LibGuides: Management: Management Resources

Management Resources
APA

Library Quick Links

Recommended Databases

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window A special search tool or finding business information in Ebscohost databases
Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.

Recommended Websites

eJournals

eBooks

eBooks

This is a sampling of the eBooks we have in our library collection

The Project Management Tool Kit by Tom Kendrick Today's projects are more complex and challenging than ever, and project managers need all the help they can get to succeed amid shifting priorities, interruptions, inadequate funding, expectations of multiple stakeholders, and other obstacles. A practical on-the-job resource for project managers in any industry, this fully revised and updated edition of The Project Management Tool Kit is packed with results oriented, practical tips. Complete with checklists, examples, and clear graphics, The Project Management Tool Kit offers 100 practical, use-them-now strategies for mastering any project challenge.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9780814414767
Publication Date: 2010-04-07
Armstrong's Essential Human Resource Management Practice by Michael Armstrong HR managers have to serve the interests of their organizations, comprising employees, customers and the community at large as well as shareholders, or, in the public or voluntary sectors, those who have the ultimate responsibility for what the organization does. It also means exercising social responsibility, being concerned for the interests (well-being) of employees and acting ethically with regard to the needs of people in the organization and the community.Armstrong's Essential Human Resource Management Practice provides a complete overview of the practices and processes fundamental to managing people. The text provides a thorough introduction to the core areas of HR including: people resourcing, performance management, learning and development and rewarding people. It also examines the contribution of HR to organizational aims and objectives and how it is integrated within the business. The book is accompanied by online resources for both lecturers and students and adopts an increased focus on employee engagement, a concept which is becoming increasingly prominent in people management, but which is often presented as a mantra without being properly understood; this is examined in detail with reference to recent research.Michael Armstrong's original Handbook of Human Resource Management is the classic text for all those studying HR or who are entering the profession for the first time. In this new title Michael Armstrong provides a condensed text which has been rewritten with the non-HR student or professional in mind, describing and evaluating key HRM concepts such as: HRM itself; strategic HRM; the resource-based view; the choice between best practice and best fit; human capital measurement; motivation theory; emotional intelligence; the flexible firm; the learning organization; and financial rewards.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9780749459895
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Human Resource Management Practices by Maike Andresen (Editor); Christian Nowak This book is designed to help practitioners and academics to assess the added value of HR practices. It provides hands-on recommendations for choosing effective means to manage HR and specific suggestions aimed at facilitating the measurement of HR practices' impact on value creation. Evidence-based recommendations are made by drawing on thorough empirical research from various research traditions and academic disciplines. It covers a wide variety of tasks faced by the HR function and specifically addresses new challenges such as assessing the added value of work-life balance practices.
Call Number: Books 24x7
ISBN: 9783319081854
Publication Date: 2014-10-10
Do's and Don'Ts in Human Resources Management by Matthias Zeuch (Editor) With this book, an international group of approximate 50 HR leaders, professors and senior consultants compiled their knowledge and experience in an easy-to-navigate format to allow busy HR executives finding exactly the advice they need. Re-inventing the wheel - unfortunately - still is a common practice in Human Resources Management. Traditional literature on HR fails to provide advice based on current, real-life experience and online forums lack a logical structure. Hence, there is a clear need for a resource with practical, structured and experience-based advice on Human Resources Management. The book also provides readers from other functional areas and job starters a realistic insight into today's HR management - be it as a personal career orientation or as a way to enrich their overall management knowledge.
Call Number: Books 24x7
ISBN: 9783662435526
Publication Date: 2014-10-09
Project Management for IT-Related Projects by Bob Hughes (Editor); Roger Ireland; Brian West; Norman Smith; David I. Shepherd This book explains the principles of IT-related project management, including project planning, monitoring and control, change management, risk management and communication between project stakeholders. Each chapter includes detailed discussion of the syllabus content, activities and multiple choice questions for self-assessment. This is the only textbook tailored specifically to match the BCS syllabus so the user can be confident of using exactly the right materials.
Call Number: Safari eBooks
ISBN: 9781780171180
Publication Date: 2012-09-27

Other Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.