- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- ENGL108/ ENGL112
- English Resources
ENGL108/ ENGL112
Composition- This course develops writing skills through analysis of essays, articles and other written works that are used as models for writing practice and development.
ENGL112 Library Resources
Resource Search Boxes
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Access to more than 850 full-text newspapers, and over 850,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window More than 75 regional publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
Recommended Websites
- Edufind.com English Grammar Resources A complete guide to English grammar and the rules of usage.
- Elements of Style This standard reference book by William Strunk Jr. provides the principal requirements of plain English style and concentrates attention on the rules of usage and principles of composition most commonly violated.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab Welcome to the Purdue OWL. We offer over 200 free resources including: Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides, Job Search and Professional Writing.
- Using English A fully cross-referenced English glossary of linguistic and grammatical terms. Each grammar definition contains an explanation and cross-references to other relevant grammar terms.
eBooks
Here is a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
How to Write by
How to Write is an introductory guide to the writing process, aimed at people who think they can't write, or for whom writing is an ordeal. Broken down into short topic-based chapters, this will be an invaluable guide for both students and those who need to write reports and presentations in the course of their work. -;How to Write is an introductory guide to writing, aimed at people who think they can't write, or for whom writing is an ordeal. Broken down into short topic-based chapters on everything from beginning to revising, it demystifies the writing process by taking the reader through each stage necessary to bring a piece of writing to a decent finish. The book also offers a wealth of invaluable practical considerations, including when and where to write, when to printout and when. to edit onscreen, what type of pen works well for revisions, and the hazards of the paperclip. The author is a seasoned writer whose encouraging but uncompromising guidance will delight as well as instruct. Offering practical advice in a lucid, no-nonsense style, How to Write will be ideal for both students and professional people who need to write during the course of their work. -
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780191535260Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Improve Your Writing by
Improve Your Writing, fifth edition, presents all the elements important to turning in an excellent research paper. This book walks you through each step in the writing process, including selecting a topic, library research, developing an outline, writing from the first to the final draft, proofreading, and more. Fry provides updated and expanded information about online research, and provides a fundamental, step-by-step approach that can be applied to any kind of writing.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781401889166Publication Date: 2004-07-29
Schaum's Quick Guide to Writing Great Essays by
The Fastest, Easiest Way to Learn: Schaum's Quick Guides These concise, quick reference guides are perfect for business people, writers, and students at all levels. Written by top experts, they offer readers the easiest, most efficient strategies to master or learn a new skill. All Schaum's Quick Guides include do's and don'ts for avoiding common errors, handy checklists, and practice exercises for building skills quickly.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780070471702Publication Date: 1998-09-21
Writing Skills Pocketbook by
This title describes a 3-phase approach to planning, preparing and polishing written communications for the modern business world.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781906610456Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283