Enjoy!
The Routledge International Handbook of Race, Culture and Mental Health
by
This handbook presents a thorough examination of the intricate interplay of race, ethnicity, and culture in mental health - historical origins, subsequent transformations, and the discourses generated from past and present mental health and wellness practices. The text demonstrates how socio-cultural identities including race, gender, class, sexual orientation, disability, religion, and age intersect with clinical work in a range of settings. Case vignettes and recommendations for best practice help ground each in a clinical focus, guiding practitioners and educators to actively increase their understanding of non-Western and indigenous healing techniques, as well as their awareness of contemporary mental health theories as a product of Western culture with a particular historical and cultural perspective. The international contributors also discuss ways in which global mental health practices transcend racial, cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and political boundaries. The Routledge International Handbook of Race, Culture and Mental Health is an essential resource for students, researchers, and professionals alike as it addresses the complexity of mental health issues from a critical, global perspective.