- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HRM340
- HRM340 Library Resources
HRM340
Human Resource Information Systems- This course focuses on applying technology to developing, maintaining, and managing human resource information.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
The 2009-2014 World Outlook for Human Resource Management Systems (HRMS) by
This econometric study covers the world outlook for human resource management systems (HRMS) across more than 200 countries. For each year reported, estimates are given for the latent demand, or potential industry earnings (P.I.E.), for the country in question (in millions of U.S. dollars), the percent share the country is of the region and of the globe. These comparative benchmarks allow the reader to quickly gauge a country vis-a-vis others. Using econometric models which project fundamental economic dynamics within each country and across countries, latent demand estimates are created. This report does not discuss the specific players in the market serving the latent demand, nor specific details at the product level. The study also does not consider short-term cyclicalities that might affect realized sales. The study, therefore, is strategic in nature, taking an aggregate and long-run view, irrespective of the players or products involved. This study does not report actual sales data (which are simply unavailable, in a comparable or consistent manner in virtually all of the 230 countries of the world). This study gives, however, my estimates for the worldwide latent demand, or the P.I.E. for human resource management systems (HRMS). It also shows how the P.I.E. is divided across the world's regional and national markets. For each country, I also show my estimates of how the P.I.E. grows over time (positive or negative growth). In order to make these estimates, a multi-stage methodology was employed that is often taught in courses on international strategic planning at graduate schools of business."
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780497838744Publication Date: 2008-09-20
Human Resources Kit for Dummies® by
Align HR practices with your objectives and keep your company competitive A company's ability to grow and stay on top of customer demand has always depended heavily on the quality of its people. Now, more than ever, businesses recognize that finding (and keeping) a highly skilled and motivated workforce is pivotal to success. Maybe you're a business owner and your company is growing, or you're an employee at a small- to midsize-company and management has asked you to take on some'or all'of their HR functions. Either way, knowing how to set up and implement successful HR practices (not to mention navigating the legal minefields in today's increasingly regulated environment) can be tricky. Human Resources Kit For Dummies is your one-stop resource for learning the nuts and bolts of HR. It gives you forms and templates that you can put to immediate and productive use. New information on anti-discrimination legislation; measuring performance; hiring, firing, and retaining employees; and training and development plans The latest info on online and social media policies Updated forms and contracts, from job application forms and sample employee policies to performance appraisals and benefit plan worksheets If you're currently working in Human Resources or are responsible for employees in your business, the tools presented here help you maximize the effectiveness of your own HR program.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781118422892Publication Date: 2012-11-28
Strategic Human Resource Management by
Strategic Human Resource Management provides practical guidance on putting complex HR strategies into practice. Presenting HRM strategies that have been formulated and developed by practitioners, academics and consultants, it demonstrates how these can be implemented in a real-world context and in-line with business objectives, in order to effect positive and productive change. Substantially updated, this edition includes new material which reflects important developments in HR strategies linked with those issues which affect HRM on a day to day basis including: Human capital management, corporate social responsibility, organization development, engagement and talent management. A new feature, the Strategic HR Toolkit, provides guidance on developing HR strategy through a strategic review.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780749453756Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 500 full-text journals and more than 200 educational reports.
- Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window Contains hundreds of trade and industry-related publications to support research on a variety of technical and vocational fields, including computers, engineering, health, technology, and business.
HR Journals and Periodicals
- Academy of Management JournalAccess to the Academy of Management Journal from 1959 to present.
- Academy of Management ReviewAccess to the Academy Management Review from 1976 to present.
- HR Magazine (SHRM)Access to HR Magazine published by the Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM) from 1994 to present.
- Human Resource Development QuarterlyAccess to Human Resource Development Quarterly from 1990 to present. Embargo on past 12 month full text.
- Human Resource ManagementAccess to Human Resource Management from 1961 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Human Resource Management ReviewAccess to Human Resource Management Review from 1997 to present.
- Human Resource PlanningAccess to Human Resource Planning from1983 to present.
- Journal of Human ResourcesAccess to the Journal of Human Resources from 1985 to present.
- Personnel PsychologyAccess to Personnel Psychology from 1985 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Workforce ManagementAccess to Workforce Management from 1994 to present.
Recommended Websites
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283