- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- LTRE422
- Library Resources
LTRE422
Film and Literature- This course introduces contemporary narrative literature and film/video. The course stresses the narrative techniques of both media and also highlights differences between them.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window Over 450,000 full-text biographies accessible by name, occupation, nationality, or genre
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Literary Reference Center PLUS This link opens in a new window Combines information from over 1,200 reference works, 200 literary journals, study guides and videos.
Recommended Websites
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Film Genre 2000 by
New essays by prominent film scholars address recent developments in American genre filmmaking.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780791445136Publication Date: 2000-02-24
Film Production Theory by
Integrates contemporary film theory into the teaching of film production, presenting alternatives to the standard Hollywood model of filmmaking.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780791445259Publication Date: 2000-03-31
Film Quarterly - Forty Years - A Selection by
During its forty years as a forum for scholars, filmmakers, critics, and film lovers, Film Quarterly has looked in depth at the most critical elements in the political, social, theoretical, and aesthetic history of the cinema. Once closely tied to Hollywood, the journal was investigated by the Tenney committee in 1946 and two of its board members came under fire from the House Un-American Activities Committee in 1951. After several metamorphoses, however, and with the dedicated participation of its editors, board members, and authors, the journal now stands as the oldest and most prominent journal in cinema studies, publishing film (and video and television) history, criticism, theory, analysis, interviews, and film and book reviews. Spanning the 1950s to the 1990s, Film Quarterly: Forty Years--A Selection is a collaborative effort by the past and present editors and the editorial board to celebrate and illuminate the medium that has prompted so much thought and exchange during the journal's lifetime. From articles on documentary and genre to history and technology, narrative and the avant-garde, this carefully selected collection proposes groundbreaking theoretical models, fresh approaches to individual film classics, reassessments of filmmakers' bodies of work, and discussions of new films and technologies.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780520216037Publication Date: 1999-05-18
The Hutchinson Encyclopedia of LiteratureCall Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781423711353Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Literature and Film in the Historical Dimension by
Introduction: Storytelling as a Cognitive Instrument, by John D. Simons Rewriting the Risorgimento in Sicily: Vincenzo Consolo's Il Sorriso Dell'ignoto Marinaio, by T. O'Neill From Printed Page to Screen: "The Voyage of Charles Darwin," by Julie S. Gibert South Africa from Text to Film: Cry Freedom and A Dry White Season, by Victoria Carchidi Film as Historical Text: Danton, by Elaine McAllister The Reigns of Power: Foucault, Feminism, and Dangerous Liaisons, by Majda K. Anderson The Subject in/of History: Hiroshima Mon Amour, by Nancy Lane Lacan and Postmodernism in Brautigan's Dreaming of Babylon, by Mark Hedborn Dialectics of Transvaluation in Edith Wharton's The House of Mirth, by Rita Di Giuseppe The Yellow River Turning Blue, The Yellow River Turning Red: He Shang and the "Cultural Craze" Movement, by Balance T.P. Chow Ishmael Reed's Postmodern Revolt, by Erik D. Curren Adaptation, History, and Textual Suppression: Literary Sources of Hitchcock's Sabotage, by Thomas Hemmeter What Movie Are We Watching Here? Cinematic Quotation in Recent Hollywood Films, by Linda Anderson The Cinematic Adaptation: The Case of Los Santos Inocentes, by Patricia Santoro John D. Simons is professor of German, Florida State University.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780813012858Publication Date: 1994-01-20
Philosophy of Film and Motion Pictures by
Designed for classroom use, this authoritative anthology presents key selections from the best contemporary work in philosophy of film. The featured essays have been specially chosen for their clarity, philosophical depth, and consonance with the current move towards cognitive film theory Eight sections with introductions cover topics such as the nature of film, film as art, documentary cinema, narration and emotion in film, film criticism, and film's relation to knowledge and morality Issues addressed include the objectivity of documentary films, fear of movie monsters, and moral questions surrounding the viewing of pornography Replete with examples and discussion of moving pictures throughout
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781405120265Publication Date: 2005-08-26
Twentieth-Century American Fiction on Screen by
The essays in this collection analyse major film adaptations of twentieth-century American fiction, from F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Last Tycoon to Toni Morrison's Beloved. During the century, films based on American literature came to play a central role in the history of the American cinema. Combining cinematic and literary approaches, this volume explores the adaptation process from conception through production and reception. The contributors explore the ways political and historical contexts have shaped the transfer from book to screen, and the new perspectives that films bring to literary works. In particular, they examine how the twentieth-century literary modes of realism, modernism, and postmodernism have influenced the forms of modern cinema. Written in a lively and accessible style, the book includes production stills and full filmographies. Together with its companion volume on nineteenth-century fiction, the volume offers a comprehensive account of the rich tradition of American literature on screen.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780521834445Publication Date: 2007-02-22
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283