- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HIT120
- HIT120 Library Resources
HIT120
Intro to Health Services & Information Systems- This course covers history, organization, and current issues in the United States healthcare delivery system and explores interrelationships among system components and care providers.
HIT120 Library Resources Recording
Library Presentations
Habits of Highly Successful HIT/MBC Students
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine; also includes relevant drug monographs.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Over 75 full-text consumer health magazines on medical science, general health, food science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, etc.
Journal Search Boxes
- Journal of AHIMAOnly searches the Journal of AHIMA from 2008 to present.
- American Journal of Public HealthOnly searches the American Journal of Public Health from 1992 to present.
- IEEE Journal of Biomedical and Health InformaticsOnly searches the IEEE Journal of Biomedical and Health Informatics from 2000-present.
Recommended Websites
Ebooks
Computational Technology for Effective Health Care by ISBN: 9780309130509Publication Date: 2009-03-24
Dictionary of Health Information Technology and Security by ISBN: 9780826149954Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Information Discovery on Electronic Health Records by ISBN: 9781420090383Publication Date: 2009-12-10
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
HIT Career Resources
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations—such as carpenters, teachers, and veterinarians. Revised annually, the latest version contains employment projections for the 2020-30 decade.
- O Net Online O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283