Ebooks
Not-for-Profit Accounting, Tax, and Reporting Requirements
What every not-for-profit must know about accounting, tax, and reporting requirements Combining the proven guidance of the previous, bestselling edition with all of the latest regulatory information, Edward McMillan delivers a one-stop reporting resource for not-for-profits in Not-For-Profit Accounting, Tax, and Reporting Requirements, Second Edition. McMillan′s step-by-step guide helps your not-for-profit apply for tax-exempt status, handle IRS audits, set up a wholly owned taxable subsidiary, anticipate tax implications of lobbying expenses, and perform a host of other functions. All-new coverage of the basics of complying to the new Form 990 New discussions on political action committees, new lobbying issues, grant accounting and complying with OMB Circular A-122 and Yellow Book accounting, fiduciary responsibilities of boards and staff, and much more Contains dozens of checklists, sample letters, and illustrative charts demonstrating how to apply the principles and requirements described A peerless reference for this dynamic field, Not-for-Profit Accounting, Tax, and Reporting Requirements, Second Edition gives your nonprofit a straightforward guide to simpler financial structure and reporting obligations.
Building Strong Nonprofits
A proven, strategic plan to help your nonprofit emerge from the2008-2009 economic storm Utilizing the extensive expertise of leading fundraisingconsulting firm Skystone Ryan's executive leadership team andmanaging consultants to explore and illuminate the most timelyissues facing the philanthropic community, Building StrongNonprofits: New Strategies for Growth and Sustainabilityidentifies new opportunities to define the future ofphilanthropy. Includes notable contributors from the Skystone Ryan leadershipteam Analyzes the most potent trends and developments and interprettheir implications for the future of philanthropy Offers eight to twelve essays, each by a different SkystoneRyan consultant with particular experience, insight, and expertisein the area Building Strong Nonprofits: New Strategies for Growth andSustainability is you, whether you are a nonprofit leader,executive director, board member, or development director, and arebecoming aware that new organizational strategies are called for ifthe same old donors are not supportive in the same old ways.
Nonprofit Fundraising 101
Raise more money for your cause! Based on expert advice and insights from a variety of respected industry experts, Nonprofit Fundraising 101 is an essential text for nonprofit professionals, volunteers, activists, and social entrepreneurs who want to leverage best practices to promote their cause. Built upon the success of the best-selling Nonprofit Management 101, this easy to digest book provides practical, comprehensive guidance for nonprofit fundraising around the globe. With tips and tools, expert advice, and real-world insights from almost fifty industry leaders, this robust resource addresses the entire spectrum of fundraising for nonprofits, including: Planning, hiring, and tracking progress Individual donors, major gifts, events, and direct mail Board and volunteer engagement Foundation and government grants Corporate partnerships Online and email fundraising Social media and mobile crowdfunding Earned income and social enterprise Written by and for front line practitioners and geared towards a global audience of emerging and established leaders, this field guide offers step-by-step formulas for success. Nonprofit Fundraising 101 features a foreword by fundraising guru and Soul of Money author Lynne Twist, insights from notable non-profit professionals such as CNN's Van Jones, and an afterword by Kiva.org Co-Founder & President Premal Shah. This book also provides indispensible ideas and diverse case studies ranging from grassroots efforts to the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, and advice for organizations of all sizes and focus. Chapters are brief and easily digestible, featuring extensive resources for additional learning, concrete best practices, and pitfalls to avoid. Enjoy this must-read manual to learn tried and true ways to raise more money for your cause, nonprofit, or charity.
Global Best Practices for CSO, NGO, and Other Nonprofit Boards
An ideal resource for boards everywhere There are at least 10 million Civil Society Organizations (CSO)s in the world, each of them with a board composed of individuals doing their best to govern well and wisely. There is no single model of governance to emulate, but are there universal principles and practices that can help boards everywhere perform at the highest level. This book takes us for a trip around the world to look at what is working for boards. Its discoveries will help not only boards, but also nonprofit staff leaders seeking to assist their boards to optimal performance, and capacity-builders looking to strengthen their civil society sector. Even if your organizational concerns extend no further than city boundaries, this book is for you. One of the greatest governance challenges today is a lack of diversity on the board. This can seriously hamper an organization's ability to realize mission and to understand and serve its community. Reading this book will provide a greater understanding of how the cultural context affects governance and will sensitize the reader to different ways of thinking about governance. Global Best Practices For CSO, NGO and Other Nonprofit Boards presents case studies from different parts of the world that illustrate effective practice, identifies and discusses interesting and significant differences, and explores global governance trends with implications for us all. Tests for universal truths about roles, responsibilities and practices using criteria established by BoardSource, the premier voice on nonprofit governance Provides information that builds exceptional nonprofit boards Discusses cultural differences in governance that will help all boards to better function in increasingly diverse environments Offers inspiration to NGO boards in any part of civil society Reflects on the future of governance worldwide If you're a capacity-builder, a board member, or an executive leader looking for guidance on governance, this is the book you'll want to have on hand.
eBook Collections
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Nonprofit Financial Info
- CitizenAudit.orgThe Most Comprehensive Source of U.S. Nonprofit Tax Data
- Foundation Center: 990 FinderSearch nonprofit filings
- GuideStarRequires free registration.
NonProfit Grants
eBooks
Building Strong Nonprofits by
A proven, strategic plan to help your nonprofit emerge from the2008-2009 economic storm Utilizing the extensive expertise of leading fundraisingconsulting firm Skystone Ryan's executive leadership team andmanaging consultants to explore and illuminate the most timelyissues facing the philanthropic community, Building StrongNonprofits: New Strategies for Growth and Sustainabilityidentifies new opportunities to define the future ofphilanthropy. Includes notable contributors from the Skystone Ryan leadershipteam Analyzes the most potent trends and developments and interprettheir implications for the future of philanthropy Offers eight to twelve essays, each by a different SkystoneRyan consultant with particular experience, insight, and expertisein the area Building Strong Nonprofits: New Strategies for Growth andSustainability is you, whether you are a nonprofit leader,executive director, board member, or development director, and arebecoming aware that new organizational strategies are called for ifthe same old donors are not supportive in the same old ways.
ISBN: 9780470587874Publication Date: 2010-04-19
Global Best Practices for CSO, NGO, and Other Nonprofit Boards by
An ideal resource for boards everywhere There are at least 10 million Civil Society Organizations (CSO)s in the world, each of them with a board composed of individuals doing their best to govern well and wisely. There is no single model of governance to emulate, but are there universal principles and practices that can help boards everywhere perform at the highest level. This book takes us for a trip around the world to look at what is working for boards. Its discoveries will help not only boards, but also nonprofit staff leaders seeking to assist their boards to optimal performance, and capacity-builders looking to strengthen their civil society sector. Even if your organizational concerns extend no further than city boundaries, this book is for you. One of the greatest governance challenges today is a lack of diversity on the board. This can seriously hamper an organization's ability to realize mission and to understand and serve its community. Reading this book will provide a greater understanding of how the cultural context affects governance and will sensitize the reader to different ways of thinking about governance. Global Best Practices For CSO, NGO and Other Nonprofit Boards presents case studies from different parts of the world that illustrate effective practice, identifies and discusses interesting and significant differences, and explores global governance trends with implications for us all. Tests for universal truths about roles, responsibilities and practices using criteria established by BoardSource, the premier voice on nonprofit governance Provides information that builds exceptional nonprofit boards Discusses cultural differences in governance that will help all boards to better function in increasingly diverse environments Offers inspiration to NGO boards in any part of civil society Reflects on the future of governance worldwide If you're a capacity-builder, a board member, or an executive leader looking for guidance on governance, this is the book you'll want to have on hand.
ISBN: 9781119423270Publication Date: 2018-05-01
The Happy, Healthy Nonprofit by
Steer your organization away from burnout while boosting all-around performance The Happy, Healthy Nonprofit presents realistic strategies for leaders looking to optimize organizational achievement while avoiding the common nonprofit burnout. With a uniquely holistic approach to nonprofit leadership strategy, this book functions as a handbook to help leaders examine their existing organization, identify trouble spots, and resolve issues with attention to all aspects of operations and culture. The expert author team walks you through the process of building a happier, healthier organization from the ground up, with a balanced approach that considers more than just quantitative results. Employee wellbeing takes a front seat next to organizational performance, with clear guidance on establishing optimal systems and processes that bring about better results while allowing a healthier work-life balance. By improving attitudes and personal habits at all levels, you'll implement a positive cultural change with sustainable impact. Nonprofits are driven to do more, more, more, often with fewer and fewer resources; there comes a breaking point where passion dwindles under the weight of pressure, and the mission suffers as a result. This book shows you how to revamp your organization to do more and do it better, by putting cultural considerations at the heart of strategy. Find and relieve cultural and behavioral pain points Achieve better results with attention to well-being Redefine your organizational culture to avoid burnout Establish systems and processes that enable sustainable change At its core, a nonprofit is driven by passion. What begins as a personal investment in the organization's mission can quickly become the driver of stress and overwork that leads to overall lackluster performance. Executing a cultural about-face can be the lifeline your organization needs to thrive. The Happy, Healthy Nonprofit provides a blueprint for sustainable change, with a holistic approach to improving organizational outlook.
ISBN: 9781119253587Publication Date: 2016-09-21
Nonprofit Fundraising 101 by
Raise more money for your cause! Based on expert advice and insights from a variety of respected industry experts, Nonprofit Fundraising 101 is an essential text for nonprofit professionals, volunteers, activists, and social entrepreneurs who want to leverage best practices to promote their cause. Built upon the success of the best-selling Nonprofit Management 101, this easy to digest book provides practical, comprehensive guidance for nonprofit fundraising around the globe. With tips and tools, expert advice, and real-world insights from almost fifty industry leaders, this robust resource addresses the entire spectrum of fundraising for nonprofits, including: Planning, hiring, and tracking progress Individual donors, major gifts, events, and direct mail Board and volunteer engagement Foundation and government grants Corporate partnerships Online and email fundraising Social media and mobile crowdfunding Earned income and social enterprise Written by and for front line practitioners and geared towards a global audience of emerging and established leaders, this field guide offers step-by-step formulas for success. Nonprofit Fundraising 101 features a foreword by fundraising guru and Soul of Money author Lynne Twist, insights from notable non-profit professionals such as CNN's Van Jones, and an afterword by Kiva.org Co-Founder & President Premal Shah. This book also provides indispensible ideas and diverse case studies ranging from grassroots efforts to the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, and advice for organizations of all sizes and focus. Chapters are brief and easily digestible, featuring extensive resources for additional learning, concrete best practices, and pitfalls to avoid. Enjoy this must-read manual to learn tried and true ways to raise more money for your cause, nonprofit, or charity.
ISBN: 9781119100560Publication Date: 2015-12-29
Not-for-Profit Accounting, Tax, and Reporting Requirements by
What every not-for-profit must know about accounting, tax, and reporting requirements Combining the proven guidance of the previous, bestselling edition with all of the latest regulatory information, Edward McMillan delivers a one-stop reporting resource for not-for-profits in Not-For-Profit Accounting, Tax, and Reporting Requirements, Second Edition. McMillan′s step-by-step guide helps your not-for-profit apply for tax-exempt status, handle IRS audits, set up a wholly owned taxable subsidiary, anticipate tax implications of lobbying expenses, and perform a host of other functions. All-new coverage of the basics of complying to the new Form 990 New discussions on political action committees, new lobbying issues, grant accounting and complying with OMB Circular A-122 and Yellow Book accounting, fiduciary responsibilities of boards and staff, and much more Contains dozens of checklists, sample letters, and illustrative charts demonstrating how to apply the principles and requirements described A peerless reference for this dynamic field, Not-for-Profit Accounting, Tax, and Reporting Requirements, Second Edition gives your nonprofit a straightforward guide to simpler financial structure and reporting obligations.
ISBN: 9780470575383Publication Date: 2010-06-28
Understanding Nonprofit Organizations by
Understanding Nonprofit Organizationsexamines the most important issues that face today's leaders and managers of nonprofit organizations through the writing of scholars, consultants, and practicing executives. It focuses on governing, leading, and managing nonprofit organizations and how such organizations differ from both the public and private sectors. Each part opens with a framing essay that identifies the central themes and issues and summarizes the significance of the contribution that each piece makes to the development of knowledge in the field. Completely revised and updated, the third edition includes new articles on legal frameworks, philanthropy, managing volunteers and accountability, as well as an original essay on capacity building. In addition, the third edition features new, thought-provoking case studies by C. Kenneth Meyer--making it an even more student-friendly text for graduate and upper-division undergraduate nonprofit organizations and management survey courses.
ISBN: 9780813349619Publication Date: 2015-07-28
Reference Books
A Dictionary of Nonprofit Terms and Concepts by
This reference work defines more than 1,200 terms and concepts that have been found useful in past research and theory on the nonprofit sector. The entries reflect the importance of associations, citizen participation, philanthropy, voluntary action, nonprofit management, volunteer administration, leisure, and political activities of nonprofits. They also reflect a concern for the wider range of useful general concepts in theory and research that bear on the nonprofit sector and its manifestations in the United States and elsewhere. This dictionary supplies some of the necessary foundational work on the road toward a general theory of the nonprofit sector.
ISBN: 9780253347831Publication Date: 2006-11-08
Nonprofit Bookkeeping and Accounting for Dummies® by
An easy-to-understand guide to the complex rules and regs of nonprofit financial management Nonprofit Bookkeeping For Dummies is a practical guide for anyone who is responsible for financial and accounting operations in nonprofit organizations or who needs to read and understand a nonprofit financial statement. It gives nonprofit managers the information they need to successfully manage their finances and keep accurate books in accordance with state and federal laws. This handy guide explains the basics of nonprofit bookkeeping, general nonprofit accounting principles, and basic financial statements, as well as specific laws and regulations that govern the accounting of nonprofit organizations. It also covers IRS Form 990, along with changes made in 2007 to the line numbers and other areas of this important tax document. Sharon Farris (Montgomery, AL) is the President of FACT$ (Farris Accounting & Consulting Training Services). She is also the President of AAGP (American Association of Grant Professionals), Montgomery.
ISBN: 9780470432365Publication Date: 2009-05-04
