- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HIST405
- HIST405 Resources
HIST405
United States History- This course examines American history from the formation of the 13 original colonies to the present. Coursework addresses the struggle to define American citizenship and government, development of the nation and a national economy,
Brainshark Tutorial
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides coverage of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, and databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and more.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Access to more than 850 full-text newspapers, and over 850,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
Recommended Websites
- American Memory The Library of Congress has assembled a massive collection of online resources from their physical library of historical documents, history, testimonials from real people, etc. It's organized by subject and has everything from George Washington's Papers to books about folk music to collections of photographs through time.
- Today in History The American Memory project's webpage devoted to important events in history. Each day it is refreshed to show the important events of each day and will include links to more information on those events. You can also browse by date. A fun website with a lot of information. Try visiting on your birthday!
- US History.org This website is run and created by the Independence Hall association. It has a wealth of information on different eras and subjects within US History, many subwebsites and even some free online textbooks. Scrolling down to the bottom of the homepage under "Our Congress of Websites" includes many links to other resources and places. Very useful whether you are looking for just some quick information or for more in-depth work.
- US History and Historical Documents The United States Government website has here a timeline of important events in US history and, more importantly, links to famous Historical Documents and speeches.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library that may be helpful to United States History students. They cover all subjects in our History from Colonial times, the Civil War, the Constiution. Clicking on the title should bring you to their page, there should then be a link to read the full text of the book.
The American Civil War by
Bringing together a wide variety of both well-known and more obscure writing from and about the Civil War, along with supplementary appendices to facilitate use in courses, this is an excellent guide to a major event in American history. The American Civil War includes: short fiction and poetry; public addresses; diary entries; song lyrics; essays from authors such as Walt Whitman, Ambrose Bierce, Stephen Crane, and Louisa May Alcott; and, writings from well-known figures such as Abraham Lincoln, Frederick Douglass, Jefferson Davis, and Ulysses S. Grant. Not only including those directly involved in the war, but also those writing about the war afterward, to include the perspective of historical memory, this collection makes the perfect addition to any course on the Civil War or history and popular memory.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780415977449Publication Date: 2006-05-19
American Constitutionalism Heard Round the World, 1776-1989 by
Winner of the 2010 Book Award from the New England Historical Association American constitutionalism represents this country's greatest gift to human freedom, yet its story remains largely untold. For over two hundred years, its ideals, ideas, and institutions influenced different peoples in different lands at different times. American constitutionalism and the revolutionary republican documents on which it is based affected countless countries by helping them develop their own constitutional democracies. Western constitutionalism--of which America was a part along with Britain and France--reached a major turning point in global history in 1989, when the forces of democracy exceeded the forces of autocracy for the first time. Historian George Athan Billias traces the spread of American constitutionalism--from Europe, Latin America, and the Caribbean region, to Asia and Africa--beginning chronologically with the American Revolution and the fateful "shot heard round the world" and ending with the conclusion of the Cold War in 1989. The American model contributed significantly by spearheading the drive to greater democracy throughout the Western world, and Billias's landmark study tells a story that will change the way readers view the important role American constitutionalism played during this era.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780814791073Publication Date: 2009-08-01
The Constitutionalism of American States by
This comparative study of American state constitutions offers insightful overviews of the general and specific problems that have confronted America s constitution writers since the founding. Each chapter reflects the constitutional history and theory of a single state, encompassing each document s structure, content, and evolution. The text is grounded in the model presented by constitutional scholar Donald S. Lutz in "The Origins of American Constitutionalism" so that even when a state has a relatively stable constitutional history, Lutz s framework can be used to measure the evolving meaning of the document. With contributors drawn from state governments as well as academia, this is the first work to offer a framework by which state constitutions can be analyzed in relation to one another and to the federal Constitution. The volume begins with chapters on the New England, Mid-Atlantic, Border, and Southern states. While regional similarities within and between the New England and Mid-Atlantic states are noteworthy, the colonial aspect of their history laid the foundation for national constitution-making. And while North and South moved in distinct directions, the Border states wrestled with conflicting constitutional traditions in the same way that they wrestled with their place in the Union. Southern states that seceded are shown to have had a common set of problems in their constitutions, and the post Civil War South emerged from that conflict with a constitutionalism that was defined for it by the war s victors. These chapters reveal that constitutional self-definition, while not evident in all of the former Confederate states, has redeveloped in the South in the intervening 140 years. Sections devoted to the Midwest, the Plains, the Mountain West, the Southwest, and the West reflect the special circumstances of states that arose from American expansion. Chapters describe how states of the Midwest, united by common roots in the Northwest Ordinance, wrote constitutions that were defined by that act s parameters while reflecting the unique cultural and political realities of each state. Meanwhile, the Plains states developed a constitutionalism that was historically rooted in progressivism and populism, sometimes in the clash between these two ideologies. Perhaps more than any other region, the Mountain West was defined by the physical landscape, and these chapters relate how those states were able to define their individual constitutional identities in spite of geography rather than because of it. And although western states borrowed heavily from those with much older constitutional traditions, the contributors reveal that they borrowed differently and in different proportions in order to craft constitutions that were uniquely adapted to their historical situation and peoples. This work demonstrates the diversity of our governmental arrangements and provides a virtual introduction to the political culture of each many offering stories of constitutional foundings that are rich with meaning. Although these fifty documents are defined in a federal context, state constitutions are necessary to complete the constitutionalism of the United States."
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780826217646Publication Date: 2008-04-28
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Constitution by
The U.S. Constitution established a federated republic in the United States, which was structured according to a separation of powers - executive, legislative, and judicial - each with its own specific duties and powers. In more than 700 entries, ""Encyclopedia of the United States Constitution"" contains all the material high school students need to understand the United States Constitution. This new two-volume A-to-Z set covers the people, court cases, historical events, and terms relating to one of the most studied political documents in schools across the country. Appendix material includes the U.S. Constitution and other government documents. Entries of this title include: affirmative action; capital punishment; citizenship; confirmation process; cruel and unusual punishment; double jeopardy; eleventh amendment; fourth amendment; freedom of the press; gun control; impeachment; jury nullification; national security; planned parenthood v. Casey; presidential immunity; privacy; property rights; religion and free speech; same-sex marriage; school choice; state action; terrorism control; war powers; workplace harassment; and many more.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780816067633Publication Date: 2009-05-01
In the Wake of Slavery by Call Number: eBooks by EbscohostISBN: 9780275989729Publication Date: 2006-10-01
The U. S. Constitution by
These timely volumes feature the history and purposes of some of the United States' most important government agencies through enlightening prose and carefully chosen photographs, engravings, and paintings. -- Informative guides to various government agencies, processes, and histories -- Perfect introductions to these important topics -- Ideal for research -- Complements school curriculum The rights of every American are stated in our Constitution and refined in the Amendments.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780791059913Publication Date: 2001-03-01
The United States, 1763-2001 by
This text approaches the teaching and learning of early US history from 1763 to 2000 at A level, meeting the needs of teachers and students studying for the revised AS and A2 exams. The book focuses on the key topics within the period. Each topic is then comprehensively explored to provide background, essay-writing advice and examples, source work and historical skills exercises. This resource for teachers and students uses essay styles and source exercises from each of the exam boards, AQA, Edexcel and OCR.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780415290289Publication Date: 2004-12-23
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283