Intro to Health Services & Information Systems- This course covers history, organization, and current issues in the United States healthcare delivery system and explores interrelationships among system components and care providers.
ABI/INFORM GlobalCovers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
Consumer Health CompleteCovers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine; also includes relevant drug monographs.
EBSCOhostProvides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions
Health Source: Consumer EditionOver 75 full-text consumer health magazines on medical science, general health, food science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, etc.
Dictionary of Health Information Technology and Security by David Edward Marcinko; Msha Cphq CmpOver 10,000 Detailed Entries There is a myth that all stakeholders in the healthcare space understand the meaning of basic information technology jargon. In truth, the vernacular of contemporary medical information systems is unique, and often misused or misunderstood n Moreover, an emerging national Heath Information Technology (HIT) architecture; in the guise of terms, definitions, acronyms, abbreviations and standards; often puts the non-expert medical, nursing, public policy administrator or paraprofessional in a position of maximum uncertainty and minimum productivity nThe Dictionary of Health Information Technology and Security will therefore help define, clarify and explain...You will refer to it daily. -- Richard J. Mata, MD, MS, MS-CIS, Certified Medical Planner-(c) (Hon), Chief Medical Information Officer CMIO], Ricktelmed Information Systems, Assistant Professor Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas An Essential Tool for Every Health Care Industry Sector: layman, purchaser, and benefits manager physician, provider and healthcare facility payer, intermediary and consulting professional Key Benefits & Features Include: New HIT, HIPAA, WHCQA, HITPA, and NEPSI terminology Abbreviations, acronyms, and slang-terms defined Illustrations and simple examples Cross-references to current research"
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHost
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Health Information Management by Marc BergIn almost all Western countries, concerted efforts are made to stimulate the use of information and communication technology (ICT) in health care. Yet the number of success stories are few and the frustrations many. In this key textbook, readers are introduced to the challenges, the lessons learned and the new insights of health information management at the start of the twenty-first century. With a strong international orientation, a comparative approach and a critical eye on many traditional information management views, the book illustrates key developments by drawing on examples from many different countries. Topics covered include: * Patient Care Information Systems * Integrating Quality Improvement * Information Strategy * Implementing Information Systems Featuring case studies and an overall practitioner's perspective, this key textbook combines theoretical backgrounds and starting points with practice-oriented guidelines and advice on the best methods for bringing these ideas to the challenges of everyday health care management. Original and refreshing, this textbook is essential reading for students of health care management and health care practitioners alike.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHost
Publication Date: 2003-12-22
Information Discovery on Electronic Health Records by Vagelis Hristidis (Editor)Exploiting the rich information found in electronic health records (EHRs) can facilitate better medical research and improve the quality of medical practice. Until now, a trivial amount of research has been published on the challenges of leveraging this information. Addressing these challenges, Information Discovery on Electronic Health Records explores the technology to unleash the data stored in EHRs. Assembling a truly interdisciplinary team of experts, the book tackles medical privacy concerns, the lack of standardization for the representation of EHRs, missing or incorrect values, and the availability of multiple rich health ontologies. It looks at how to search the EHR collection given a user query and return relevant fragments from the EHRs. It also explains how to mine the EHR collection to extract interesting patterns, group entities to various classes, or decide whether an EHR satisfies a given property. Most of the book focuses on textual or numeric data of EHRs, where more searching and mining progress has occurred. A chapter on the processing of medical images is also included. Maintaining a uniform style across chapters and minimizing technical jargon, this book presents the various ways to extract useful knowledge from EHRs. It skillfully discusses how EHR data can be effectively searched and mined.