Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new windowJournal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new windowBooks, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.
- Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window"ProQuest Telecommunications™ is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology."
eBook Collections
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Recommended Cybersecurity Websites
- COMPUTERWORLDCovers a variety of topics in the computer security industry, including cloud computing, software, emerging technology, and more.
- Department of Homeland Security (DHS)The DHS protects the nation from foreign and domestic threats.
- Ready CybersecurityProvides information on identifying and avoiding a variety of cyberattacks, as well as action to take following a cyberattack.
EJournals
- International Journal of Advanced Networking and Applications (IJANA) The International Journal of Advanced Networking and Applications (IJANA) would aim to provide an interactive and dynamic forum for professionals, researchers and academicians for knowledge sharing and dissemination especially innovations and strategies as applied to information and communications technologies, applications and management.
- International Journal of Computer Communications and Networks (IJCCN) International Journal of Computer Communication and Network (IJCCN) is a quarterly refereed open access international journal for scientific papers dealing in all areas of computer science research. The Journal of Computer Communication explores a wide range of emerging network technologies in computers as well as communication challenges in post-pc devices. The scope includes ad-hoc network, biological communication, protocols, security and more. The International Journal of Computer Communication and Network (IJCCN) is seeking for novel research works which implies great scientific work to push the boundaries of networking science.
- International Journal of Computer Network and Information Security (IJCNIS) IJCNIS is publishing refereed, high quality original research papers in all areas of Computer Network and Information Security.
- International Journal of Networking and Computing The International Journal of Networking and Computing is a biannual journal that publishes peer-reviewed articles in all areas of networking and computing. It has both print and online versions. All papers are indexed in indexing services including DBLP Computer Science Bibliography, Google Scholar, Arnetminer, J-DreamII, J-GLOBAL, and DOAJ.
Recommended Cybersecurity Journals
- CybersecurityFull text coverage Dec 2018 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
- IEEE Security & PrivacyFull text coverage Jan 2003-present
- IEEE Technology and Society MagazineFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
- IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and SecurityFull text coverage Jan 2006 - present
- Information and Computer SecurityFull text coverage 1995 (Vol. 3, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
- International Journal of Cyber CriminologyFull text coverage Jan 2008 (Vol. 2, no. 1) - present
- Proceedings of the IEEEFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
eBooks
97 Things Every Cloud Engineer Should Know
If you create, manage, operate, or configure systems running in the cloud, you're a cloud engineer--even if you work as a system administrator, software developer, data scientist, or site reliability engineer. With this book, professionals from around the world provide valuable insight into today's cloud engineering role.These concise articles explore the entire cloud computing experience, including fundamentals, architecture, and migration. You'll delve into security and compliance, operations and reliability, and software development. And examine networking, organizational culture, and more. You're sure to find 1, 2, or 97 things that inspire you to dig deeper and expand your own career."Three Keys to Making the Right Multicloud Decisions," Brendan O'Leary"Serverless Bad Practices," Manases Jesus Galindo Bello"Failing a Cloud Migration," Lee Atchison"Treat Your Cloud Environment as If It Were On Premises," Iyana Garry"What Is Toil, and Why Are SREs Obsessed with It?", Zachary Nickens"Lean QA: The QA Evolving in the DevOps World," Theresa Neate"How Economies of Scale Work in the Cloud," Jon Moore"The Cloud Is Not About the Cloud," Ken Corless"Data Gravity: The Importance of Data Management in the Cloud," Geoff Hughes"Even in the Cloud, the Network Is the Foundation," David Murray"Cloud Engineering Is About Culture, Not Containers," Holly Cummins
ISBN: 9781492076681Publication Date: 2020
Cloud Computing Basics
Regardless of where your organization is in your cloud journey, moving to the cloud is an inevitability in the coming years. The cloud is here to stay, and now is the best time to identify optimal strategies to harness the benefits and mitigate the risks. Cloud Computing Basics is the practical, accessible entry point you have been seeking.Get an introduction to the basics of cloud computing and all five major cloud platforms. Author Anders Lisdorf ensures that you gain a fundamental cloud vocabulary and learn how to translate industry terms used by different vendors. Leveraging the economic and security benefits that the cloud provides can look very different for each organization, and Lisdorf uses his expertise to help you adapt your strategy accordingly.Cloud Computing Basics is here to bring your organization into the future. Whether you are a beginner on the topic or a tech leader kick-starting change within your company, this book provides essential insights for cloud adoption and its benefits for our modern digital era. Do not get left behind, and add Cloud Computing Basics to your tech bookshelf today.What You Will LearnUnderstand what the cloud is and how it differs from traditional on-premise solutionsGain a fundamental cloud vocabulary and learn how to translate between it and the terms used by different vendorsKnow the main components of the cloud and how they are usedBe aware of the vendors in the cloud market, their strengths and weaknesses, and what to expect from themTailor the optimal cloud solution to the organizational contextStudy different approaches to cloud adoption and the contexts in which they are suitable so you can determine how your organization will get the most benefit from the cloudWho This Book Is ForA general business audience that wants to catch up on the basics of cloud computing in order to have informed conversations with technical professionals and vendors. The book is for anyone interested in a deeper understanding of what the cloud is, where it came from, and how it will impact every organization in the future. A basic understanding of information technology helps, but is not required.
ISBN: 9781484269213Publication Date: 2021
CompTIA Cloud+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide (Exam CV0-003)
Complete coverage of every objective for the CompTIA Cloud+ examTake the CompTIA Cloud+ exam with confidence using this highly effective self-study guide. CompTIA Cloud+™ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide (Exam CV0-003) offers complete coverage of every topic on the latest version of the exam. You’ll find learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, exam tips, in-depth explanations, and practice exam questions. You will get in-depth explanations of the latest cloud computing concepts, models, and terminology; disk storage systems; networking storage and infrastructure; virtualization components; security best practices, and more. Designed to help you pass the CV0-003 exam with ease, this definitive guide also serves as an essential on-the-job reference.Coverage includes:DevOpsPerformance tuningSystems managementArchitecture and designServices and solutionsBusiness continuity and disaster recoveryTesting, automation, and changesEnvironment maintenance, security, and optimizationTroubleshooting Online content includes:200 practice exam questionsInteractive performance-based questionsTest engine that provides full-length practice exams and customizable quizzes by chapter or exam objective
ISBN: 9781264264865Publication Date: 2021
The Convergence of Internet of Things and Cloud for Smart Computing by
This book presents the know-how of the real-time IoT application development activity including a basic understanding of the IoT architecture, use cases, smart computing, and the associated challenges in design and development of the IoT system. All the technical details related to protocol stack, technologies, and platforms used for the implementation are explained. It further includes techniques and case studies that include smart computing on the IoT-Cloud models along with test beds for experimentation purposes. The book aims at setting up the groundwork for the creation of applications that can help make day-to-day tasks simpler by meeting the needs of varied sectors like education, health care, agriculture, and so forth. Features: Covers IoT cloud convergence with a focus on complex industrial IoT case studies Discusses the broad background of IoT-Cloud convergence architectures and its fundamentals along with resource provisioning mechanisms Emphasizes the use of context in developing context-aware IoT solutions Presents a novel C-model that explains the IoT application development phases Discusses a simplified convergence model that depicts the role of Cloud in an IoT application This book aims at graduate students, researchers, and professionals getting started in the IoT field
ISBN: 9781000417838Publication Date: 2021-08-02
Microsoft Azure Fundamentals Certification and Beyond by
Gain in-depth knowledge of Azure fundamentals that will make it easy for you to achieve AZ-900 certificationKey Features* Get fundamental knowledge of cloud concepts and the Microsoft Azure platform* Explore practical exercises to gain experience of working with the Microsoft Azure platform in the real world* Prepare to achieve AZ-900 certification on the first go with the help of simplified examples covered in the bookBook DescriptionThis is the digital and cloud era, and Microsoft Azure is one of the top cloud computing platforms. It's now more important than ever to understand how the cloud functions and the different services that can be leveraged across the cloud.This book will give you a solid understanding of cloud concepts and Microsoft Azure, starting by taking you through cloud concepts in depth, then focusing on the core Azure architectural components, solutions, and management tools. Next, you will understand security concepts, defense-in-depth, and key security services such as Network Security Groups and Azure Firewall, as well as security operations tooling such as Azure Security Center and Azure Sentinel. As you progress, you will understand how identity, governance, privacy, and compliance are managed in Azure. Finally, you will get to grips with cost management, service-level agreements, and service life cycles. Throughout, the book features a number of hands-on exercises to support the concepts, services, and solutions discussed. This provides you with a glimpse of real-world scenarios, before finally concluding with practice questions for AZ-900 exam preparation.By the end of this Azure book, you will have a thorough understanding of cloud concepts and Azure fundamentals, enabling you to pass the AZ-900 certification exam easily.What you will learn* Explore cloud computing with Azure cloud* Gain an understanding of the core Azure architectural components* Acquire knowledge of core services and management tools on Azure* Get up and running with security concepts, security operations, and protection from threats* Focus on identity, governance, privacy, and compliance features* Understand Azure cost management, SLAs, and service life cyclesWho this book is forThis Azure fundamentals book is both for those with technical backgrounds and non-technical backgrounds who want to learn and explore the field of cloud computing, especially with Azure. This book will also help anyone who wants to develop a good foundation for achieving advanced Azure certifications. There is no prerequisite for this book except a willingness to learn and explore cloud concepts and Microsoft Azure.
ISBN: 9781801073301Publication Date: 2022-01-07
Systematic Cloud Migration
This book is your systematic cloud migration guide. Experiences shared by the author are drawn from real-life migration projects and contain practical advice, as well as step-by-step architecture, design, and technical implementation instructions using sample application code on GitLab. Following the guidance in this book will provide much needed support to your teams, and help you successfully complete the application cloud migration journey. Systematic Cloud Migration consists of four major parts. Part one starts with a fundamental introduction of cloud computing to establish the context for migration, including paradigm changes in five important areas: software application, DevSecOps, operations, infrastructure, and security. And these are the areas that the book follows throughout. Next, it introduces a real-life migration process that your team can follow. Part two presents the migration process for the application code, including architecture diagrams and presented by demo application code and supporting infrastructure in AWS cloud. Part three dives into DevSecOps and automation. In addition to concepts, a real-life migration diagram and sample pipeline code implemented with GitLab are include. Part four deals with efficient cloud operations.Each chapter has a practical structure: objectives, roles, inputs, process/activities, outputs/deliverables, best practices, and summary. There is a wealth of cloud production-grade template style artifacts that can be used as is. What You Will LearnDesign applications in the cloud, including determining the design criteria (e.g., solution cost is a design criterion, same as security, and is not an afterthought)Understand the major migration areas: software development (application code, data, integration, and configuration), software delivery (pipeline and automation), and software operations (observability)Migrate each application element: client and business components code, data, integration and services, logging, monitoring, alerting, as well as configurationsUnderstand cloud-critical static application security testing (SAST), dynamic application security testing (DAST), containers compliance and security scanning, and open source dependency testingKnow the directions and implementation details on cost-efficient, automated, cloud-native software operationsWho This Book Is ForPrimarily designed with software developers, team leads, development managers, DevOps engineers, and software architects in mind. Their day-to-day activities include architecting, designing, developing, delivering, and operating software in the cloud environment. In addition, this book will benefit infrastructure, network, security, and operations engineers, who in turn, can provide better support for the software development product teams.
ISBN: 9781484272527Publication Date: 2021
Cybersecurity Videos
- Cybersecurity Assets and Risks Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Threats Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Vulnerability and Countermeasures Recognize the key concepts of cybersecurity vulnerability and countermeasures
- The State of Cybersecurity Packt PublishingJuly 2022 The State of Cybersecurity This video explains the state of cybersecurity.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283