Announcements
LIBRARY LEARNING LECTURES
- The DeVry Library offers a series of Live Library Learning Lectures. These videos and tutorials to help you master a variety of library skills and knowledge. Click here to learn more.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Access to more than 850 full-text newspapers, and over 850,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window More than 75 regional publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
Recommended Websites
eBooks
The Elements of Library Research by
To do solid academic research, college students need to look beyond the computer search engine. This short, practical book introduces students to the important components of the information-seeking process. The Elements of Library Research provides a foundation for success in any research assignment, from a freshman paper to a senior thesis. Unlike guides that describe the research process but do not explain its logic, this book focuses entirely on basic concepts, strategies, tools, and tactics for research--in both electronic and print formats. Drawing on decades of experience with undergraduates, reference librarian Mary George arms students with the critical thinking skills and procedures they need to approach any academic project with confidence. Ways to turn a topic into a research question Techniques for effective online searches How to evaluate primary and secondary sources When and how to confer with reference librarians and faculty How to avoid plagiarism Glossary of key terms, from Boolean search to peer review Checklists, timelines, and hints for successful research projects
ISBN: 9781400830411Publication Date: 2008-08-11
The Secrets of College Success by
If you're currently a college student, or plan on being one, you need to check out this book. Written by award-winning professors Lynn Jacobs and Jeremy Hyman, it's loaded with insider information that only professors know--but few are willing to reveal. The over 600 tips in this book will show you: How to pick good courses and avoid bad professors How to develop "college-level" skills and habits that'll put you ahead of the pack How to get through the freshman comp, math, language, and lab science requirements--in one try How to figure out what's going to be on the tests, and what professors are looking for in papers and presentations How to pick a major you'll really like--and be good at How to get the edge for graduate school--or the inside track to a really good job And much more. The tips are quick and easy-to-use, and the advice is friendly and supportive. It's as if you had your own personal professor guiding you on the path to college success.
ISBN: 9780470885628Publication Date: 2010-06-17
Study Skills for Dummies by
Students need to learn to manage their time, organise their studies, understand, learn, and convey a lot of information - and they need to learn to do it quickly. Whether you're fresh out of school, or a mature student returning to education, you now don't need to feel alone! With Study Skills For Dummies, you'll be given the know-how and confidence to achieve consistent results every time - and a lack of preparation will become a thing of the past. Discover how to excel at: Note-taking, speed-reading and essay-writing Improving your memory, critical thinking and analysis Using the internet to supplement study Exam skills and developing the best learning strategy to fit your specific needs and abilities
ISBN: 9780470748572Publication Date: 2009-06-22
Academic Writing by
Ideal for overseas students studying at English-medium colleges and universities, this practical writing course enables international students to meet the required standard of writing and use an appropriate style for essays, exams and dissertations. Newly revised and updated to include extra exercises and material suggested by teachers and students, Academic Writingexplains and demonstrates all the key writing skills and is ideal for use in the classroom or for independent study. Useful at every stage of an academic career and beyond, this indispensable book features: different styles and formats from CVs and letters to formal essays a focus on accuracy coverage of all stages of writing, from understanding titles to checking your work essential academic writing skills such as proper referencing, summarising and paraphrasing diagrams and practice exercises, complete with answers.
ISBN: 9780415384193Publication Date: 2006-04-28
Writing Skills Pocketbook by
This title describes a 3-phase approach to planning, preparing and polishing written communications for the modern business world.
ISBN: 9781906610456Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283