- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Biomedical Engineering
- Biomedical Engineering Resources
Biomedical Engineering
Resources for Lifelong Learning
Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Percipio This link opens in a new window Percipio delivers engaging content curated into nearly 700 learning channels. Choose from courses, videos, audiobooks, and learning paths on a variety of IT, engineering, and science topics, including certification prep
Keywords
Library of Congress Subject Headings:
Bioelectronics, Biomedical engineering, Biomedical engineering--Instruments, Biosensors, Biotechnology, Detectors--Computer simulation, LabVIEW, Medical electronics, Medical instruments and apparatus, Medical technology, Optical transducers, Physiological apparatus, Rehabilitation technology, Transducers--Computer simulation
National Library of Medicine Subject Headings:
Biomedical engineering--Instrumentation, Biomedical technology, Electronics, Medical--Instrumentation, Equipment and Supplies, Hospital, Equipment design, Monitoring, Physiological--Instrumentation, Patient care--Instrumentation, Prostheses and implants, Self-help devices, Sensory aids
eBooks
Compendium of Biomedical Instrumentation, 3 Volume Set by
An essential reference filled with 400 of today's current biomedical instruments and devices Designed mainly for the active bio-medical equipment technologists involved in hands-on functions like managing these technologies by way of their usage, operation & maintenance and those engaged in advancing measurement techniques through research and development, this book covers almost the entire range of instruments and devices used for diagnosis, imaging, analysis, and therapy in the medical field. Compiling 400 instruments in alphabetical order, it provides comprehensive information on each instrument in a lucid style. Each description in Compendium of Biomedical Instrumentation covers four aspects: purpose of the instrument; principle of operation, which covers physics, engineering, electronics, and data processing; brief specifications; and major applications. Devices listed range from the accelerometer, ballistocardiograph, microscopes, lasers, and electrocardiograph to gamma counter, hyperthermia system, microtome, positron emission tomography, uroflowmeter, and many more. Covers almost the entire range of medical instruments and devices which are generally available in hospitals, medical institutes at tertiary, secondary, and peripheral level facilities Presents broad areas of applications of medical instruments/technology, including specialized equipment for various medical specialties, fully illustrated with figures & photographs Contains exhaustive description on state of the art instruments and also includes some generation old legacy instruments which are still in use in some medical facilities. Compendium of Biomedical Instrumentation is a must-have resource for professionals and undergraduate and graduate students in biomedical engineering, as well as for clinical engineers and bio-medical equipment technicians.
ISBN: 9781119288121Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering by
Written by more than 400 subject experts representing diverse academic and applied domains, this multidisciplinary resource surveys the vanguard of biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials that lead to quality-of-life improvements. Building on traditional engineering principles, it serves to bridge advances in materials science, life sciences, nanotechnology, and cell biology to innovations in solving medical problems with applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices. In nearly 300 entries, this four-volume Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Second Edition covers: essential topics integral to tissue engineering research: bioreactors, scaffolding materials and fabrication, tissue mechanics, cellular interaction, and development of major tissues and organs being attempted by researchers worldwide artificial lungs and muscles, bio-artificial livers, and corneal, dental, inner ear, and total hip implants tissue engineering of blood vessels, heart valves, ligaments, microvascular networks, skeletal muscle, and skin bone remodeling, bone cement, and bioabsorbable bone plates and screws controlled drug delivery, insulin delivery, and transdermal and ocular implant-based drug delivery endovascular stent grafts, vascular grafts, and xenografts 3-D medical imaging, electrical impedance imaging, and intravascular ultrasound biomedical, protein adsorption, and in vivo cardiovascular modeling polymer foams, biofunctional and conductive polymers, and electroactive polymeric materials blood-material interactions, the bone-implant interface, host reactions, and foreign body responses and much more Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including:  Citation tracking and alerts  Active reference linking  Saved searches and marked lists  HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
ISBN: 9781420078022Publication Date: 2008-05-28
Internet of Things in Biomedical Engineering by
Internet of Things in Biomedical Engineering presents the most current research in Internet of Things (IoT) applications for clinical patient monitoring and treatment. The book takes a systems-level approach for both human-factors and the technical aspects of networking, databases and privacy. Sections delve into the latest advances and cutting-edge technologies, starting with an overview of the Internet of Things and biomedical engineering, as well as a focus on 'daily life.' Contributors from various experts then discuss 'computer assisted anthropology,' CLOUDFALL, and image guided surgery, as well as bio-informatics and data mining. This comprehensive coverage of the industry and technology is a perfect resource for students and researchers interested in the topic.
ISBN: 9780128173565Publication Date: 2019-06-15
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering by
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering is a comprehensive survey text for biomedical engineering courses. It is the most widely adopted text across the BME course spectrum, valued by instructors and students alike for its authority, clarity and encyclopedic coverage in a single volume. Biomedical engineers need to understand the wide range of topics that are covered in this text, including basic mathematical modeling; anatomy and physiology; electrical engineering, signal processing and instrumentation; biomechanics; biomaterials science and tissue engineering; and medical and engineering ethics. Enderle and Bronzino tackle these core topics at a level appropriate for senior undergraduate students and graduate students who are majoring in BME, or studying it as a combined course with a related engineering, biology or life science, or medical/pre-medical course. NEW: Each chapter in the 3rd Edition is revised and updated, with new chapters and materials on compartmental analysis, biochemical engineering, transport phenomena, physiological modeling and tissue engineering. Chapters on peripheral topics have been removed and made avaialblw online, including optics and computational cell biology NEW: many new worked examples within chapters NEW: more end of chapter exercises, homework problems NEW: image files from the text available in PowerPoint format for adopting instructors Readers benefit from the experience and expertise of two of the most internationally renowned BME educators Instructors benefit from a comprehensive teaching package including a fully worked solutions manual
ISBN: 9780123749796Publication Date: 2011-04-13
Principles of Biomedical Engineering, Second Edition by
This updated edition of an Artech House classic introduces readers to the importance of engineering in medicine. Bioelectrical phenomena, principles of mass and momentum transport to the analysis of physiological systems, the importance of mechanical analysis in biological tissues/ organs and biomaterial selection are discussed in detail. Readers learn about the concepts of using living cells in various therapeutics and diagnostics, compartmental modeling, and biomedical instrumentation. The book explores fluid mechanics, strength of materials, statics and dynamics, basic thermodynamics, electrical circuits, and material science. A significant number of numerical problems have been generated using data from recent literature and are given as examples as well as exercise problems. These problems provide an opportunity for comprehensive understanding of the basic concepts, cutting edge technologies and emerging challenges. Describing the role of engineering in medicine today, this comprehensive volume covers a wide range of the most important topics in this burgeoning field. Moreover, you find a thorough treatment of the concept of using living cells in various therapeutics and diagnostics. Structured as a complete text for students with some engineering background, the book also makes a valuable reference for professionals new to the bioengineering field. This authoritative textbook features numerous exercises and problems in each chapter to help ensure a solid understanding of the material.
ISBN: 9781630817114Publication Date: 2019-12-31
Recommended Websites
- Advanced Medical Technology Association AdvaMed advocates on a global basis for the highest ethical standards, timely patient access to safe and effective products, and economic policies that reward value creation. Click on the Research tab for AdvaMed research and recent studies.
- Amadeo: The Medical Literature Guide AMEDEO has been created to serve the needs of healthcare professionals, including physicians, nurses, pharmacists, administrators, other members of the health professions, and patients and their friends. They can easily access timely, relevant information within their respective fields. AMEDEO�s core components include weekly emails with bibliographic lists about new scientific publications, personal Web pages for one-time download of available abstracts (see example), and an overview of the medical literature published in relevant journals over the past 12 to 24 months.
- American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering A non-profit advocacy organization representing 50,000 individuals, providing advocacy and resources to communicate the value of medical and biological engineering.
- American Institute of Biological Sciences The American Institute of Biological Sciences is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) scientific association dedicated to advancing biological research and education for the welfare of society. The website provides limited access to articles from the journal Bioscience.
- BioMed Central BioMed Central publishes open access, online and peer-reviewed articles in the areas of biology, science, technology, and medicine.
- BIO BIO is the world's largest trade association representing biotechnology companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers, and related organizations across the United States and in more than 30 other nations.
- Health Industry Distributors Association The Health Industry Distributors Association (HIDA) is the trade association representing medical products distributors.
- IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) is the world’s largest international society of biomedical engineers. Follow the links on the page or use the search box to locate open-access articles.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. The website provides links to GenBank and other promising resources from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
- National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering The mission of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) is to improve health by leading the development and accelerating the application of biomedical technologies. The website provides news, event calendars, funding opportunities, and information about the Biomedical Technology Resource (P4) Centers network.
- National Nanotechnology Initiative National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI) serves as the central point of communication, cooperation, and collaboration for all Federal agencies engaged in nanotechnology research, bringing together the expertise needed to advance this broad and complex field.
- National Science Foundation The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..."
- PubMed A digital archive of life sciences journal literature developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. The database provides access to books, journals, biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.
- Society for Biological Engineering The Society for Biological Engineering (SBE), an AIChE Technological Community, is a global organization of leading engineers and scientists dedicated to advancing the integration of biology with engineering.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Recommended Professional Association Websites
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283