- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HRM430
- HRM430 Library Resources
HRM430
Compensation and Benefits- This course focuses on how organizations use pay systems and benefit plans as a method of achieving corporate goals. Topics include design of pay systems, analysis and evaluation of pay systems.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
The Compensation Handbook by
The Perennial Favorite of HR Professionals Seeking the Most Current, Insightful Reference in the Field For over thirty-five years, human resources and management professionals have been turning to a single source for the most astute and up-to-date commentary about the state of the industry-The Compensation Handbook. Composed of one-hundred percent brand-new material from more than sixty authorities in the field, this fully updated edition provides direct insight into the most critical issues compensation and human resources professionals face today. Among the many human-capital topics covered are new reward strategies for attracting and retaining highly qualified employees from America's fast-draining talent pool; addressing the mass retirement of baby boomers-the decade's most vexing HR problem; and responding to the varying needs and desires of a multicultural, multi-generational workforce ranging from the over-sixty traditionalists to the new "Millennials." The Compensation Handbook illustrates how employee compensation addresses these and many other critical topics, including: Unwrapping the riddle of employee pay Creating a total reward strategy Effectively using competency based pay Utilizing the most effective approaches to broadbanding Applying the best performance management practices Demystifying CEO pay Creating team-based incentives for strong outcomes Rationalizing board compensation Applying a solid program for addressing work-life issues Designing compensation systems that support talent management strategies Never before has such dramatic changes in the workforce occurred as rapidly as they are today. With economies stretching around the globe and the recent rise of foreign financial giants, among numerous other radical changes in business and industry, those in the field of human resources and compensation are faced with an entirely new catalog of concerns. This long-time industry staple contains all the methods, tools, and diagnostics you'll need to navigate the maze. Packed with the most comprehensive and insightful information you'll find anywhere, The Compensation Handbook offers not only straightforward answers to specific problems, but also provides a firm foundation for solving issues unique to your company.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780071496759Publication Date: 2008-05-19
Executive Compensation Best Practices by
Executive Compensation Best Practices demystifies the topic of executive compensation, with a hands-on guide providing comprehensive compensation guidance for all members of the board. Essential reading for board members, CEOs, and senior human resources leaders from companies of every size, this book is the most authoritative reference on executive compensation.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780470223796Publication Date: 2008-04-04
Planning and Managing Human Resources by
The completely revised and updated new edition of Planning & Managing Human Resources will help you successfully implement the steps of strategic planning for human resources. Learn how to establish a strategic human resources plan that will contribute to your organization's business plan and ensure you outperform your competitors.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780874257182Publication Date: 2003-01-01
The Routledge Companion to Strategic Human Resource Management by
'The Routledge Companion to Strategic Human Resource Management' is a prestige reference work offering a comprehensive and authoritative overview of the field. It surveys the state of the discipline and introduces and makes sense of new cutting edge themes.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780415772044Publication Date: 2008-12-23
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window A special search tool or finding business information in Ebscohost databases
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 500 full-text journals and more than 200 educational reports.
HR Journals and Periodicals
- Academy of Management JournalAccess to the Academy of Management Journal from 1959 to present.
- Academy of Management ReviewAccess to the Academy Management Review from 1976 to present.
- HR Magazine (SHRM)Access to HR Magazine published by the Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM) from 1994 to present.
- Human Resource Development QuarterlyAccess to Human Resource Development Quarterly from 1990 to present. Embargo on past 12 month full text.
- Human Resource ManagementAccess to Human Resource Management from 1961 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Human Resource Management ReviewAccess to Human Resource Management Review from 1997 to present.
- Human Resource PlanningAccess to Human Resource Planning from1983 to present.
- Journal of Human ResourcesAccess to the Journal of Human Resources from 1985 to present.
- Personnel PsychologyAccess to Personnel Psychology from 1985 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Workforce ManagementAccess to Workforce Management from 1994 to present.
Recommended Websites
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283