- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Mathematics & Statistics
- Mathematics & Statistics Resources
Mathematics & Statistics
Recommended Databases
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Full-text periodicals covering "all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as...performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and...thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world".
Recommended Websites
- American Mathematical Society American Mathematical Society was founded to further the interests of mathematical research and scholarship and serves the national and international community through its publications, meetings, advocacy, and other programs.
- Coolmath.com Although pitched to a younger audience, the explanations of math concepts are clear and to the point. Answers to built-in exercises are included. Covers pre-algebra through pre-calculus.
- Math-Aids.com Dynamically and randomly generated worksheets (with available answers) on basic math through algebra and trigonometry
- mathcracker A wide variety of free math help, including calculators with explanations
- Purplemath Free lessons on a range of mathematical topics, delivered in a casual tone.
- Wolfram MathWorld Discussion and definition of a wide range of mathematical concepts at a college level
Books & eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Advanced Calculus by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solvedproblems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 1,370 fully solved problems Complete review of all course fundamentals Clear, concise explanations of all Advanced Calculus concepts Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores! Topics include: Numbers; Sequences; Functions, Limits, and Continuity; Derivatives; Integrals; Partial Derivatives; Vectors; Applications of Partial Derivatives; Multiple Integrals; Line Integrals, Surface Integrals, and Integral Theorems; Infinite Series; Improper Integrals; Fourier Series; Fourier Integrals; Gamma and Beta Functions; and Functions of a Complex Variable Schaum's Outlines--Problem Solved.
ISBN: 9780071623667Publication Date: 2010-02-15
Algebra by
Algebra may seem intimidating?but it doesn't have to be. With Teach Yourself VISUALLY Algebra, you can learn algebra in a fraction of the time and without ever losing your cool. This visual guide takes advantage of color and illustrations to factor out confusion and helps you easily master the subject. You'll review the various properties of numbers, as well as how to use powers and exponents, fractions, decimals and percentages, and square and cube roots. Each chapter concludes with exercises to reinforce your skills.
ISBN: 9780470185599Publication Date: 2008-03-10
Calculus by
Suitable for test preparation, pre-exam review, and handling those last-minute cram situations, this title gives you the essence of calculus the easy way. It helps you master calculus with illustrations, memory joggers, and the rapid-absorption teaching techniques, as well as quick study tips; student-friendly style; and, at-a-glance charts.
ISBN: 9780070527102Publication Date: 1999-10-11
College Algebra by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you: Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved.
ISBN: 9780071635394Publication Date: 2009-08-20
How to Solve Word Problems in Algebra by
Solving word problems has never been easier than with Schaum's How to Solve Word Problems in Algebra! This popular study guide shows students easy ways to solve what they struggle with most in algebra: word problems. How to Solve Word Problems in Algebra, Second Edition, is ideal for anyone who wants to master these skills. Completely updated, with contemporary language and examples, features solution methods that are easy to learn and remember, plus a self-test.
ISBN: 9780071343077Publication Date: 1999-09-15
Master Math: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra by
Master Math: Basic Math and Pre-Algebra teaches the reader in a very user-friendly and accessible manner the principles and formulas for establishing a solid math foundation. This book covers topics such as complex fractions, mixed numbers and improper fractions; converting fractions, percents, and decimals; solving equations with logarithms or exponents, and much more.
ISBN: 9781564142146Publication Date: 1996-08-01
Pre-Calculus Know-It-All by
Master pre-calculus from the comfort of home! Want to "know it ALL" when it comes to pre-calculus? This book gives you the expert, one-on-one instruction you need, whether you're new to pre-calculus or you're looking to ramp up your skills. Providing easy-to-understand concepts and thoroughly explained exercises, math whiz Stan Gibilisco serves as your own private tutor--without the expense! His clear, friendly guidance helps you tackle the concepts and problems that confuse you the most and work through them at your own pace. Train your brain with ease! Pre-Calculus Know-It-ALL features: Checkpoints to help you track your knowledge and skill level Problem/solution pairs and chapter-ending quizzes to reinforce learning Fully explained answers to all practice exercises A multiple-choice exam to prepare you for standardized tests "Extra Credit" and "Challenge" problems to stretch your mind Stan's expert guidance gives you the know-how to: Calculate distance in Cartesian two-and three-space Perform vector multiplication Work with cylindrical and spherical coordinates Understand relations and functions Learn the properties of conic sections Graph exponential, logarithmic, and trigonometric curves Define curves with parametric equations Work with sequences, series, and limits Take college entrance examinations with confidence And much more!
ISBN: 9780071627023Publication Date: 2009-11-13
Statistics: A Very Short Introduction by
Modern statistics is very different from the dry and dusty discipline of the popular imagination. In its place is an exciting subject which uses deep theory and powerful software tools to shed light and enable understanding. And it sheds this light on all aspects of our lives, enablingastronomers to explore the origins of the universe, archaeologists to investigate ancient civilisations, governments to understand how to benefit and improve society, and businesses to learn how best to provide goods and services. Aimed at readers with no prior mathematical knowledge, this iVery Short Introduction/i explores and explains how statistics work, and how we can decipher them.
ISBN: 9780199233564Publication Date: 2008-12-15
Statistics Done Wrong by
Scientific progress depends on good research, and good research needs good statistics. But statistical analysis is tricky to get right, even for the best and brightest of us. You'd be surprised how many scientists are doing it wrong. Statistics Done Wrong is a pithy, essential guide to statistical blunders in modern science that will show you how to keep your research blunder-free. You'll examine embarrassing errors and omissions in recent research, learn about the misconceptions and scientific politics that allow these mistakes to happen, and begin your quest to reform the way you and your peers do statistics. You'll find advice on: Asking the right question, designing the right experiment, choosing the right statistical analysis, and sticking to the plan How to think about p values, significance, insignificance, confidence intervals, and regression Choosing the right sample size and avoiding false positives Reporting your analysis and publishing your data and source code Proced
ISBN: 9781593276201Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Statistics Essentials for Dummies by
Statistics Essentials For Dummies not only provides students enrolled in Statistics I with an excellent high-level overview of key concepts, but it also serves as a reference or refresher for students in upper-level statistics courses. Free of review and ramp-up material, Statistics Essentials For Dummies sticks to the point, with content focused on key course topics only. It provides discrete explanations of essential concepts taught in a typical first semester college-level statistics course, from odds and error margins to confidence intervals and conclusions. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical statistics concepts as they help high school students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
ISBN: 9780470618394Publication Date: 2010-05-17
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Recommended Professional Association Websites
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283