IEEE ExploreProvides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "My Subscribed Content" then click "Refresh Results". This will limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription
SkillSoft BooksProvides access to over 25,000 eBooks in the areas of engineering, business, finance, IT, government, and wellness
Computing DatabaseJournal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet"
This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
Foundations of Information Security by Jason AndressFoundations of Information Security provides readers with fundamental knowledge of information security in both theoretical and practical aspects. Each chapter explores one main security concept, lists scenarios in which the concept is applicable, and discusses the implementation of that concept in detail, often by going over rival models or strategies. Readers will come away with a sense of what types of assets need protecting, what kinds of risks exist, and what kinds of defensive measures can be taken.
Publication Date: 2019-10-07
Information Security Policies, Procedures, and Standards by Douglas J. LandollInformation Security Policies, Procedures, and Standards: A Practitioner's Referencegives you a blueprint on how to develop effective information security policies and procedures. It uses standards such as NIST 800-53, ISO 27001, and COBIT, and regulations such as HIPAA and PCI DSS as the foundation for the content. Highlighting key terminology, policy development concepts and methods, and suggested document structures, it includes examples, checklists, sample policies and procedures, guidelines, and a synopsis of the applicable standards. The author explains how and why procedures are developed and implemented rather than simply provide information and examples. This is an important distinction because no two organizations are exactly alike; therefore, no two sets of policies and procedures are going to be exactly alike. This approach provides the foundation and understanding you need to write effective policies, procedures, and standards clearly and concisely. Developing policies and procedures may seem to be an overwhelming task. However, by relying on the material presented in this book, adopting the policy development techniques, and examining the examples, the task will not seem so daunting. You can use the discussion material to help sell the concepts, which may be the most difficult aspect of the process. Once you have completed a policy or two, you will have the courage to take on even more tasks. Additionally, the skills you acquire will assist you in other areas of your professional and private life, such as expressing an idea clearly and concisely or creating a project plan.
Publication Date: 2016-05-05
The InfoSec Handbook by Umesh Hodeghatta Rao; Umesha NayakThe InfoSec Handbook offers the reader an organized layout of information that is easily read and understood. Allowing beginners to enter the field and understand the key concepts and ideas, while still keeping the experienced readers updated on topics and concepts. It is intended mainly for beginners to the field of information security, written in a way that makes it easy for them to understand the detailed content of the book. The book offers a practical and simple view of the security practices while still offering somewhat technical and detailed information relating to security. It helps the reader build a strong foundation of information, allowing them to move forward from the book with a larger knowledge base. Security is a constantly growing concern that everyone must deal with. Whether it's an average computer user or a highly skilled computer user, they are always confronted with different security risks. These risks range in danger and should always be dealt with accordingly. Unfortunately, not everyone is aware of the dangers or how to prevent them and this is where most of the issues arise in information technology (IT). When computer users do not take security into account many issues can arise from that like system compromises or loss of data and information. This is an obvious issue that is present with all computer users. This book is intended to educate the average and experienced user of what kinds of different security practices and standards exist. It will also cover how to manage security software and updates in order to be as protected as possible from all of the threats that they face. What you'll learn Essentials of information security in all forms Importance of information security in present day business Establishing an ISMS through a step by step process Best practices in implementation The various domains of information security Who this book is for Beginners to experts in information security. Table of Contents 1: Introduction to Security 2: History of Computer Security 3: Key Concepts and Principles 4: Access Controls 5: Information Systems Management 6:Application and Web Security 7: Malicious Software and Anti-Virus Software 8: Cryptography 9: Understanding Networks 10: Firewalls 11: Intrusion Detection and Prevention Systems 12: Virtual Private Networks 13: Data Backups & Cloud Computing 14: Physical Security and Biometrics 15: Social Engineering 16. Current Trends in Information Security 17. Bibliography
Publication Date: 2014-09-02
Practical Information Security Management by Tony CampbellCreate appropriate, security-focused business propositions that consider the balance between cost, risk, and usability, while starting your journey to become an information security manager. Covering a wealth of information that explains exactly how the industry works today, this book focuses on how you can set up an effective information security practice, hire the right people, and strike the best balance between security controls, costs, and risks. Practical Information Security Management provides a wealth of practical advice for anyone responsible for information security management in the workplace, focusing on the 'how' rather than the 'what'. Together we'll cut through the policies, regulations, and standards to expose the real inner workings of what makes a security management program effective, covering the full gamut of subject matter pertaining to security management: organizational structures, security architectures, technical controls, governance frameworks, and operational security. This book was not written to help you pass your CISSP, CISM, or CISMP or become a PCI-DSS auditor. It won't help you build an ISO 27001 or COBIT-compliant security management system, and it won't help you become an ethical hacker or digital forensics investigator - there are many excellent books on the market that cover these subjects in detail. Instead, this is a practical book that offers years of real-world experience in helping you focus on the getting the job done. What You Will Learn Learn the practical aspects of being an effective information security manager Strike the right balance between cost and risk Take security policies and standards and make them work in reality Leverage complex security functions, such as Digital Forensics, Incident Response and Security Architecture Who This Book Is For
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
Credo ReferenceAn eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
RefWorksA comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
SkillPortProvides access to hundreds of self-paced online courses in business, desktop, and IT skills, as well as health, safety, and legal compliance.
Ask A Librarian
Click here for information about the Ask A Librarian Service
Knowledge Base search a series of commonly asked questions by topic keyword or course number