ABI/INFORM GlobalThis link opens in a new windowCovers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Handbook of Leadership Theory and Practice by Nitin Nohria (Editor); Rakesh Khurana (Editor)Scores of books and articles have been written in the popular press and mainstream marketplace about leadership: who leaders are, what they do, and why they matter. Yet in academia, there is a dearth of rigorous research, journal articles, or doctoral programs focused on leadership as a discipline. Why do top business schools espouse mission statements that promise to "educate the leaders of the future"- yet fail to give leadership its intellectual due? The Handbook of Leadership Theory and Practice seeks to bridge this disconnect. Based on the Harvard Business School Centennial Colloquium "Leadership: Advancing an Intellectual Discipline" and edited by HBS professors Nitin Nohria and Rakesh Khurana, this volume brings together the most important scholars from fields as diverse as psychology, sociology, economics, and history to take stock of what we know about leadership and to set an agenda for future research. More than a means of getting ahead and gaining power, leadership must be understood as a serious professional and personal responsibility. Featuring the thinking of today's most renowned scholars, the Handbook of Leadership Theory and Practice will be a catalyst for elevating leadership to a higher intellectual plane - and help shape the research agenda for the next generation of leadership scholars.
Publication Date: 2010-01-26
Organizational Behavior by John MiddletonFast track route to understanding and managing human behaviour in organizations Covers the key areas of OB, from understanding individual and group behaviour patterns and attitudes to work to building successful organizations and improving your personal effectiveness in the workplace Examples and lessons from some of the world's most successful businesses, including Tesco, Sears, Sundaram-Clayton and The Natural Step, and ideas from the smartest thinkers including Charles Handy, Jack Wood, Edgar Schein and Shoshana Zuboff Includes a glossary of key concepts and a comprehensive resources guide
Publication Date: 2002-04-03
Organizational Behaviour by Stephen J. Perkins; Raisa Arvinen-MuondoThere is a large body of shared knowledge between the study of Organizational Behaviour and Human Resource Management but despite the crossover, they are often treated as very distinct disciplines. Written by a team of experts across both fields, Organizational Behaviour bridges the gap between OB and HRM, with an emphasis on inter-cultural and cross-cultural perspectives of organizational development, talent management, and leadership. Through a critical analysis of existing literature and case studies, the contributors cover topics such as corporate governance, ethical business practices, employee morale and motivation, performance management, corporate politics and conflict resolution, workplace diversity, creativity, and change management - all within the framework of current global employment standards and best practices.
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
Organizational Behavior by Fred Luthans; Brett C. Luthans; Kyle W. LuthansOur goal with this 13th Edition is to keep this first mainline organizational behavior text up-todate with the latest and relevant theory building, basic and applied research, and the best-practice applications. We give special recognition of this scientific foundation by our subtitle¬--An Evidence-Based Approach. As emphasized in the introductory chapter, the time has come to help narrow the theory/research-effective application/practice gap. This has been the mission from the beginning of this text. As "hard evidence" for this theory/research based text, we can say unequivocally that no other organizational behavior text has close to the number of footnote references. For example, whereas a few texts may have up to 40 or even 50 references for a few chapters, all the chapters of this text average more than twice that amount. This edition continues the tradition by incorporating recent breakthrough research to provide and add to the evidence on the theories and techniques presented throughout. Two distinguishing features that no other organizational behavior textbook can claim are the following: 1) We are committed at this stage of development of the field of OB to a comprehensive theoretical framework to structure our text. Instead of the typical potpourri of chapters and topics, there is now the opportunity to have a sound conceptual framework to present our now credible (evidence-based) body of knowledge. We use the widely recognized, very comprehensive social cognitive theory to structure this text. We present the background and theory building of this framework in the introductory chapter and also provide a specific model (Figure 1.5) that fits in all 14 chapters. Importantly, the logic of this conceptual framework requires two chapters not found in other texts and the rearrangement and combination of several others. For example, in the opening organizational context part there is Chapter 4, "Reward Systems," and in the cognitive processes second part, Chapter 7, "Positive Organizational Behavior and Psychological Capital," that no other text contains. 2) The second unique feature reflects our continuing basic research program over the years. Chapter 7 contains our most recent work on what we have termed "Positive Organizational Behavior" and "Psychological Capital" (or PsyCap). The three of us introduced the term "Psychological Capital" in our joint article in 2004]. To meet the inclusion criteria (positive; theory and research based; valid measurement; open to development; and manage for performance improvement), for the first time the topics of optimism, hope, happiness/subjective well-being, resiliency, emotional intelligence, selfefficacy, and our overall core construct of psychological capital have been given chapter status. Just as real-world management can no longer afford to evolve slowly, neither can the academic side of the field. With the uncertain, very turbulent environment most organizations face today, drastically new ideas, approaches, and techniques are needed both in the practice of management and in the way we study and apply the field of organizational behavior. This text mirrors these needed changes. Social Cognitive Conceptual Framework. The book contains 14 chapters in four major parts. Social cognitive theory explains organizational behavior in terms of both environmental, contextual events and internal cognitive factors, as well as the dynamics and outcomes of the organizational behavior itself. Thus, Part One provides the evidence-based and organizational context for the study and application of organizational behavior.
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Organizational Behavior 1 by John B. MinerThis comprehensive text provides a detailed review and analysis of the building-block theories in Organizational Behavior. Expanding on his previous work in the field, John Miner has identified the key theories that every student or scholar needs to understand to be considered literate in the discipline. Organizational Behavior: Essential Theories of Motivation and Leadership analyzes the work of leading theorists. Each chapter includes the background of the theorist represented, the context in which the theory arose, the initial and subsequent theoretical statements, research on the theory by the theory's author and others (including meta-analysis and reviews), and practical applications. Special features including boxed summaries of each theory at the beginning of each chapter, two introductory chapters on the scientific method and the development of knowledge, and detailed and comprehensive references, help make this text especially useful for graduate courses in Organizational Behavior and Industrial/Organizational Psychology.
Organization Development NetworkThe Organization Development Network serves change agents by creating a global community for exchanging best practices, opportunities to interact with thought leaders, and access to leading edge practices, tools, and technologies. As a result, our members create change and sustainable impact in today’s organizations, communities, and beyond.
Business Theory and PracticeThe Journal is designed for publishing articles in the following fields of research:
•economic development and globalization;
•interpretations and consequences of entrepreneurship;
•theoretical questions and empirical questions of industrial organization;
Innovative Journal of Business and ManagementInnovative Journal of Business and Management [IJBM], peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is committed to publishing scholarly empirical and theoretical research articles that have a high impact on the management field as a whole. IJBM encourages new ideas or new perspectives on existing research
Journal of Behavioral Studies in BusinessThe Journal of Behavioral Studies in Business (JBSB) publishes original, unpublished manuscripts related to behavioral studies in accounting, economics, finance, management, and marketing. Manuscripts from a broad range of topics are appropriate for consideration in the JBSB providing the focus of the work is behavioral studies in business
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowAn eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
RefWorksThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base search a series of commonly asked questions by topic keyword or course number