- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- CEIS100
- Library Resources
CEIS100
Introduction to Engineering Technology and Information Sciences- This course introduces basics of networking, programming logic, and electrical engineering concepts.
Video Tutorial
Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new window Journal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window "ProQuest Telecommunications™ is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology."
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Complete Electronics Self-Teaching Guide with Projects by
An all-in-one resource on everything electronics-related! For almost 30 years, this book has been a classic text for electronics enthusiasts. Now completely updated for today′s technology, this latest version combines concepts, self-tests, and hands-on projects to offer you a completely repackaged and revised resource. This unique self-teaching guide features easy-to-understand explanations that are presented in a user-friendly format to help you learn the essentials you need to work with electronic circuits. All you need is a general understanding of electronics concepts such as Ohm′s law and current flow, and an acquaintance with first-year algebra. The question-and-answer format, illustrative experiments, and self-tests at the end of each chapter make it easy for you to learn at your own speed. Boasts a companion website that includes more than twenty full-color, step-by-step projects Shares hands-on practice opportunities and conceptual background information to enhance your learning process Targets electronics enthusiasts who already have a basic knowledge of electronics but are interested in learning more about this fascinating topic on their own Features projects that work with the multimeter, breadboard, function generator, oscilloscope, bandpass filter, transistor amplifier, oscillator, rectifier, and more You′re sure to get a charge out of the vast coverage included in Complete Electronics Self-Teaching Guide with Projects!
Call Number: SkillSoft BooksISBN: 9781118217320Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Learn Raspberry Pi Programming with Python by
Learn Raspberry Pi Programming with Python will show you how to program your nifty new $35 computer to make a web spider, a weather station, a media server, and more. You'll learn how to program in Python on your Raspberry Pi with hands-on examples and fun projects. Even if you're completely new to programming in general, you'll figure out how to create a home security system, an underwater photography system, an RC plane with a camera, and even a near-space weather balloon with a camera. You'll learn how to make a variety of fun and even useful projects, from a web bot to search and download files to a toy to drive your pets insane. You'll even learn how to use Pi with Arduino as well as Pi with Gertboard, an expansion board with an onboard ATmega microcontroller. What you'll learn Raspberry Pi and electronics basics Quick intro to Linux Python basics to get you started on a set of projects How to make a variety of Pi and Python projects, including servers and gadgets with cameras How to use Pi with Arduino and Gertboard Who this book is for Readers who want to learn Python on a fun platform like the Pi and pick up some electronics skills along the way. No programming or Linux skill required, but a little experience with Linux will be helpful. Table of Contents 1. Introducing the Raspberry Pi 2. Linux by the Seat of Your Pants 3. Introducing Python 4. Electronics at 100mph 5. The WebBot 6. The Weather Station 7. The Media Server 8. The Home Security System 9. The Cat Toy 10. The Radio-controlled Airplane 11. The Weather Balloon 12. The Submersible 13. The Gertboard 14. The Raspberry Pi and the Arduino
Call Number: SkillSoft BooksISBN: 9781430264248Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Learn to Code by Solving Problems by
Learn to Code by Solving Problems is a practical introduction to programming using Python. It uses coding-competition challenges to teach you the mechanics of coding and how to think like a savvy programmer. Computers are capable of solving almost any problem when given the right instructions. That's where programming comes in. This beginner's book will have you writing Python programs right away. You'll solve interesting problems drawn from real coding competitions and build your programming skills as you go. Every chapter presents problems from coding challenge websites, where online judges test your solutions and provide targeted feedback. As you practice using core Python features, functions, and techniques, you'll develop a clear understanding of data structures, algorithms, and other programming basics. Bonus exercises invite you to explore new concepts on your own, and multiple-choice questions encourage you to think about how each piece of code works. You'll learn how to- . Run Python code, work with strings, and use variables . Write programs that make decisions . Make code more efficient with while and for loops . Use Python sets, lists, and dictionaries to organize, sort, and search data . Design programs using functions and top-down design . Create complete-search algorithms and use Big O notation to design more efficient code By the end of the book, you'll not only be proficient in Python, but you'll also understand how to think through problems and tackle them with code. Programming languages come and go, but this book gives you the lasting foundation you need to start thinking like a programmer.
ISBN: 9781718501324Publication Date: 2021-06-21
Raspberry Pi for Dummies by
Get your slice of Raspberry Pi With the invention of the unique credit card-sized single-board computer comes a new wave of hardware geeks, hackers, and hobbyists who are excited about the possibilities with the Raspberry Pi'and this is the perfect guide to get you started. With this down-to-earth book, you'll quickly discover why the Raspberry Pi is in high demand! There's a reason the Raspberry Pi sold a million units in its first year, and you're about to find out why! In Raspberry Pi For Dummies, 3rd Edition veteran tech authors Sean McManus and Mike Cook make it easier than ever to get you up and running on your Raspberry Pi, from setting it up, downloading the operating system, and using the desktop environment to editing photos, playing music and videos, and programming with Scratch'and everything in between. Covers connecting the Pi to other devices such as a keyboard, mouse, monitor, and more Teaches you basic Linux System Admin Explores creating simple hardware projects Shows you how to create web pages Raspberry Pi For Dummies, 3rd Edition makes computing as easy as pie!
Call Number: SkillSoft BooksISBN: 9781119412007Publication Date: 2017-09-12
Think Like a Programmer by
Rewire your brain! Examples in this book are written in C++, but will improve your ability to think like a programmer in any language. The real challenge of programming isn't learning a language's syntax—it's learning to creatively solve problems so you can build something great. In this one-of-a-kind text, author V. Anton Spraul breaks down the ways that programmers solve problems and teaches you what other introductory books often ignore: how to Think Like a Programmer. Each chapter tackles a single programming concept, like classes, pointers, and recursion, and open-ended exercises throughout challenge you to apply your knowledge. You'll also learn how to: Split problems into discrete components to make them easier to solve Make the most of code reuse with functions, classes, and libraries Pick the perfect data structure for a particular job Master more advanced programming tools like recursion and dynamic memory Organize your thoughts and develop strategies to tackle particular types of problems Although the book's examples are written in C++, the creative problem-solving concepts they illustrate go beyond any particular language; in fact, they often reach outside the realm of computer science. As the most skillful programmers know, writing great code is a creative art—and the first step in creating your masterpiece is learning to Think Like a Programmer.
Call Number: SkillSoft BooksISBN: 9781593274245Publication Date: 2012-08-11
Windows 10 for the Internet of Things by
Manage and control Internet-connected devices from Windows and Raspberry Pi. Master the Windows 10 IoT Core application programming interface and feature set to develop Internet of Things applications on the Raspberry Pi using your Windows and .NET programming skills. New in this edition is coverage of enterprise-level tools and features in the Windows 10 IoT Enterprise server operating system, allowing you to manage IoT solutions having large numbers of devices and to deploy applications to enterprise-grade hardware. Windows 10 for the Internet of Things presents a set of example projects covering a wide range of techniques designed specifically to jump start your own Internet of Things creativity. You'll learn everything you need to know about Windows IoT Core to develop Windows and IoT applications that run on single board computers such as the Raspberry Pi. You'll learn to develop for the Raspberry PI using native Windows and all the related programming skills that you have built up from developing desktop and mobile applications. This book provides just the help you need to get started in putting your Windows skills to use in a burgeoning new world of development for small devices that are ubiquitously connected to the Internet. What You Will Learn Know Windows 10 on the Raspberry Pi Read sensor data and control actuators Connect to and transmit data into the cloud Remotely control your devices from any Windows device Develop IOT applications under Windows using C#, C++, and Visual Basic Store your IOT data in a database for later analysis Who This Book Is For Developers and enthusiasts wanting to take their skills in Windows development and connect everyday devices to the Internet by developing for Windows 10 IoT Core. Readers learn to develop in C#, C++, and Visual Basic using Visual Studio, for deployment on devices such as the Raspberry Pi.
Call Number: SkillSoft BooksISBN: 9781484266083Publication Date: 2021-03-17
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283