- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- MGMT530
- MGMT530 Library Resources
MGMT530
Managerial Decision Making- This course utilizes a multifaceted content approach to learning. This means that your text is but one of the essential resources in this course.
Brainshark Tutorial
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
Recommended Websites
- Decision Making and Problem SolvingIntroduction to decision making theory.
- The Decision Sciences InstituteA professional organization of academicians and practitioners interested in the application of quantitative and behavioral methods to the problems of society.
- How Good is Your Decision Making?Simple assessment to gauge decision-making skill.
- How to Make the Right ChoiceHigh-level article introducing decision-making concepts.
- InfoHarvestThis page contains links to websites and pages related to decision analysis and decision making.
- Palisade Decision ToolsSoftware and tutorials for risk and decision analysis.
- Risk Taking TestAssessment to determine risk attitude.
- Why Smart People Make Dumb DecisionsSimple assessment to illustrate typical decision-making errors.
- Your Preferred Decision Making StyleAn assessment to help determine decision-making styles.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Being a Leader and Making Decisions by
Most communities and organizations require an organizer to be successful and create change. ""Being a Leader and Making Decisions"" tells the stories of great leaders - why they led, how they gained support and became leaders, and why people followed them. Through historical and modern examples, readers will learn about both positive and negative traits of leaders and find suggestions about how to take the lead in their own lives and communities. History and current events topics covered include: leadership stories involving Mother Teresa, Gandhi, Alexander the Great, Joan of Arc, Queen Elizabeth I, Maria Montessori, Abraham Lincoln, and King Jigme Singye Wangchuk, who became king of Bhutan at the age of 16; stories of difficult decisions made by Louis Pasteur, Dr. Seuss, and Ludwig van Beethoven; and, profiles in successful and unsuccessful corporate leadership, including tales from Google and Enron.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781604131253Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Bursting the Big Data Bubble by
As we get caught up in the quagmire of Big Data and analytics, it remains critically important to be able to reflect and apply insights, experience, and intuition to your decision-making process. In fact, a recent research study at Tel Aviv University found that executives who relied on their intuition were 90 percent accurate in their decisions. Bursting the Big Data Bubble: The Case for Intuition-Based Decision Making focuses on this intuition-based decision making. The book does not discount data-based decision making, especially for decisions that are important and complex. Instead, it emphasizes the importance of applying intuition, gut feel, spirituality, experiential learning, and insight as key factors in the executive decision-making process. Explaining how intuition is a product of past experience, learning, and ambient factors, the text outlines methods that will help to enhance your data-driven decision-making process with intuition-based decision making. The first part of the book, the "Research Track", presents contributions from leading researchers worldwide on the topic of intuition-based decision making as applied to management. In the second part of the book, the "Practice Track," global executives and senior managers in industry, government, universities, and not-for-profits present vignettes that illustrate how they have used their intuition in making key decisions. The research part of the book helps to frame the problem and address leading research in intuition-based decision making. The second part then explains how to apply these intuition-based concepts and issues in your own decision-making process.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781482228854Publication Date: 2014-07-25
Decision-Making, Personhood and Dementia by
Dementia is a devastating disorder which may dramatically interfere with decision-making abilities. Effort has focused on trying to determine when a person is no longer capable of making particular decisions or is globally incompetent. However, much less focus has been placed on understanding how the capacity to make decisions influences one's view of oneself, one's world and one's treatment by others. This book aims to broaden discussion around this issue by moving beyond a focus on notions of capability and competence to explore the importance of personhood and the underlying complexities of decision-making for those with dementia. Based on papers from the Centre for Research on Personhood in Dementia (CRPD) workshop, experts in dementia care, law, ethics and philosophy discuss the interface between dementia, personhood and decision-making. Drawing on a wide range of interdisciplinary and international perspectives, the book forges new understandings of relationships between everyday, informal decision-making and more formal biomedical or legal processes for assessing competence. This collection of papers provides an in-depth understanding of decision-making in relation to dementia for researchers, healthcare practitioners, service providers, legal professionals and anyone with an interest in personhood in dementia care.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781843105855Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Decision Making and Problem Solving Strategies by
Managers and leaders of all levels need to ensure that the best decisions are taken, problems are solved in the optimum way, and the creative ideas and innovations so necessary for tomorrow's business flow freely.Decision Making and Problem Solving Strategies will help you to master the processes of practical thinking which lie behind effective decision making, problem solving and creative thinking. Using checklists, exercises and case studies it explains key concepts such as: how the mind works, the principles of effective thinking, how to develop a framework for decision making, how to use a simple model for making decisions and solving problems, how to sharpen up creative thinking skills and how to develop their thinking skills in the future.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780749455514Publication Date: 2010-02-01
The Decision Model by
In the current fast-paced and constantly changing business environment, it is more important than ever for organizations to be agile, monitor business performance, and meet with increasingly stringent compliance requirements. Written by pioneering consultants and bestselling authors with track records of international success, The Decision Model: A Business Logic Framework Linking Business and Technology provides a platform for rethinking how to view, design, execute, and govern business logic. The book explains how to implement the Decision Model, a stable, rigorous model of core business logic that informs current and emerging technology. The authors supply a strong theoretical foundation, while succinctly defining the path needed to incorporate agile and iterative techniques for developing a model that will be the cornerstone for continual growth. Because the book introduces a new model with tentacles in many disciplines, it is divided into three sections: Section 1: A Complete overview of the Decision Model and its place in the business and technology world Section 2: A Detailed treatment of the foundation of the Decision Model and a formal definition of the Model Section 3: Specialized topics of interest on the Decision Model, including both business and technical issues The Decision Model provides a framework for organizing business rules into well-formed decision-based structures that are predictable, stable, maintainable, and normalized. More than this, the Decision Model directly correlates business logic to the business drivers behind it, allowing it to be used as a lever for meeting changing business objectives and marketplace demands. This book not only defines the Decision Model and but also demonstrates how it can be used to organize decision structures for maximum stability, agility, and technology independence and provide input into automation design.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781420082821Publication Date: 2009-10-27
Entrepreneurial Strategic Decision-Making by
Strategic choices made by entrepreneurs have major consequences for SME performance. This book explores the factors that influence entrepreneurial strategic decisions using a cognitive theoretical framework.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781847209030Publication Date: 2008-09-30
The Frontiers of Management by
In these 35 essays, classic management thinker and teacher Peter Drucker offers urgently needed lessons on how business leaders today can understand the context of their own daily decisions - and make the wisest possible choices for the future.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781422131572Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Naturalistic Decision Making and Macrocognition by
This book presents the latest work in the area of naturalistic decision making (NDM) and its extension into the area of macrocognition. It contains 18 chapters relating research centered on the study of expertise in naturalistic settings, written by international experts in NDM and cognitive systems engineering. The objective of the book is to present the reader with exciting new developments in this field of research, which is characterized by its application-oriented focus. The work addresses only real-world problems and issues. For instance, how do multi-national teams collaborate effectively? How can surgeons best be supported by technology? How do detectives make sense of complex criminal cases? In all instances the studies have been carried out on experts within their respective domains. The traditional field of NDM is extended in this work by focusing on macrocognitive functions other than decision making, namely sense-making, coordination and planning. This has broadened the scope of the field. The book also contains a theoretical discussion of the macro-micro distinction. Naturalistic Decision Making and Macrocognition will be relevant to graduate students, researchers and professionals (including professionals and researchers in business, industry and government) who are interested in decision making, expertise, training methods and system design. The material may be used in two ways: theoretically, to advance understanding of the field of naturalistic decision making; and practically, to gain insight into how experts in various domains solve particular problems, understand and deal with issues and collaborate with others.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780754670209Publication Date: 2008-07-28
Successful Acquisitions by
Every company faces the inevitable challenge: stagnate or grow. One of the fastest ways for small- and mid-size companies to expand is through acquisition. Purchasing another company can seem daunting—but when done right, it can deliver outstanding rewards. Successful Acquisitionssupplies the key information that business leaders need to know about finding and buying companies. Written by an M&A expert with more than $1 billion in transactions under his belt, the book’s practical and comprehensive approach integrates all the moving pieces into a logical step-by-step process that covers: • The art and science of researching companies • Building and balancing an acquisition team • Valuation tips that look beyond the obvious • The importance of “the seller’s equation” • Developing a negotiation platform • How to be tough and still protect the buyer-seller relationship • Guidelines for structuring an airtight deal • The letter of intent, due diligence, purchase agreement, funding, and other essentials • Bringing the deal to a timely close • A 100-day plan for making integration a success It’s all here. From building the foundation to growing the relationships to cementing the deal, Successful Acquisitions is a complete roadmap to buying companies and achieving proactive strategic growth.
ISBN: 9780814432655Publication Date: 2013-04-10
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283