- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Small Business Administration and Entrepreneurship
- SBA and Entrepreneurship Resources
Small Business Administration and Entrepreneurship
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Plans Handbook This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in North America. Includes a business plan template, two fictional business plans, a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Access to more than 850 full-text newspapers, and over 850,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window More than 75 regional publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
Recommended Websites
- Census.gov Provides census information such as social, economic, housing characteristics, and demographic estimates by community.
- BizNar BizNar, a federated search engine, scans all kinds of resources, including periodicals such as Advertising Age, government resources such as USA.gov and the Bureau of Labor Statistics, news sources Businessweek and the Wall Street Journal, and social networks like LinkedIn and Wordpress.
- Custom Google Search for Entrepreneurship/Small Business This search engine will search all of the sites listed here simultaneously—or you may choose to select specific site(s) to explore as needed.
- ENTERWeb: The Enterprise Development Website An annotated list of resources on a range of enterprise development topics for enterprise development practitioners, policy makers, academics, students and small business owners.
- Foundation Center Provides assistance to non-profit organizations in locating funds from a variety of foundations, government agencies and philanthropists.
- Securities and Exchange Commission Information for Small Business A guide to help the small business entrepreneur understand the venture capital acquisition process and how to comply with federal securities laws.
- Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship Reports on matters related to the Small Business Administration (SBA), and problems of American small business enterprises.
- Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE) Gives small business owners guidance in establishing and maintaining successful enterprises. The website provides locations of local chapters; links to calculators, free software, business plans, trade shows, and other business resources; news and articles; and free, confidential counseling by email. Counselors representing hundreds of areas of expertise are available to assist in locating investors, setting goals, and other matters.
- Venture Capital Journal from Thomson Reuters Provides news, data, analysis and interpretation of trends in the private equity markets.
- VFinance Inc. A comprehensive directory of U.S. venture capital firms.
eBooks
These are a sampling of Books and eBooks available from the library.
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Mastering the Inner World of Business by
This practical book takes the entrepreneur past the business plan and into the toughest business game they'll ever faceOCoself-management for daily and long-term success.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhostISBN: 9780313380037Publication Date: 2010-07-01
You Can Do It Too by
Starting up your own business is one of the most exciting and fulfilling things you can do - and it can make you extremely rich. But how do you get it right? You Can Do It Too which brings together the collective wisdom of successful entrepreneurs in the form of 20 essential things you must do when starting up a business such as: choose the right name, get a mentor, protect your idea and build a great team. Each lesson in this valuable blueprint is illustrated by a real entrepreneurial story which looks at why it is important and how you can incorporate it into your own business venture. You Can Do It Too is your first step to starting your own successful business. It is an inspirational masterclass for all budding entrepreneurs.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhostISBN: 0749461845Publication Date: 2010-04-03
My Big Idea by
So what constitutes a good business idea? How do you look for one? And when you find one, how do you know if it's good enough to turn into a successful business? My Big Idea tells the stories of 30 successful entrepreneurs and how they got the winning ideas for their successful businesses. Intriguing and encouraging, this insightful collection shows you that inspiration for that winning business idea is all around you. You just have to look carefully and spot it before someone else does. So what are you waiting for? Read My Big Idea and get ready for inspiration to strike.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhostISBN: 0749461853Publication Date: 2010-04-03
The Entrepreneurial Group by
Recent surveys show that more than half of American entrepreneurs share ownership in their business startups rather than going it alone. Yet the media and many scholars continue to perpetuate the myth of the lone visionary who single-handedly revolutionizes the marketplace. In The Entrepreneurial Group, Martin Ruef shatters this myth, demonstrating that teams, not individuals, are the leading force behind entrepreneurial startups. This is the first book to provide an in-depth sociological analysis of entrepreneurial groups, and to put forward a theoretical framework for understanding activities and outcomes within them.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhostISBN: 1400835208Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Be Your Own Lobbyist by Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhostISBN: 0313381569Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Getting Started with Crowdfund Investing in a Day for Dummies by
Getting Started with Crowdund Investing In a Day For Dummies shows small business owners what they can do now to prepare for crowdfund investing since the signing of the 2012 JOBS Act into law. It includes an overview of how crowdfunding came about; the steps you can take to get ready for CFI once it is available, and ways you can make your company or business project attractive to investors. - The origins of the JOBS Act - Working within the legal standards and processes for the business and investor side of crowdfunding - Requirements for investors, internet-intermediaries, and small businesses - Shopping for the best crowdfund investing platform This e-book also links to an online component at Dummies.com that extends the topic into step-by-step tutorials and other "beyond the book" content including: advice and articles on how to find a startup worth funding; information on the future of crowdfunding; pros and cons of CrowdFunding; an exclusive "Part of Tens" chapter; and more.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhostISBN: 9781118502297Publication Date: 2012-10-22
Project Management for Small Business by
Project management can help companies become more efficient and profitable. But classic project management models often prove too cumbersome for smaller businesses with limited staff resources, tight budgets, and next to no time to devote to learning complex methodologies. These smaller enterprises need the core principles and techniques of project management in a streamlined package. Project Management for Small Businessoffers simple, repeatable practices for planning, executing, and controlling projects in smaller environments in which one team member may wear multiple hats. Readers will learn how to: • Define project requirements and scope • Create a project schedule based on resource availability • Estimate, budget, and control project costs • Identify and minimize project risks • Manage workflow • Communicate effectively • Control project change • And more. Grounded in real-world experience, this practical guide skips the complicated theory and goes straight to the heart of what it really takes to make a project a success.
Call Number: Safari Books OnlineISBN: 9780814417676Publication Date: 2011-11-07
eJournals
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283