LibGuides: ACCT504: ACCT 504 Resources

ACCT 504 Resources
APA Home

Library Quick Links

Accounting Journal Search Links

Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal Full text coverage 1992 (Vol. 5, no. 1) - present (with a 12-month delay) In ABI/Inform
Accounting, Organizations and Society Citation/Abstract 1976-2016 In ProQuest Central
Accounting Review Full-Text coverage 03/01/1926 to present In Business Source Complete
Journal of Accounting and Economics Citation/Abstract 1981-2016 In ProQuest Central
Journal of Accounting Research Journal of Accounting Research Citation/Abstract 1972-present In ProQuest Central
Review Accounting Studies Review Accounting Studies Full text coverage 1996-present (with a 12-month delay) In Business Source Complete
Review of Accounting Studies Full text coverage 1999 (Vol. 4, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year) In ABI/Inform
Review of Financial Studies Full text coverage 03/01/1988 to present (with a 12-month delay) In Business Source Complete

Recommended Databases

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 850 full-text newspapers, and over 850,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
More than 75 regional publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States

Recommended Websites

Accounting Search Engine

This will search all of the websites listed below simultaneously or you may choose to select specific search site(s) to search.

Edgar/SEC All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically with the US government through EDGAR. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Federal Reserve Bank Statistics and Historical Data The official site of “the Fed,” contains US economic data including daily interest rates, exchange rates, bank assets and liabilities and flow of funds accounts.
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) Handbook The most authoritative source of generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) developed by the FASB for federal entities are contained in this handbook.
IMF (International Monetary Fund) The IMF works to foster global growth and economic stability. It provides policy advice and financing to members in economic difficulties and also works with developing nations to help them achieve macroeconomic stability and reduce poverty.
Investor.gov The US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) guide to investing, including an introduction to the markets, investing basics and researching companies. Includes many links to other primary sources of financial information.
IRIN Annual Report Resource Center The Investor Relations Information Network (IRIN) provides a single point of reference for accessing more than 8,000 current and historical electronic annual reports. If you want to request a hard copy of an annual report, IRIN will forward your request to the appropriate company. Includes some company statistics and third-party data.
SisterStates Tax Directory Links to state tax forms for all fifty states

Finance Search Engine

This will search all of the websites listed below simultaneously or you may choose to select specific search site(s) to search.

BizNar BizNar, a federated search engine, scans all kinds of resources, including periodicals such as Advertising Age, government resources such as USA.gov and the Bureau of Labor Statistics, news sources Businessweek and the Wall Street Journal, and social networks like LinkedIn and Wordpress.
Bonds Online News and information about bonds for private corporations to government entities are found on this website.
Commodity Futures Trading Commission Information about commodities trading, laws and regulations are found on this website. The role of derivatives in the U.S. economy (futures and swaps markets) are explained.
Federal Reserve Statistical Release The Federal Reserve provides daily interest rates on a variety of US Treasury and other securities effect by the Fed policy.
Federal Reserve System
Motley Fool Covers personal finance topics such as debt, investing, mortgages, car loans and retirement planning. Personal finance message boards and journal articles are found here.
Office of Investor Education and Advocacy (SEC) Offers access to Securities and Exchange Commission publications, corporate filings, financial research strategies, and explains the process for filing complaints.
Stock Charts Stock charts from major markets around the world with ability to create your own charts with archival stock data.
US Department of the Treasury
US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

eJournals

Journal of Business Studies Quarterly An independent publication that welcomes manuscripts from authors in academics, business, and government concerning all types of business issues.
Journal of Finance and Accountancy Original, unpublished studies related to financial and accounting topics in business and education. Studies reflecting issues and solutions to concerns like budgeting, taxation, methods, investments, regulatory procedures, and business financial analysis based on actual performance are appropriate topics.
Finance: Challenges of the Future
Financial Theory and Practice
Journal of Economics, Finance and Administrative Science

eBooks

EBooks

These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.

Accounting Ethics by Brenda Shay Duska; Ronald F. Duska; Julie Anne Ragatz This new edition of Accounting Ethics has been comprehensively updated to deal with the significant changes within the accounting profession since 2002; the authors systematically explore the new range of ethical issues that have arisen as a result of recent developments, including the financial crisis of 2008. Highlights the debates over the use of fair-value accounting and principles- versus rules-based standards Offers a comprehensive overview of ethics in accounting, as well as an examination of and recommendations for solving the current crisis in this field Investigates the nature and purpose of accounting Uses concrete examples and case studies, including current situations Examines the ethical responsibilities of individual accountants as well as accounting firms
Call Number: Books 24x7
ISBN: 9781405196130
Publication Date: 2011-04-18
Accounting for Non-Accountants by David Horner Designed for students and managers who are approaching the subject from a non-finance background, Accounting for Non-Accountants guides readers through the maze of financial terms, theories and techniques surrounding business finance and accounting, doing so in a logical, meaningful and easy-to-follow style. Completely rewritten and updated for 2013, it includes information on the latest accounting standards and taxation issues, and is structured to provide in-depth understanding in three key areas: annual accounts (including profit and loss accounts, balance sheets, cash flow and reporting standards); management accounting (costing, cost-based pricing, marginal costing and budgetary controls); and financial management (including the cost of capital, working capital, takeovers, buy-outs, taxation and international transactions). Widely used as an introductory text for business and management students on a variety of courses, Accounting for Non-Accountants remains essential reading for anyone looking to gain a solid understanding of accounting principles and practice.
Call Number: Books 24x7
ISBN: 9780749465971
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
The Basics of Finance by Frank J. Fabozzi; Pamela Peterson Drake An introductory guide to the world of finance The Basics of Finance is an accessible book for those who want to gain a better understanding of this field, but lack a strong business background. It covers essential concepts, tools, methods, and strategies in finance without delving too far into theory. Written by the experienced author team of Frank Fabozzi and Pamela Peterson Drake, this reliable resource discusses everything from financial instruments and markets to portfolio management techniques, understanding and analyzing financial statements, and different types of corporate financial strategy, planning, and policy. Explores, in a basic way, topics such as cash flow analysis, asset valuation, capital budgeting, and derivatives Provides a solid foundation in the field of finance, which you can quickly build upon Explains concepts in various areas of finance without getting too complicated The Basics of Finance offers essential guidance on financial markets and institutions, corporate finance, portfolio management, risk management, and much more. If you're looking to learn more about finance, this is the best place to start.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHost
ISBN: 9780470609712
Publication Date: 2010-09-21
Wiley GAAP 2014 by Joanne M. Flood The most practical, authoritative guide to GAAP Wiley GAAP 2014 contains complete coverage of all levels of GAAP, indexed to the ASC. Wiley GAAP renders GAAP more understandable and accessible for research, and has been designed to reduce the amount of time and effort needed to solve accounting research issues. Providing interpretive guidance and a wealth of real-world, content-rich examples and illustrations, this invaluable guide offers clear, user-friendly guidance on every pronouncement including FASB Technical Bulletins, AcSEC Practice Bulletins, FASB Implementation Guides, AICPA Statements of Position, and AICPA Accounting Interpretations. Offers insight into the application of complex financial reporting rules Contains detailed index for easy reference use Includes a comprehensive cross-reference of accounting topics to the FASB codification system With easy-to-access information, this reliable resource offers complete coverage of the entire GAAP hierarchy.
Call Number: Books 24x7
ISBN: 9781118734322
Publication Date: 2013-10-28

Other Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.