- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- MGMT303
- MGMT303 Resources
MGMT303
Principles of Management- This course examines fundamental management theories and traditional managerial responsibilities in formal and informal organizational structures.Planning, organizing, directing, controlling, and staffing are explored.
Video Tutorial
Welcome
Greetings!
This LibGuide is designed to assist you with finding information about a Fortune 500 company.
A number of the library's databases will provide reports for almost all of the Fortune 500 companies, including the Business Market Research Collection, Business Searching Interface, Gale Business Insights, and Plunkett Research Online.
Further information about your chosen company can be found in the periodicals databases by AND-ing the firm's name with appropriate subject terms such as:
| Industry | Profits | |
| Competitive Advantage | Finance | |
| Financial Performance | Profits | |
| Growth | Employees | |
| Revenue | Valuation | |
| Social Responsibility | Strategic Planning | |
| Competition | Research & Development |
For example, try typing company name and strategy in a periodicals database search box to retrieve articles about the company's strategic plans. Two good periodicals databases are ABI Inform and Business Source Ultimate.
Please note: The best source for a company's mission and/or vision statement will be the company's website. You can typically find mission/vision/values statements in the website's About Us section or under the For Our Investors section (exact wording may vary). This is also a good place to find statements about corporate/social responsibility.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window A great source for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window Search by company name to bring up a report from Hoover's Company Profiles.
- Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window Use the Company Profile link to browse the list of companies - reports will provide extensive history as well as a general overview and usually a SWOT analysis for the company.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window A great source for articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals, including the Harvard Business Review.
- Gale Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window Seasrch by company name to find detailed company reports as well as articles from a range of publications. The company reports frequently provide links to company histories and timelines and reports on strategy, R&D, and other topics.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Use the Company Research option to look up your company. Plunkett provides detailed financial reports and a unique perspective in the general company overview.
Recommended Websites
- Management HelpA comprehensive library of management articles
- Meyers-Briggs Personality TestThis popular test is designed to measure your personality type, how you make decisions, and so forth.
- The Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002The law is in place to protect the public from accounting errors and fraudulent practices.
- SEC, EDGAR, (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval)Search for a company's most recent10-K report. These annual filings with the SEC are particulary usful for their Items on Financial Statements and Risk Factors.
- Small Business Administration (SBA)The site is full of valuable information about small business and entrepreneurship.
- Society for HR ManagementThis site contains a wealth of useful information on a wide variety of HR topics.
- The World Trade Organization (WTO)The organization's main purpose is the promotion and protection of free trade.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
eBooks
Business Continuity Management by
Implement practical solutions in business continuity management and organizational resilience guided by international best practice from ISO 22301:2019.Business continuity management and resilience are critical to maintaining a healthy business, but many organizations either do nothing (leaving themselves exposed to disruption), take short cuts (leaving major gaps) or fail to properly engage senior stakeholders. This book is a straightforward guide to delivering an effective business continuity capability, including practical solutions built from the author's personal experience managing hundreds of projects in a variety of business settings.Business Continuity Management compares incident management, crisis response and business continuity and how to explain their importance to senior decision makers to ensure appropriate investment. Readers will benefit from case studies of organizational crises and disruptions, including Home Depot, Nissan, RBS, Facebook, Equifax and KFC, and an exploration of lessons learned from the COVID-19 pandemic. With key performance indicators, templates and checklists covering planning, response, reporting and assurance, this book is the essential reference for business continuity and resilience which can be tailored to any organization.
ISBN: 9781789668131Publication Date: 2021-04-27
Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management by
Optimizing staff performance is a key component of achieving outstanding business results. The new edition of Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management is an essential companion for improving employee and organizational performance. From performance pay and giving feedback to managing underperformers, this handbook addresses all areas of performance management to enable students and practitioners to understand how to assess, measure and improve performance. This updated seventh edition contains new chapters on the meaning and development of performance management and managing performance with a remote workforce. It also covers performance leadership and multi-source feedback. Packed with examples to show how the theory applies in practice and exercises to consolidate student learning, Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management remains an indispensable and engaging resource for securing effective performance across all aspects of the organization. Supporting online resources include an instructor's manual, lecture slides, a glossary and a literature review
ISBN: 9781398603035Publication Date: 2022-01-03
Effective Succession Planning by
This long-trusted guide, now fully revised and updated, reveals how your company can defend itself with a succession plan that consists of ongoing evaluation and revision, early action steps in the face of change, and a consistent plan for evaluating and promoting talent from within, while also optimizing the outside-search process for possible new hires. Packed with forms, tools, examples, and guidance, this is an essential resource for any organization concerned with retaining the accumulated wisdom built up over time by its most valued employees.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780814414170Publication Date: 2010-04-30
Managing Risk by
This is a practical guide for HR managers and directors, who need to understand, implement and manage HR risk management within their organisation.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780406971456Publication Date: 2005-07-26
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283