- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Health and Health Services
- Health and Health Services Library Resources
Health and Health Services
Announcements
LIBRARY LEARNING LECTURES
- The DeVry Library offers a series of Live Library Learning Lectures. These videos and tutorials to help you master a variety of library skills and knowledge. Click here to learn more.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
Recommended Websites
- AACP Medical Coding Links The American Academy of Professional Coders links, guides, and information related to coding,billing, audit and physician groups
- AHIMA Body of Knowledge The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) is the premier association of health information management (HIM) professionals. Users can access most Journal of AHIMA articles published since 1968, conference proceedings, white papers, and some government publications at this web site.
- American Hospital Directory The free search option for this directory of US hospital information includes data from the American Hospital Association's Annual Survey. Includes statistics and data on number and kind of beds, financial summaries, and inpatient and outpatient utilization statistics.
- Anatomy Atlases Anatomy Atlases is a digital library containing six different anatomy texts and other peer-reviewed texts.
- Bureau of Health Workforce BHW’s programs strengthen the health workforce and connect skilled professionals to communities in need. Our collaboration with key partners helps us make a positive and sustained impact on health care delivery in under-served communities
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention With over 41 million hits per month, the CDC provides users with reliable health information including data and statistics, diseases and conditions, emergencies and disasters, environmental health, healthy living; injury, violence and safety; workplace safety and more.
- Health and Health Services Search Engine This will search all of the websites listed below simultaneously or you may choose to select specific search site(s) to search.
- Health Information Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) The US Department of Health and Human Services Office for Civil Rights which enforces HIPAA, explains health information rights and responsibilities at this link.
- Mayo Clinic The website of the Mayo Clinic offers a wealth of easy-to-understand health and medical information. Mayo Clinic experts review website content for accuracy
- MedlinePlus MedlinePlus offers over 35,000 links to accurate and current medical information on the Internet that has been evaluated by the National Library of Medicine. It includes drug information, an illustrated medical dictionary, the latest health news, directories of doctors, dentists and hospitals, surgery videos, and interactive health tutorials.
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Online version of one of the most widely used medical texts in the world. Covers symptoms and treatments for an extremely broad range of diseases, disorders, and other medical conditions. Emphasis and tone is aimed at medical professionals, but students and others will find much of use here as well.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf The National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf of the National Library of Medicine provides free access to over 700 texts in life science and health care, authored and edited by medical professionals.
- National Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
- PDR Health The publishers of Physicians' Desk Reference information about prescription and non-prescription drugs, herbal medicines, and supplements; diseases and conditions, surgery, treatment options, and clinical trials.
- RXList RxList contains information on brand and generic drugs, herbs and supplements. It also has a pill identification tool, health information and a medical dictionary
- US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) The regulates the use of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation. This site contains a wealth of information.
Online Open Access Journals
eBooks
Complementary and Alternative Medicine by
This is the first comprehensive, multidisciplinary book to focus on the ethical challenges of complementary and alternative medicine. It examines the ethical challenges that CAM raises for patients and their physicians, and for patient-physician relationships. The book is written by a multidisciplinary team of CAM ethics and policy analysts, researchers and thought-leaders who present a forward-looking exploration of their subject.
Call Number: eBooks by EbscoISBN: 9781588295842Publication Date: 2007-02-23
Focused Operations Management for Health Services Organizations by
Focused Operations Management for Health Services Organizations offers managers and staff the practical knowledge and tools they need to accomplish much more within existing resources. This text identifies common bottlenecks and constraints and focuses on the critical issues and processes faced by managers in the health care field. The book provides tools to significantly improve organizational operations as well as enhance quality and customer satisfaction without increasing the use of physical, human, and financial resources.
Call Number: eBooks by EbscoISBN: 9780787984540Publication Date: 2006-06-05
Medicolegal Issues for Diagnostic Imaging Professionals, Fourth Edition by
The constant advances in diagnostic imaging have had an impact on the practice, attitudes, and moral values of all who participate in health care. Now in its fourth edition, the original Medicolegal Issues for Radiographershas been updated and retitled, broadening the scope of content to include issues essential to all diagnostic imaging professionals. Medicolegal Issues for Diagnostic Imaging Professionals, Fourth Editionprovides readers with a basic understanding of the important legal definitions, legal doctrines, malpractice and risk management information, ethics and patient rights relevant to the field of diagnostic imaging and the role of the imaging professional. It includes case histories in the form of vignettes that assist readers in applying the principles of law to real work situations. The vignettes can stimulate discussion, raise other related issues, and supply a broadened perspective on the various facets of the questions presented. New in this Edition: Expanded discussion on evidence More detail on the ramifications of the Civil Rights Act of 1991 Updated information on licensure, certification, and credentialing Entirely new discussions on: Morality, ethics, and the law Deontology Beneficence and nonmaleficence Right of autonomy Confidentiality Liability for disclosure of confidential information HIPPA ARRT Euthanasia Humanistic Health Care Teleradiology Twelve years since its initial publication, this medical legal text remains a bestseller. By reviewing the materials in this seminal volume, imaging professionals, radiologists, and radiologic technologists stay abreast of important legal issues and are better able to avoid the scourge of a malpractice suit.
Call Number: eBooks by EbscoISBN: 9781420086638Publication Date: 2008-09-09
The Official Guide for Foreign Educated Health Care Professionals by
This comprehensive book provides direction for foreign-educated allied healthcare professionals√n Given the complicated process of credentialing, certification, and visas, as well as the complex American healthcare system, this book proves to be a worthy resource." Score: 100, 5 stars --Doody's Written by well-known experts, the Guide provides the reader with the most up-to-date information on topics ranging from the U.S. health care delivery system to employment opportunities, from entry into the United States to entry into professional practice." --Barbara Sanders, PhD, PT, SCS Associate Dean, College of Health Professions, Texas State University This book is the definitive guide to health care practice in the United States, written for foreign-educated allied health professionals interested in immigrating to the United States, those already here, and those looking to complete their education in the U.S.A. The contributors provide a wealth of insight on how to address the challenges of being a foreign-educated health professional in the United States. Health professionals can learn what is expected of them, how to prepare for the journey to this country, and how to adapt to their new communities. Written at a readable level for non-native English speakers, the Guide presents a comprehensive description of the major allied health professions and a clear overview of U.S. standards of education and practice. Additionally, readers will gain an understanding of their basic rights and roles in the U.S. healthcare system. Key Topics Discussed: Allied health practice in the United States The process of entry into the United States The U.S. health care system Guidelines for entering the U.S. workforce Most importantly, this book will help foreign-educated health professionals learn how to avoid being misunderstood by others, form enduring relationships with American colleagues, and join them in working to improve the quality of health care in this country and worldwide."
Call Number: eBooks by EbscoISBN: 9780826110633Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Understanding the U. S. Health Services System by
This book provides a straightforward explanation of the complex health services system. It explains the basic concepts as well as current issues to clarify how the U.S. health services system is organized, managed, and financed. This edition addresses the many changes happening in the U.S. health care system and updates data and statistics so readers can understand and discuss the current issues. New in the fourth edition: # An update on the changes to Medicare coverage, including adding means testing on optional coverage for beneficiaries # A new discussion of the legislation the current administration would like to implement for universal healthcare coverage # A new focus on the quality-of-care debate and pay-for-performance incentives # New requirements for not-for-profit hospitals to report services provided in order to validate their tax status # An update on managed care and how universal coverage could change payment and delivery # Updated information on biomedical research and the debate on whether the United States will remain a leader in this effort # A new discussion of the effects of the current economic downturn on healthcare # An updated discussion on the status of the healthcare workforce and how nursing and possible physician shortages will affect our system # A discussion on health care expenditures and the estimated 47 million people who are currently uninsured # A master bibliography has been created and is now located at the back of the book # Updated glossary and acronym list
Call Number: eBooks by EbscoISBN: 9781567933383Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283