NETW191
Fundamentals of Information Technology and Networking
Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new windowJournal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new windowBooks, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.
- Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window"ProQuest Telecommunications™ is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology."
eBook Collections
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Recommended Cybersecurity Websites
- COMPUTERWORLDCovers a variety of topics in the computer security industry, including cloud computing, software, emerging technology, and more.
- Department of Homeland Security (DHS)The DHS protects the nation from foreign and domestic threats.
- Ready CybersecurityProvides information on identifying and avoiding a variety of cyberattacks, as well as action to take following a cyberattack.
EJournals
- International Journal of Advanced Networking and Applications (IJANA) The International Journal of Advanced Networking and Applications (IJANA) would aim to provide an interactive and dynamic forum for professionals, researchers and academicians for knowledge sharing and dissemination especially innovations and strategies as applied to information and communications technologies, applications and management.
- International Journal of Computer Communications and Networks (IJCCN) International Journal of Computer Communication and Network (IJCCN) is a quarterly refereed open access international journal for scientific papers dealing in all areas of computer science research. The Journal of Computer Communication explores a wide range of emerging network technologies in computers as well as communication challenges in post-pc devices. The scope includes ad-hoc network, biological communication, protocols, security and more. The International Journal of Computer Communication and Network (IJCCN) is seeking for novel research works which implies great scientific work to push the boundaries of networking science.
- International Journal of Computer Network and Information Security (IJCNIS) IJCNIS is publishing refereed, high quality original research papers in all areas of Computer Network and Information Security.
- International Journal of Networking and Computing The International Journal of Networking and Computing is a biannual journal that publishes peer-reviewed articles in all areas of networking and computing. It has both print and online versions. All papers are indexed in indexing services including DBLP Computer Science Bibliography, Google Scholar, Arnetminer, J-DreamII, J-GLOBAL, and DOAJ.
Recommended Cybersecurity Journals
- CybersecurityFull text coverage Dec 2018 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
- IEEE Security & PrivacyFull text coverage Jan 2003-present
- IEEE Technology and Society MagazineFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
- IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and SecurityFull text coverage Jan 2006 - present
- Information and Computer SecurityFull text coverage 1995 (Vol. 3, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
- International Journal of Cyber CriminologyFull text coverage Jan 2008 (Vol. 2, no. 1) - present
- Proceedings of the IEEEFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
eBooks
Digital Supply Networks
Deliver unprecedented customer value and seize your competitive edge with a transformative digital supply network Digital tech has disrupted life and business as we know it, and supply chain management is no exception. But how exactly does digital transformation affect your business? What are the breakthrough technologies and their capabilities you need to know about? How will digital transformation impact skills requirements and work in general? Do you need to completely revamp your understanding of supply chain management? And most importantly: How do you get started? Digital Supply Networks provides clear answers to these and many other questions. Written by an experienced team comprised of Deloitte consultants and leading problem-driven scholars from a premier research university, this expert guide leads you through the process of improving operations building supply networks, increasing revenue, reimagining business models, and providing added value to customers, stakeholders, and society. You’ll learn everything you need to know about: Stages of development, roles, capabilities, and the benefits of DSNBig data analytics including its attributes, security, and authorityMachine learning, Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain, robotics, and the Internet of ThingsSynchronized planning, intelligent supply, and digital product developmentVision, attributes, technology, and benefits of smart manufacturing, dynamic logistics, and fulfillmentA playbook to guide the digital transformation journey Drawing from real world-experience and problem-driven academic research, the authors provide an in-depth account of the transformation to digitally connected supply networks. They discuss the limitations of traditional supply chains and the underlying capabilities and potential of digitally-enabled supply flows. The chapters burst with expert insights and real-life use cases grounded in tomorrow’s industry needs. Success in today’s hyper-competitive, fast-paced business landscape, characterized by the risk of black swan events, such as the 2020 COVID-19 global pandemic, requires the reimagination and the digitalization of complex demand-supply systems, more collaborative and connected processes, and smarter, more dynamic data-driven decision making―which can only be achieved through a fully integrated Digital Supply Network.
ISBN: 9781260458206Publication Date: 7/2020
Mastering Ubuntu Server by
Your one-stop resource to learn, configure and use Ubuntu 22.04 for your day-to-day operations and deployments Key Features: Get well-versed with newly added features in Ubuntu 22.04Master the art of installing, managing, and troubleshooting Ubuntu ServerLeverage the improved performance and security-related aspects of Ubuntu Server 22.04 Book Description: Ubuntu Server is taking the server world by storm - and with good reason! The server-focused spin of Ubuntu is a stable, flexible, and powerful enterprise-class distribution of Linux with a focus on running servers both small and large. Mastering Ubuntu Server is a book that will teach you everything you need to know in order to manage real Ubuntu-based servers in actual production deployments. This book will take you from initial installation to deploying production-ready solutions to empower your small office network, or even a full data center. You'll see examples of running an Ubuntu Server in the cloud, be walked through set up popular applications (such as Nextcloud), host your own websites, and deploy network resources such as DHCP, DNS, and others. You'll further see how to containerize applications via LXD to maximize efficiency and learn how to build Kubernetes clusters. This new fourth edition updates the popular book to cover Ubuntu 22.04 LTS, which takes advantage of the latest in Linux-based technologies. By the end of this Ubuntu book, you will gain all the knowledge you'll need in order to work on real-life Ubuntu Server deployments and become an expert Ubuntu Server administrator that is well-versed in its featureset. What You Will Learn: Install Ubuntu Server on physical servers and on the Raspberry PiDeploy Ubuntu Server in the cloud and host websites on your own serverDeploy your applications to their own containers and scale your infrastructureSet up popular applications such as NextcloudAutomate deployments and configuration with Ansible to save timeContainerize applications via LXD to maximize efficiencyDiscover best practices and troubleshooting techniques Who this book is for: This book is for System Administrators, Site Reliability Engineers, DevOps professionals, enthusiasts, as well as for individuals looking to make a career change and learn the skills they'll need to work with Ubuntu servers. Prior knowledge of Ubuntu is not required but a basic understanding of basic computing concepts is assumed. Some IT administration, Linux, and shell scripting experience is preferred, although the first several chapters will bring newcomers up to speed as well.
ISBN: 9781803234243Publication Date: 2022-09-22
Networking Fundamentals
Networks are a collection of computers, servers, mobile devices or other computing devices connected with a view to sharing data. This book will help you get well-versed with the basic concepts of networking and will help you to pass Microsoft's MTA Networking Fundamentals Exam 98-366.
ISBN: 9781838648749Publication Date: 2019
Networking Fundamentals by
A clear and concise resource on Windows networking, perfect for IT beginners Did you know that nearly 85% of IT support roles require a good understanding of networking concepts? If you are looking to advance your IT career, you will need a foundational understanding of Windows networking. Network Fundamentals covers everything you need to know about network infrastructures, hardware, protocols, and services. You will learn everything you need to gain the highly in-demand Networking Fundamentals MTA Certification. This entry-level credential could be your first step into a rewarding, stable and lucrative IT career. This new Sybex guide covers the basics of networking starting from the "ground level," so no previous IT knowledge is required. Each chapter features approachable discussion of the latest networking technologies and concepts, closing with a quiz so you can test your knowledge before moving to the next section. Even if you are brand new to computers, Network Fundamentals will guide you to confidence and mastery. Understand wired and wireless networks in every detail Learn everything you need to attain the Networking Fundamentals MTA Certification Test your knowledge with end-of-chapter quiz questions Understand internet protocol (IP) and categorize IPv4 addresses Work with networking services and area networks Define network infrastructures and network security, including intranets, extranets, and VPNs Beginning and established IT professionals looking to understand more about networking will gain the knowledge to create a network diagram and confidently explain basic networking concepts. Thanks to the features in this book, you will be able to apply your new networking skills in real world situations and feel confident when taking the certification test.
ISBN: 9781119650744Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Third Generation Internet Revealed
This book covers the inexorable exhaustion of the IPv4 address space, the interim fix to this based on Network Address Translation (NAT) and Private Addresses, and the differences between IPv4 and IPv6. It will help you understand the limitations and problems introduced by the use of NAT and introduce you to the far simpler network and software designs possible, using a larger, unified address space.IPv6, a mature and viable replacement for IPv4, is currently used by more than 36% of all global Internet traffic. Wireless telephone service providers in many countries have migrated their networks to IPv6 with great success. The elimination of NAT and Private Addresses has vastly simplified network design and implementation. Further, there are now enough public addresses allocated to accommodate all anticipated uses for the foreseeable future.Most networking products and software, especially open-source software, are already fully IPv6 compliant. Today, no business should purchase obsolete products that support only IPv4. The global IPv6 Forum estimates that there are millions of networking professionals still needing to learn the fundamentals of IPv6 technologies to move forward. This book is for them. With plans in place for a shutdown of IPv4 on global networks (“Sunset IPv4”) the time to learn is now. If you want a job in IT, especially network hardware or software, and you don’t know IPv6, you are already obsolete.What You Will LearnThis book serves as a guide to all relevant Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) standards Request for Comments (RFCs), organized by topic and discussed in plain languageUnderstand how IPv6 makes viable technologies such as multicast (for efficient global audio/video streaming), IPsec VPNs (for better security), and simpler VoIPTake “edge computing” to the limit by eliminating intermediary servers made necessary by IPv4 NAT–for example, making connections directly from my node to yoursDiscover how organizations can introduce IPv6 into existing IPv4 networks (“Dual Stack”), and then eliminate the legacy IPv4 aspects going forward (“Pure IPv6”) for the mandates going into place now (for example, US DoD requirements to move all networks to Pure IPv6)Recognize that 5G networking (the Grand Convergence of conventional networks and wireless service) depends heavily on the advanced features IPv6 Who This Book Is ForNetworking professionals. Readers should have at least some familiarity with the precursor protocol (IPv4) and legacy TCP/IP based networks. Some knowledge of network models, such as DoD four-layer model or OSI 7-layer model, is helpful to understand where the Internet Protocol fits into the larger picture. For network software developers using the Sockets API (in UNIX, Windows, etc.), this book will help you to understand the extensions to that API needed to work with IPv6.
ISBN: 9781484286036Publication Date: 2022
Cybersecurity Videos
- Cybersecurity Assets and Risks Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Threats Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Vulnerability and Countermeasures Recognize the key concepts of cybersecurity vulnerability and countermeasures
- The State of Cybersecurity Packt PublishingJuly 2022 The State of Cybersecurity This video explains the state of cybersecurity.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283