- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Accounting & Finance
- Accounting & Finance Resources
Accounting & Finance
Resources for Lifelong Learning
Accounting & Finance Search
Accounting Journal Search Links
- Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal Full text coverage 1992 (Vol. 5, no. 1) - present (with a 12-month delay) In ABI/Inform
- Accounting, Organizations and Society Citation/Abstract 1976-2016 In ProQuest Central
- Accounting Review Full-Text coverage 03/01/1926 to present In Business Source Complete
- Journal of Accounting and Economics Citation/Abstract 1981-2016 In ProQuest Central
- Journal of Accounting Research Journal of Accounting Research Citation/Abstract 1972-present In ProQuest Central
- Review Accounting Studies Review Accounting Studies Full text coverage 1996-present (with a 12-month delay) In Business Source Complete
- Review of Accounting Studies Full text coverage 1999 (Vol. 4, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year) In ABI/Inform
- Review of Financial Studies Full text coverage 03/01/1988 to present (with a 12-month delay) In Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete Accounting Journals
- Accounting Review
- Accounting Today
- CFO
- CPA Journal
- Financial Executive
- Financial Management
- International Journal of Business and Accounting
- Journal of Accountancy
- Journal of Applied Finance
- Journal of Corporate Accounting and Finance
- Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting
- Journal of Finance
- Strategic Finance
- The Tax Adviser
Recommedned eJournals
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window "This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends."
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
Books & eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Accounting, Accountability and Society by
This book addresses the growing interest among policymakers, practitioners and academics in the evolution and the future implications of social, environmental and sustainability accounting. To do so, it examines the conceptual and practical application of accountability at multiple levels and contexts, and presents a range of case studies focusing on salient issues, perspectives and the potential of multidimensional accounting and reporting regimes. Intended for a diverse audience, the book allows readers to gain a better understanding of the topics, encourages dialogue and debate, and stimulates innovation in scholarship, policy and practice.
ISBN: 9783030411411Publication Date: 2020-04-01
Accounting for Dummies by
Demystify your financial statements and figure out what your accountant is talking about with this straightforward roadmap to the world of accounting Few skills are as useful as a basic understanding of accounting language. And with the right resources, learning the language of business can be intuitive, empowering, and fun. Accounting For Dummies is the perfect place to start, whether you're operating a small business, just need help managing the family budget, or you're a rising star in corporate America. It's a financial blueprint for the everyday person, easy-to-understand, and full of practical advice. You'll learn the basic ABC's of accounting, how to read and understand financial statements, create best in class budgets & forecasts, craft profitable business plans, take control of your own finances, gain insight on how companies get money from investors and banks, and avoid common money mistakes that trip up even the best of us. You'll also find out how to: Diagnose the financial health of your business and make a realistic plan to grow your company Improve your own or your family's money situation with sound financial planning and understanding Understand each of the three basic financial statements and what they say about a company's past, present, and future Enhance your knowledge of how accounting functions and operates in today's digital age and cloud-based world As a useful tool for business or as a guide to your personal finances, nothing compares to accounting mastery. And once you've nailed the basics, you'll wonder how you ever lived without this universal and beautiful language.
ISBN: 9781119837534Publication Date: 2021-12-07
A Guide to the New Language of Accounting and Finance by
The disciplines of accounting and finance have been rapidly changing in recent years. The methods and techniques now being used have created a new language for managers, students, practitioners, academics and all those who are connected in some way with business and investment activities. To understand and work within an environment that is in a constant state of flux can be challenging and this book provides a resource of information and guidance. The Guide focuses specifically on the terms used in accounting and finance. Important terms and phrases are identified but with a much longer, in-depth explanation than you would normally find in a dictionary. Not only does each entry gives a thorough explanation of each term, most entries provide two or more references to academic articles that go into much greater depth. Hence, the entries give the reader immediate access to the literature. The Guide also comments on the contribution of the articles which adds to our knowledge. This approach allows the reader to obtain a much deeper level of understanding much more quickly than is available from the usual dictionary. At the end of the book, the full reference to all the articles that have been cited in the text is given including a list of the many acronyms used in the world of accounting and finance.
ISBN: 9781637421291Publication Date: 2021-10-30
How to Understand Business Finance by
The modern marketplace is increasingly unpredictable and there is an ever-greater need for non-financial managers to understand the financial and management accounting process.How to Understand Business Finance is part of the bestselling Creating Success series published in association with the Sunday Times, which has been translated into 25 languages with over 500, 000 copies sold. This book is written for those managing a business in a real market. It provides a quick and effective course in financial literacy, aimed at the pursuit of business growth, in the context of the journey of a business from initial set-up through its first year of trading.As well as learning how to understand balance sheets and profit and loss accounts, readers will also learn the principles of: market dynamics; budgeting and forecasting; fixed and variable costs; break-even analysis; the difference between profit and cash; financial ratios for measuring business performance; investment appraisal; stock market ratios; shareholder value; financial measures for improving business performance, and much more.How to Understand Business Finance helps you to understand double entry bookkeeping, supply chain management, the difference in American and British accounting terminology, financial ratios for measuring business performance, common acronyms, and the real cash flow implications of working capital.
ISBN: 9780749460204Publication Date: 2010-04-27
QFinance by
Created by the world's leading finance professionals under the guidance of a highly experienced, world-class strategic panel, including Jim O'Neill, Zvi Bodie, Jackson Tai, Ian Cormack, Laura Tyson and others, Qfinance- The Ultimate Resource is the first-stop reference for the finance professional. Unique and authoritative with expansive coverage, Qfinance offers both practical and thought-provoking guidance to the time-poor, information-hungry professional. This is essential reading for anyone who demands informative, high-quality information from the world of finance. Best Practice and Thought Leadership- over 250 articles by a wide range of expert authors. Checklists- more than 250 practical guides and solutions to daily financial challenges. Finance Information Sources- 200+ pages spanning 65 finance areas. International Financial information- up-to-date country and industry data. Management Library- over 130 summaries of the most popular finance titles. Finance Thinkers- 50 biographies covering their work and life Dictionary- jargon-free definitions of over 9,000 terms.
ISBN: 9781849300001Publication Date: 2009-10-13
Wiley GAAP 2023 by
The gold standard in US GAAP resources--fully revised to reflect the latest pronouncements US GAAP undergoes constant revision and review, requiring accountants and other financial practitioners to keep a close eye on updates and changes. Wiley GAAP 2023 offers the most comprehensive coverage of all Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) Topics--including all the latest updates. Every chapter offers a discussion of relevant perspectives and issues, GAAP sources, practice-oriented examples, and clear definitions of terms, concepts, and rules. Every FASB Topic is clearly explained in a reader-friendly way and includes dynamic graphics to help the reader understand and retain the nuanced subject matter. Extensively updated to reflect all current US GAAP changes, this invaluable practice resource: Reviews all the latest changes to accounting principles Offers expert guidance on complex issues raised by specific pronouncements For ease of research, includes topic-specific chapters and comprehensive cross-references Illustrates how each standard applies to common, real-world scenarios Clarifies how to implement each standard with numerous practical examples The 2023 edition includes the latest revisions to standards on credit losses, leases, derivatives, and more, plus guidance on a new FASB Codification topic on government assistance. Non-compliance with GAAP is not an option for effective accounting and financial professionals. Wiley GAAP 2023 is your one-stop resource for staying current with constantly evolving guidelines and delivers the insight and guidance you need. BONUS: Online, downloadable Financial Statement Disclosure and Presentation Checklist, now including industry- specific disclosures!
ISBN: 9781394152650Publication Date: 2022-11-22
Recommended Professional Association Websites
Accounting & Financial Women’s Alliance
American Accounting Association
American Finance Association
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
Association for Accounting Administration
Association for Financial Professionals
Association of Latino Professionals in Finance and Accounting
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
Financial Executives International
Financial Management Association International
Institute of Internal Auditors
Institute of Management Accountants
National Association of Black Accountants
National Association of State Boards of Accountancy
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.