- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- PROJ410
- PROJ410 Resources
PROJ410
Contracts & Procurement- This course examines processes required to acquire goods and services from outside the organization in order to meet project requirements.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Recommended Websites
- Collaborative Project Management/ One of the most common uses for PBwiki is collaborative project management. After all, project management is all about collaboration. And unlike traditional project management software (such as Microsoft Project) which centralizes the work on a single project manager and forces you into a certain (largely inflexible) process, PBwiki lets you manage your projects collaboratively, in a way that fits your existing business processes
- Project Management Hut PM Hut - The Project Management Hut, came to life when a group of Project Managers decided to make their vast experience accessible to everyone. Needless to say, they started writing articles and gathering articles from all over the world, categorizing these articles, and presenting them in a very digestible format for the dynamic Project Manager.
- Project Management Institute Project Management Institute is the world's leading not-for-profit professional membership association for the project, program and portfolio management profession. Founded in 1969, PMI delivers value for more than 2.9 million professionals working in nearly every country in the world through global advocacy, collaboration, education and research.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
The AMA Handbook of Project Management by
A must-read for any project management professional or student. Projects are the life blood of any organization. Revised to reflect the latest changes to A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®) and the Project Management Professional Exam®, the fourth edition of The AMA Handbook of Project Management provides readers with a clear overview of a complex discipline. Covering everything from individual projects to programs and strategic alignment, it addresses: - Project initiation and planning - Communication and interpersonal skills - Scheduling, budgeting and meeting business objectives - Managing political and resource issues - Implementing a PMO - Measuring value and competencies. The book compiles essays and advice from the field's top professionals and features new chapters on stakeholder management, agile project management, program management, project governance, knowledge management, and more. Updated with fresh examples, case studies and solutions to specific project management dilemmas, it remains an essential reference to the critical concepts and theories all project managers must master. "
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9780814433393Publication Date: 2014-06-12
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide ) - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. New to the sixth edition, each knowledge area will contain a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. It will also contain more emphasis on strategic and business knowledge, including discussion of project management business documentsand information on the PMI Talent Triangle and the essential skills for success in today's market.
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9781628251845Publication Date: 2017-09-22
Making Projects Work by
Projects are performed by people for people, with the key determinants of success being the relationships between project teams and project stakeholders. This web of relationships will either enable or obstruct the flow of information between people and, as a consequence, will largely determine project success or failure. Making Projects Work: Effective Stakeholder and Communication Management provides a framework for understanding and managing the factors required for achieving successful project and program outcomes. It presents guidelines to help readers develop an understanding of governance and its connection to strategy as the starting point for deciding what work needs to be done. Introduces the idea of an organization's communication ecosystem where information flows freely within and among all organizational layers Explores the importance of the relationships with the project's stakeholder community as keys to project success Describes the theoretical underpinnings of leadership Provides detailed analysis of the different types of project stakeholders Supplies guidance on developing the appropriate messages to meet project and stakeholder needs The book describes how to craft appropriate communication strategies for developing and maintaining successful relationships with stakeholders. It highlights the strengths and weaknesses of existing project controls and outlines effective communication techniques for managing expectations and acquiring the support required to deliver successful projects on time and under budget.
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9781482206661Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Successful Project Management, Fourth Edition: How to Complete Projects on Time, on Budget, and on Target by
Aligned with the Fifth edition of A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide), this guide covers the fundamentals, focusing on practical tools and techniques students can apply immediately to complete projects on time, on budget, and on target
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9780761215677Publication Date: 2015`
Understanding Project Management by
Understanding Project Management takes an applied approach to the study of project management, carefully balancing reflective practice and methodology necessary for successful deployment of tools and techniques in the real world.Including plenty of practical examples as well as contemporary real-world case studies, it takes a unique approach to the study of project management with an emphasis on international aspects and dilemmas that are increasingly common in the contemporary world. With a host of features to encourage reflection and reinforce learning, it is the ideal complement for independent or classroom study on a range of business courses.This textbook helps managers understand project management, develop perspectives in application, and, through reflection, enables them to develop a project management capability, at an individual, organization or project level. The content throughout is guided by practice, making this an essential read for anyone wishing to make a success of the project management role.
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9780749470555Publication Date: 2015-05-28
- Developing and Controlling the Project Schedule (PMBOK® Guide Fifth Edition) The project schedule is critical to project management. It contains the planned start and finish dates for project activities and milestones.
- Defining and Sequencing Project Activities (PMBOK® Guide Fifth Edition) Properly defining and sequencing project activities allows a project manager to answer two basic scheduling questions – What activities are required to develop the end product? And how should the activities be sequenced for optimal results? The first step in developing a reliable project schedule is identifying project activities and their interrelationships.
- Creating the Work Breakdown Structure (PMBOK® Guide Fifth Edition) In order for projects to be successful, a project manager must use planning techniques that define project objectives in sufficient detail. Projects can quickly get out of control if the project plans aren't detailed. A project's work breakdown structure (WBS) provides the foundation for defining work as it relates to the project objectives and breaking it down to an adequate level of detail.
eJournals
- Journal of Project, Program and Portfolio Management The Journal of Project, Program and Portfolio Management publishes peer reviewed scholarly articles - qualitative, quantitative and mixed-methods research papers as well as theoretical and exploratory papers - covering the many and varied aspects of project portfolio management, program and project management
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283