ABI/INFORM GlobalCovers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
Consumer Health CompleteCovers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine; also includes relevant drug monographs.
EBSCOhostProvides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions
Health Source: Consumer EditionOver 75 full-text consumer health magazines on medical science, general health, food science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, etc.
The Future of Health-Care Delivery by Stephen C. SchimpffApproximately 100,000 deaths per year in the United States result from preventable medical errors. This figure is about twice the number of people who die in car accidents and five times the number of murder victims annually, and twenty times the number of servicemen and women killed in Iraq and Afghanistan since the start of hostilities in 2001. If you think Americans have the best health-care system in the world, think again. In this deeply researched and controversial book, Dr. Stephen Schimpff explains why our health-care delivery system serves us so poorly, why it costs so much, and why government policy over many decades has not only failed to improve care delivery but has actually made it worse. In the process, he dispels common misconceptions about medicine and health care. The Future of Health-Care Delivery provides timely information and a road map to achieve world-class care delivery, putting health care where it belongs--in the hands of the patient and medical professionals instead of the insurance companies and government.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHost
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Gender Equity in Health by Gita Sen (Editor); Piroska Östlin (Editor)This volume brings together experts from a variety of disciplines, such as medicine, biology, sociology, epidemiology, anthropology, economics and political science, who focus on three areas: health disparities and inequity due to gender, the specific problems women face in meeting the highest attainable standards of health, and the policies and actions that can address them. Highlighting the importance of intersecting social hierarchies (e.g. gender, class and ethnicity) for understanding health inequities and their implications for health policy, contributors detail and recommend policy approaches and agendas that incorporate, but go beyond commonly acknowledged issues relating to women's health and gender equity in health.
Publication Date: 2009-10-13
Understanding the U. S. Health Services System by Phoebe Lindsey BartonThis book provides a straightforward explanation of the complex health services system. It explains the basic concepts as well as current issues to clarify how the U.S. health services system is organized, managed, and financed. This edition addresses the many changes happening in the U.S. health care system and updates data and statistics so readers can understand and discuss the current issues. New in the fourth edition: # An update on the changes to Medicare coverage, including adding means testing on optional coverage for beneficiaries # A new discussion of the legislation the current administration would like to implement for universal healthcare coverage # A new focus on the quality-of-care debate and pay-for-performance incentives # New requirements for not-for-profit hospitals to report services provided in order to validate their tax status # An update on managed care and how universal coverage could change payment and delivery # Updated information on biomedical research and the debate on whether the United States will remain a leader in this effort # A new discussion of the effects of the current economic downturn on healthcare # An updated discussion on the status of the healthcare workforce and how nursing and possible physician shortages will affect our system # A discussion on health care expenditures and the estimated 47 million people who are currently uninsured # A master bibliography has been created and is now located at the back of the book # Updated glossary and acronym list
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Credo ReferenceAn eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
RefWorksA comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
SkillPortProvides access to hundreds of self-paced online courses in business, desktop, and IT skills, as well as health, safety, and legal compliance.
Ask A Librarian
Click here for information about the Ask A Librarian Service
Knowledge Base search a series of commonly asked questions by topic keyword or course number