Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly, business journals dating back to 1886
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window"ProQuest Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic."
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window"Entrepreneurial Studies Source is an essential database for business students and researchers, providing the latest insights on entrepreneurship and small businesses topics. It offers full-text business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies and company profiles."
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window Over 825,000 records dating back to 1965, with over 450 full-text publications including company and country reports and books
IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry reports and lead industry information statistics.
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of more than 300 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Publication Search Boxes Hospitality
Full text coverage 2019 - present
Citation/Abstract coverage 2019 - present
International Hospitality Review
Full text coverage 2018 (Vol. 32, no. 1) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage 2018 (Vol. 32, no. 1) - present
International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management
Full text coverage 1992 (Vol. 4, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
Citation/Abstract coverage 1992 (Vol. 4, no. 1) - present, some exceptions
International Journal of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research
Full text coverage 2007 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
Citation/Abstract coverage 2007 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
Journal of Hospitality, Leisure, Sports and Tourism Education
Full text coverage Jun 2016 (Vol. 18) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage Jun 2016 (Vol. 18) - present
Publication Search Boxes Hotel
Hospitality Design: HD
Full text coverage May/Jun 1998 (Vol. 20, no. 3) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage May/Jun 1998 (Vol. 20, no. 3) - presen
Full text coverage Oct 20, 1997 (Vol. 212, no. 18) - present, some exceptions
Citation/Abstract coverage Oct. 1979 (Vol. 194) - present, some exceptions
Publications Search Boxes Culinary
Full text coverage Aug 2018 (Vol. 63, no. 6) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage Jul 1986 (Vol. 31, no. 7) - present, some exceptions
Full text coverage Oct 2008 (Vol. 68, no. 10) - Nov 2009 (Vol. 69, no. 11)
Citation/Abstract coverage Jan 1986 (Vol. 46, no. 1) - Nov 2009 (Vol. 69, no. 11)
Full text coverage Mar 1988 (Vol. 72, no. 3) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage Mar 1988 (Vol. 72, no. 3) - present
Restaurants & Institutions
Full text coverage Jan 1, 1996 (Vol. 106, no. 1) - Apr 1, 2010 (Vol. 120, no. 4)
Citation/Abstract coverage Jan 8, 1992 (Vol. 102, no. 1) - Apr 1, 2010 (Vol. 120, no. 4
Full text coverage Apr 2008 (no. 110) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage Apr 2008 (no. 110) - present
Full text coverage Oct 1997 (no. 242) - Nov/Dec 2016 (no. 434)
Citation/Abstract coverage Jan 1992 (no. 173) - Nov/Dec 2016 (no. 434)
Ask A Librarian
Click here for information about the Ask A Librarian Service
Knowledge Base search a series of commonly asked questions by topic keyword or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
The Analytic Hospitality Executive by Targeted analytics to address the unique opportunities in hospitality and gaming The Analytic Hospitality Executive helps decision makers understand big data and how it can drive value in the industry. Written by a leading business analytics expert who specializes in hospitality and travel, this book draws a direct link between big data and hospitality, and shows you how to incorporate analytics into your strategic management initiative. You'll learn which data types are critical, how to identify productive data sources, and how to integrate analytics into multiple business processes to create an overall analytic culture that turns information into insight. The discussion includes the tools and tips that help make it happen, and points you toward the specific places in your business that could benefit from advanced analytics. The hospitality and gaming industry has unique needs and opportunities, and this book's targeted guidance provides a roadmap to big data benefits. Like most industries, the hospitality and gaming industry is experiencing a rapid increase in data volume, variety, and velocity. This book shows you how to corral this growing current, and channel it into productive avenues that drive better business. Understand big data and analytics Incorporate analytics into existing business processes Identify the most valuable data sources Create a strategic analytic culture that drives value Although the industry is just beginning to recognize the value of big data, it's important to get up to speed quickly or risk losing out on benefits that could drive business to greater heights. The Analytic Hospitality Executive provides a targeted game plan from an expert on the inside, so you can start making your data work for you.
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Checking Out by An industry insider's look at how the world's hospitality sector is addressing new challengers, such as the rise of Airbnb, and how it is reinventing itself for a new age of hospitality in an online world of sharing communities. One of the world's most established professions--the hotel sector--is under increasing pressure on two fronts: from disruptors in the sharing economy (notably Airbnb), and a rising wave of consumers being re-educated about the meaning of hospitality (through sites such as Trivago, Hotels.com and TripAdvisor). But can this traditionally slow-moving sector reinvigorate itself or will it find itself increasingly marginalized? Can the hotel sector find the resources to fight back? Increasing numbers of hoteliers believe so - many of whom have been interviewed in depth for this new book. Chains are adding sharing to their global portfolios, and curation and personalization continue to be major weapons in the war against Airbnb. The new age of hospitality is no longer about traditional models of service: hotel guests now prize fast wifi and mobile check-ins above access to indifferent room service. The message now is about the 'experience', both in terms of seeing something new but also easing the friction points in transactions. Loyalty and reward programs are still a key factor for chains, but many hotel groups are also starting to experiment on ways in which they can integrate more fully into the communities thatsurround them. The End of Hospitality? focuses on a sector that is under pressure from challenges beyond anything it has faced in the past, and takes a new and in-depth look at the strategies being employed by its leaders and innovators. The book will feature interviews with CEOs and key influencers at the very heart of the hospitality industry, who will be talking in detail about how they plan to address the issues and what the sector might look like in another 10 or 20 years.
Publication Date: 2020-03-24
The Emerald Handbook of Entrepreneurship in Tourism, Travel and Hospitality by This book is a practical handbook for entrepreneurship in tourism related industries. The book will provide students and prospective entrepreneurs with the knowledge, know-how and best practices in order to assist them in planning, implementing and managing business ventures in the field of tourism. It constitutes a valuable contribution to developing the necessary knowledge, competencies and skills of entrepreneurial decision-making and ventures. It would serve as a guide for those studying entrepreneurship and preparing for entrepreneurial careers as well as a reference for the practical use of entrepreneurs at the planning, implementation, operation and evaluation stages of building a tourism business. Examples from the industry/business world are provided to illustrate real-life practice and give readers a better understanding of entrepreneurship in tourism.
Publication Date: 2018-07-11
Event Planning and Management by Event Planning and Management, second edition, is an ideal resource for those seeking a step by step formula to plan and deliver a successful event. With the vital balance of professional experience behind them, the authors teach the next generation of event planners with unrivalled knowledge, ensuring an effective event process from start to finish. This book delivers practical understanding of the theory and practice needed to activate each stage of planning, from initial venue selection, budgeting and programme content, to managing stakeholders and sponsors, promotion, risk assessment, safety and post-event evaluation. Fully revised, the second edition of Event Planning and Management expands on managing events on the day, and explores the PR and experiential marketing boom for live brand experiences. Including updated real-world case studies from around the globe, it also features an invaluable toolkit of templates, planning checklists and budget sheets. Accompanied by a host of downloadable resources, this book is the ideal end to end resource for both event planning modules and certifications, plus busy marketing and PR professionals facing the new wave of live brand and customer experiences.
Publication Date: 2018-11-27
Hospitality Security by A security director must have knowledge of criminal and civil law, risk and personnel management, budgeting and finance, and a host of other areas in order to be effective. Hospitality Security: Managing Security in Today's Hotel, Lodging, Entertainment, and Tourism Environment provides experience-based, proven methods for preventing and resolving the challenges faced by today's hospitality practitioner. Designed for both novice security professionals and industry veterans in need of a reference, the book covers: Risk assessment, where threats and vulnerabilities are calculated with probabilities to determine risk The security plan, where you decide how to apply various layers of control to mitigate the risks Budgeting: the amount of money available to implement the plan determines the next step Policies: how to document policies into a security manual, training manual, emergency procedures manual, and incident action plan Staffing: scheduling, wages, deployment, and contract security Training, including specialized topics such as use of force and bike patrol Physical security and patrol procedures Alarm and camera systems and various software programs Emergency procedures and response Investigations, interviews, and crime analysis Executive skills: learning from proven leadership styles Ideal for novices and veterans alike, this accessible, reader-friendly primer enables security directors to evaluate what risks are inherent to hospitality environments, analyze those risks through threat and vulnerability assessments, and develop methods to mitigate or eliminate them--all the while keeping customers and personnel safe and improving the bottom line.
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Human Resource Management in the Hospitality Industry by Now in its ninth edition, Human Resource Management in the Hospitality Industry: A Guide to Best Practice, is fully updated with new legal information, data, statistics and examples. Taking a 'process' approach, it provides the reader with an essential understanding of the purpose, policies and processes concerned with managing an enterprise's workforce within the current business and social environment. Since the eighth edition of this book there have been many important developments in this field and this ninth edition has been completely revised and updated in the following ways: Extensively updated content to reflect recent issues and trends including: labour markets and industry structure, impacts of IT and social media, growth of international multi - unit brands, role of employer branding, talent management, equal opportunities and managing diversity. All explored specifically within the Hospitality Industry The text explores key issues and shows real life applications of HRM in the Hospitality industry and is informed through the authors' research projects within Mitchells & Butler's plc, Pizza Express, Marriott Hotels and Café Rouge. An extended case study drawing from the authors' experience working with Forte and Co., Centre hotels, Choice Hotels and Bass, Price Waterhouse and Grant Thornton Written in a user friendly style and with strong support from the Institute of Hospitality, each chapter includes international examples, bulleted lists, guides to further reading and exercises to test knowledge.
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowFull-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.
eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
SkillSoft Books This link opens in a new windowProvides access to books and videos in the areas of engineering, IT, and business.