- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- PROJ330
- PROJ330 Resources
PROJ330
Human Resources and Communication in Projects- This course focuses on directing and coordinating human resources and links among people, ideas, and information necessary for project success.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Recommended Websites
- Collaborative Project Management / FrontPage One of the most common uses for PBwiki is collaborative project management. After all, project management is all about collaboration. And unlike traditional project management software (such as Microsoft Project) which centralizes the work on a single project manager and forces you into a certain (largely inflexible) process, PBwiki lets you manage your projects collaboratively, in a way that fits your existing business processes
- Project Management Hut PM Hut - The Project Management Hut, came to life when a group of Project Managers decided to make their vast experience accessible to everyone. Needless to say, they started writing articles and gathering articles from all over the world, categorizing these articles, and presenting them in a very digestible format for the dynamic Project Manager.
- Project Management Institute Project Management Institute is the world's leading not-for-profit professional membership association for the project, program and portfolio management profession.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Communicating Projects by
Communicating Projects gives programme and project managers a framework for developing an effective strategy that goes well beyond inter-programme/project communication and looks at how to achieve behaviour change and even increase employee engagement through the process. This book is a must-have guide for any project manager or anyone tasked with stakeholder engagement.
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9781409453192Publication Date: 2013-11-21
Communication Measurement by
In his ground-breaking book, Mark Phillips shows how even the most mature organizations can fail to deliver successful projects - and worse, how this can lead to an organization's demise. With clear examples, Mark reveals the underlying principals at work and introduces a revolutionary new technique for harnessing the power of communication to ensure long term success. For organizations of all sizes, this book changes the way we think about management and leadership.Reinventing Communication is about creating the conditions for performance and attaining long term success. Whether a start-up, a global enterprise or a government agency, this book will show you how to deliver ambitious achievements by getting communication right. It is a book no manager, leader or innovator should be without.
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9781472411006Publication Date: 2014-04-23
Gower Handbook of People in Project Management by
The Gower Handbook of People in Project Management is a unique and rich compilation of over 60 chapters about project management roles and the people who sponsor, manage, work in or are otherwise important to project success.With Lindsay Scott's expert knowledge and experience in this field and Dennis Lock's contributions and meticulous editing, the Handbook is a complete guide to the various human dimensions involved in projects. It covers everyone involved in projects - the stakeholders - including those funding or sponsoring the project and those involved in its delivery; the people-issues that are specific to different sectors of the organization (public, private and third sector); the organization of people, both real and virtual; the different roles associated with projects; the relationship between people and the project environment; the human behaviours and skills associated with working collaboratively; and the HR issues including all aspects of how to manage talent for projects.
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9781409437857Publication Date: 2013-09-20
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide ) - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. New to the sixth edition, each knowledge area will contain a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. It will also contain more emphasis on strategic and business knowledge, including discussion of project management business documentsand information on the PMI Talent Triangle and the essential skills for success in today's market.
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9781628251845Publication Date: 2017-09-22
Making Projects Work by
Projects are performed by people for people, with the key determinants of success being the relationships between project teams and project stakeholders. This web of relationships will either enable or obstruct the flow of information between people and, as a consequence, will largely determine project success or failure. Making Projects Work: Effective Stakeholder and Communication Management provides a framework for understanding and managing the factors required for achieving successful project and program outcomes. It presents guidelines to help readers develop an understanding of governance and its connection to strategy as the starting point for deciding what work needs to be done. Introduces the idea of an organization's communication ecosystem where information flows freely within and among all organizational layers Explores the importance of the relationships with the project's stakeholder community as keys to project success Describes the theoretical underpinnings of leadership Provides detailed analysis of the different types of project stakeholders Supplies guidance on developing the appropriate messages to meet project and stakeholder needs The book describes how to craft appropriate communication strategies for developing and maintaining successful relationships with stakeholders. It highlights the strengths and weaknesses of existing project controls and outlines effective communication techniques for managing expectations and acquiring the support required to deliver successful projects on time and under budget.
Call Number: SkillportISBN: 9781482206661Publication Date: 2015-03-03
- Communicating Effectively with Project Stakeholders Simulation project manager is the communication hub through whom all project information flows. Customers, suppliers, project team members, and company executives all rely on the project manager for up-to-date information that has been processed and tailored to meet their needs. While mastering the technical aspects of project management is essential, it is not enough to ensure success. The Communicating Effectively with Project Stakeholders Simulation is designed to provide opportunities to practice the communication skills required to effectively manage project stakeholders.
- Planning Project Human Resources (PMBOK® Guide Fifth Edition) When project managers set their sights on delivering creative project solutions on time and within budget, they must select and manage a team of experienced and competent professionals who can meet the challenge. This requires that project managers understand the Project Human Resource Management processes of planning, selecting, developing, and managing a project team.
- Project Communications Management (PMBOK® Guide - Fourth Edition-aligned) The Project Management Institute (PMI®) offers the Project Management Professional (PMP®) credential. It is one of the most valued credentials in project management. It helps assure employers that holders are committed to project management, and can take responsibility for all aspects of a project for the its lifespan.Furthermore, PMP® certified individuals are expected to be able to lead and direct cross-functional teams to deliver projects within the constraints of schedule, budget and resources, and to demonstrate sufficient knowledge and experience to appropriately apply a methodology to projects that have reasonably well-defined project requirements and deliverables. This learning path covers the Project Communications Management knowledge area, including project stakeholders and the communication plan, and processes for managing project communications. This learning path is aimed to help prepare students for the PMP® exam.
eJournals
- Journal of Project, Program and Portfolio Management The Journal of Project, Program and Portfolio Management publishes peer reviewed scholarly articles - qualitative, quantitative and mixed-methods research papers as well as theoretical and exploratory papers - covering the many and varied aspects of project portfolio management, program and project management
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283