- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HRM410
- HRM410 Library Resources
HRM410
Strategic Staffing- This course focuses on developing a strategic structure for providing corporations with human resources necessary to achieve organizational goals. Students learn strategies for planning, recruiting, selecting, and training.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Complete Idiot's Guide to Recruiting the Right Stuff by
For some, hiring the right employees can feel like a game of chance. Arthur Pell's guide helps managers navigate the murky waters of the talent pool and find the best personnel from the cream of the crop.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780028639017Publication Date: 2000-05-09
Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting and Orienting New Employees by
"Nothing is more important to the productivity of an organization than its hiring program. For almost 20 years, this book has been the go-to reference on every aspect of the employment process. Known for its practical and down-to-earth approach and jargon-free tone, Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting & Orienting New Employeesis now in its Fourth Edition, with fresh information on today's recruitment challenges, interview methods such as peer interviewing and video interviews, documentation issues, reference-checking guidelines, and new orientation programs. Readers will also find expanded coverage of electronic recruiting and other recruitment sources, applicant testing, and much more. The book comes packed with a full complement of step-by-step guidelines, ready-to-use interview questions and scripts, forms and checklists, and other valuable hiring tools that will help get great employees on board quickly and effectively."
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780814408612Publication Date: 2005-12-06
Recruiting for Results by
Providing a practical system that can be used immediately, this book offers specific training to managers in recruiting. It also goes beyond the basics, to delve into the inner world of interviewing.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781857034837Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Recruiting Manual for Managers and Supervisors by Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780808001881Publication Date: 1997-05-01
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 500 full-text journals and more than 200 educational reports.
- Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window Contains hundreds of trade and industry-related publications to support research on a variety of technical and vocational fields, including computers, engineering, health, technology, and business.
HR Journals and Periodicals
- Academy of Management JournalAccess to the Academy of Management Journal from 1959 to present.
- Academy of Management ReviewAccess to the Academy Management Review from 1976 to present.
- HR Magazine (SHRM)Access to HR Magazine published by the Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM) from 1994 to present.
- Human Resource Development QuarterlyAccess to Human Resource Development Quarterly from 1990 to present. Embargo on past 12 month full text.
- Human Resource ManagementAccess to Human Resource Management from 1961 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Human Resource Management ReviewAccess to Human Resource Management Review from 1997 to present.
- Human Resource PlanningAccess to Human Resource Planning from1983 to present.
- Journal of Human ResourcesAccess to the Journal of Human Resources from 1985 to present.
- Personnel PsychologyAccess to Personnel Psychology from 1985 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Workforce ManagementAccess to Workforce Management from 1994 to present.
Recommended Websites
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283