U.S. History Pictures
Let Us Raise A Standard To Which The Wise And The Honest Can Repair -- George Washington.
Art and Picture Collection, The New York Public Library. Let Us Raise A Standard To Which The Wise And The Honest Can Repair -- George Washington. Retrieved from http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e1-31f4-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Immigrants seated on long benches, Main Hall, U.S. Immigration Station
The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Photography Collection, The New York Public Library. (1902 - 1913). Immigrants seated on long benches, Main Hall, U.S. Immigration Station. Retrieved from http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47da-d8d7-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Presentation of colors to 5th U.S. Colored Troops, Camp Delaware, Ohio, 1803
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. (1894). Presentation of colors to 5th U.S. Colored Troops, Camp Delaware, Ohio, 1803. Retrieved from http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47df-964e-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
eBook Collections
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Quizzes
- Questions for the Naturalization TestDo you know the answer? Here are 100 civics questions and answers from the US Citizenship and Immigration Services Naturalization Test
- Which Founder Are You?Who were these Founding Fathers? Learn more about the men who founded our nation.
eBooks
American Constitutionalism Heard Round the World, 1776-1989 by
Winner of the 2010 Book Award from the New England Historical Association American constitutionalism represents this country's greatest gift to human freedom, yet its story remains largely untold. For over two hundred years, its ideals, ideas, and institutions influenced different peoples in different lands at different times. American constitutionalism and the revolutionary republican documents on which it is based affected countless countries by helping them develop their own constitutional democracies. Western constitutionalism--of which America was a part along with Britain and France--reached a major turning point in global history in 1989, when the forces of democracy exceeded the forces of autocracy for the first time. Historian George Athan Billias traces the spread of American constitutionalism--from Europe, Latin America, and the Caribbean region, to Asia and Africa--beginning chronologically with the American Revolution and the fateful "shot heard round the world" and ending with the conclusion of the Cold War in 1989. The American model contributed significantly by spearheading the drive to greater democracy throughout the Western world, and Billias's landmark study tells a story that will change the way readers view the important role American constitutionalism played during this era.
ISBN: 9780814791073Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Milestone Documents in American History by
Milestone Documents in American History offers students and researchers in-depth analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S. history. Each entry in this set includes the full text of the document in question as well as critica
ISBN: 9780979775802Publication Date: 2008-04-01
The Federalist Papers by
'A nation without a national government is an awful spectacle.'In the winter of 1787-8 a series of eighty-five essays appeared in the New York press; the purpose of the essays was to persuade the citizens of New York State to ratify the Constitution of the United States. The three authors - Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay - were respectively the first Secretary of the Treasury, the fourth President, and thefirst Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in American history. Each had played a crucial role in the events of the American revolution; together they were convinced of the need to weld thirteen disparate andnewly-independent states into a union. Their essays make the case for a new and united nation, governed under a written Constitution that endures to this day.The Federallist Papers are an indispensable guide to the intentions of the founding fathers who created the United States, and a canonical text in the development of western political thought. This new edition pays full attention to the classical learning of their authors and the historical examples theydeploy.
ISBN: 9780192805928Publication Date: 2008-12-01
The American Crisis by ISBN: 9780585051697- Common Sense by ISBN: 9780585232843
