- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Homeland Security
- Homeland Security Resources
Homeland Security
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window "Global Breaking Newswires is a library news product which provides timely access to the best newswire content available globally as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources"
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides coverage of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, and databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and more.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window "International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada"
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowContains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 300 full-text periodicals with current news about all branches of the military and government.
- Military Database This link opens in a new window"The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more."
- Political Science Database This link opens in a new window "Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources."
- Public Health Database This link opens in a new window "With journals, news, trade publications, reports and more, ProQuest Public Health covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business."
Recommended Websites
- Center for Strategic and International Studies "The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a bipartisan, nonprofit policy research organization dedicated to providing strategic insights and policy solutions to help decision-makers chart a course toward a better world."
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention "CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise."
- Central Intelligence Agency - Library "The CIA releases millions of pages of documents each year and frequently releases items of public interest on this website. The Library contains a wealth of information, from unclassified current publications to basic references, reports and maps."
- Data.gov The US Federal Government, which collects all kinds of data, is a good source of data for student reports or business or general information purposes. They are often invisible because they are buried deep in massive websites and because the government is the unique source for important research and information. Statistical data can be found across many government department websites, but it may be hard to track down with a search.
- Defense Technical Information Center This US Department of Defense agency provides essential, technical research, development, testing and evaluation (RDT&E) information rapidly, accurately and reliably to support research needs.
- Department of Health and Human Services - Public Health Emergency Provides public health and emergency medicine support at the national level.
- Disaster Information Management Research Center "The core purpose of the Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) is to develop and provide access to health information resources and technology for disaster preparedness, response, and recovery."
- Environmental Protection Agency - Emergency Management Branch of the EPA devoted to preventing accidents as well as response capabilities
- Federal Communications Commission - Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau "The FCC's Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau (PSHSB) advises, makes recommendations to, or acts for the Commission under delegated authority, in all matters pertaining to public safety, homeland security, national security, emergency management and preparedness, disaster management, and ancillary operations."
- Federal Emergency Management Agency The federal government's principal disaster assistance organization.
- Federation of American Scientists "The Federation of American Scientists (FAS) provides science-based analysis of and solutions to protect against catastrophic threats to national and international security. Specifically, FAS works to reduce the spread and number of nuclear weapons, prevent nuclear and radiological terrorism, promote high standards for nuclear energy’s safety and security, illuminate government secrecy practices, as well as prevent the use of biological and chemical weapons."
- Homeland Security Digital Library "The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management."
- House Committee on Homeland Security Legislation and information from the House committee established to provide Congressional oversight for the Department of Homeland Security
- Jamestown Foundation "The Jamestown Foundation’s mission is to inform and educate policy makers and the broader community about events and trends in those societies which are strategically or tactically important to the United States and which frequently restrict access to such information."
- National Weather Service Provides weather forecast, warning, and safety information.
- Natural Hazards Center The Natural Hazards Center serves "as a national and international clearinghouse of knowledge about the social science and policy aspects of disasters".
- Office of Response and Restoration "NOAA's Office of Response and Restoration (OR&R) is a center of expertise in preparing for, evaluating, and responding to threats to coastal environments, including oil and chemical spills, releases from hazardous waste sites, and marine debris."
- RAND Corporation Collection of public safety white papers produced by the RAND Corporation.
- Ready.gov Ready is a national public service advertising (PSA) campaign designed to educate and empower Americans to prepare for and respond to emergencies including natural and man-made disasters. Ready and its Spanish language version Listo (https://www.ready.gov/es) ask individuals to do three key things: (1) build an emergency supply kit, (2) make a family emergency plan and (3) be informed about the different types of emergencies that could occur and their appropriate responses.
- U.S. Department of Homeland Security "The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face." The website provides information and resources on a range of homeland security topics.
Books & eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
McGraw-Hill Homeland Security Handbook: Strategic Guidance for a Coordinated Approach to Effective Security and Emergency Management, Second Edition by
Featuring a foreword by Michael Chertoff, former Secretary of Homeland Security, The McGraw-Hill Homeland Security Handbook, 2e is the one-stop guide for any professional or student involved in counterterrorism, homeland security, business continuity, or disaster risk management. This indispensable book provides government officials, corporate risk managers, business and security executives, first responders, and all homeland security and emergency prepared-ness professionals with a wide-ranging and definitive overview of critical homeland security issues. The handbook addresses virtually every aspect of homeland security, including terrorism motivated by radical Islamist extremism; transportation and infrastructure protection; community and business resilience; intelligence and information; and the roles of business, academia, science, and the private sector in confronting terrorism and natural disasters. Enriched with the insight and knowledge of renowned national and international experts--from senators and captains of industry to key figures in intelligence, military affairs, diplomacy, international organizations, and academia--this peerless guide offers prescriptive strategies and guidance to help security professionals more effectively manage the risk of terrorism and prepare for and respond to natural disasters. Conveniently organized into thematic sections, The McGraw-Hill Homeland Security Handbook covers: Terrorist and Criminal Threats Policy, Governance, and Legal Responses Interoperability, Information Sharing, and Collaboration Risk Management, Decision Making, and Communication Protecting Critical Infrastructure Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management Private Sector Security and Resilience Thinking, Education, and Training Science and Technology Civil Liberties and Other Legal Issues International Challenges and Approaches The McGraw-Hill Homeland Security Handbook synthesizes the latest information with unmatched scope and detail and discusses what governments, businesses, and citizens must do to manage the risk of disasters and counter evolving threats.
ISBN: 9780071790840Publication Date: 2012-12-03
Homeland Security by
The definitive guide to the homeland security enterprise--updated with critical changes in missions, tactics, and strategies "[T]he best. . . .The book is extremely well organized for an undergraduate class in homeland security." --Homeland Security Affairs "Homeland Security is much more than a textbook. It is an indispensable reference resource for those seeking to understand how terrorists operate and the structures and mechanisms that have been developed to respond to the magnitude of the terrorist threats confronting us." --The Washington Times Homeland Security: A Complete Guide is the authoritative guide to the history, mission, and evolution of the national homeland security enterprise, including federal, state, local, and private sector efforts. Whether you're a first responder, corporate executive, government official, or concerned citizen, this book provides a comprehensive understanding of U.S. homeland security and your own role in preparing for and responding to terrorism and disasters. Since publication of the previous edition in 2005, the Department of Homeland Security, other government agencies, and the broader homeland security enterprise have grown to cover "all hazards" and respond to emerging threats and policies. Documenting and analyzing these trends, this new edition of Homeland Security: AComplete Guide has been expanded and updated to include: New insights from the authors' close contacts with high-level government and business officials Late-breaking academic research, government reports, and examples from the field Lessons learned from foiled terror plots, natural disasters, and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq The use of emerging technologies by terrorists and responders alike Controversies surrounding civil liberties, airport security, immigration, and government funding An ideal resource for academic and training classrooms, Homeland Security: A CompleteGuide includes an overview, learning objectives, source documents, discussion topic, summary, and quiz for each chapter. Updates to this edition cover Emerging threats Incident management Myths about weapons of mass destruction Hurricane Katrina's effect on homeland security Border, maritime, and aviation security Business preparedness Cybersecurity The roles of state and local government National strategy assessment Technology Domestic counterterrorism Military support Responding to natural and human-made disasters The intelligence cycle State-sponsored terrorism Protecting critical infrastructure Foiled terror attacks Public awareness Islamist and domestic extremism Security trends from colonial days to 9/11
ISBN: 9780071774000Publication Date: 2012-01-04
Homeland Security by
Homeland security is a massive enterprise that gets larger by the moment. What was once mostly a TSA/aviation concern has evolved into a multidimensional operation covering a broad array of disciplines. These include critical infrastructure protection, border security, transportation security, intelligence and counterterrorism, emergency management
ISBN: 9781466510913Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Security Manager's Guide to Disasters by
Terrorist or criminal attack, fire emergency, civil or geographic disruption, or major electrical failure--recent years have witnessed an increase in the number of natural disasters and man-made events that have threatened the livelihoods of businesses and organizations worldwide. Security Manager's Guide to Disasters: Managing Through Emergencies, Violence, and Other Workplace Threatsexamines the most significant emergencies that may confront the security manager and provides comprehensive guidance on how to prepare for a potential crisis, what to do in the event of one, and how to mitigate the effects. Explores the Range of Disasters That Can Jeopardize Any Organization The author discusses all types of disasters, covering a range of major occurrences that could threaten or harm any business or institutional entity. These include terrorism, industrial espionage and sabotage, workplace violence, strikes, natural disasters, fires, medical emergencies--the topics run the gamut of events that security directors, loss prevention professionals, and risk managers may confront in the course of their duties. Guidance Spans from Before an Event Occurs to Its Aftermath The book provides strategies for preventing or reducing the severity of an incident and initiating immediate and professional responses to reduce the loss of life, injuries, property damage, and liability. It also provides instruction on adequate interaction and cooperation with public safety agencies, local government, and other public and private utility services. By focusing on response, recovery, and restoration, this essential reference lays out a system for placing the business or institution back into operation as soon as possible.
ISBN: 9781439809068Publication Date: 2009-07-29
Terrorism and Homeland Security by
Since 9/11, the terms homeland security and terrorism have become firmly entrenched in our lexicon. The days of walking through a simple metal detector at the airport are over, and our security landscape is forever changed. Terrorism and Homeland Security: Perspectives, Thoughts, and Opinions brings together the work of academic researchers and law
ISBN: 9781420093070Publication Date: 2010-09-29
Terrorism and Homeland Security by
Despite the fact that the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has been active since November of 2002, the American homeland is still not secure from terrorist attack. What passes as DHS strategy is often just a list of objectives with vague references to the garnering of national resources, and the marshalling of support from other nations. Drawing on the expertise of several of the nation's leading reseachers and policy experts, Terrorism and Homeland Security: Thinking Strategically About Policy provides policymakers with a much needed starting point for the creation of an effective coherent national security strategy. Its origins pre-dating 9-11, this volume grew out of an extensive project featuring the participation of various institutions including the Army War College. The primary goal: develop a strategy that optimizes security with minimal infringement on rights and liberties After addressing points salient to a central strategy, the book then identifies the domestic and external elements that need to be addressed in building such a strategy. To this end, it examines the nature of terrorist threats, looks at challenges specific to various weapons of mass destruction, and then goes beyond terrorism to discuss safeguarding society and its infrastructure from natural disasters. In concluding, the editors present a number of preliminary suggestions. It is hoped that policymakers and others may take these suggestions into account when developing a comprehensive national security strategy.
ISBN: 9781420077735Publication Date: 2008-06-17
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283