- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- English Composition Subject Guide
- English Composition Resources
English Composition Subject Guide
Definition
English composition is defined as the process of combining distinct parts or elements to form a whole essay, research paper, business correspondence, technical report, or literary work and the manner in which these elements are combined or related. The following are examples of composing in English composition classes:
- The art or act of composing a literary work
- The structure or organization of literature
- A short essay, especially one written as an academic exercise (an essay is a short literary composition on a particular theme or subject, usually in prose and generally analytic, speculative, or interpretative).
Composition. (2007). In The Penguin English dictionary. Retrieved from Credo Reference.
Terms to Search
academic writing, authorship, business report writing, business writing, English composition, English language-composition and exercises, English language-grammar, English language-rhetoric, essay, library research, literature, literature-research, proposal writing for grants, report writing, technical writing, writing English language, writing skills
eBooks
English Grammar and Usage by
Developed by experienced professionals from reputed civil services coaching institutes and recommended by many aspirants of Civil Services Preliminary exam, General Studies Paper - I contains Precise and Thorough Knowledge of Concepts and Theories essential to go through the prestigious exam. Solved Examples are given to explain all the concepts for thorough learning. Explanatory Notes have been provided in every chapter for better understanding of the problems asked in the exam. #v&spublishers
ISBN: 9789350570784Publication Date: 2013-10-31
English Grammar Essentials for Dummies - Australia by
The fun and easy way to learn essential grammar rules, common usage errors, and other key concepts in the English language Understanding the rules of English is key to being an effective communicator--at work, at school, or anywhere else. If you struggle with the rules--and who hasn't?--English Grammar Essentials For Dummies, Australian Edition is the book for you. Covering just the basics you need, the book boils the rules of grammar down to the core concepts that will make you a better communicator in any and every aspect of your life. Ideal for students, job hunters, adult learners, those who speak English as a second language, and anyone who wants to make a good impression Covers the vital essentials needed for better written communication Serves as an excellent refresher course for professionals whose primary mode of communication is increasingly electronic and written Clear and understandable writing can be the key to success in almost any professional field. With English Grammar Essentials For Dummies, Australian Edition, you'll master the basics with ease!
ISBN: 9781118493311Publication Date: 2014-04-28
Garner's Modern English Usage by
Bryan Garner is the most trusted living usage expert of our day, and Garner's Modern English Usage is the preeminent guide to the effective use of the English language. With well over 6,000 entries on English grammar, syntax, word choice, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, and style, this book is adored by professional writers and general readers alike. In this major update to a timeless classic, Bryan Garner has dramatically expanded coverage of international English usage, making the volume for the first time a guide not only to American English usage, but to English usage around the globe. Interest in the English language is greater than ever; English is the lingua franca not only of higher education and academia, but of science, business, computing, aviation, and even - arguably - entertainment. An awareness of global English matters today as never before. To ensure that Bryan Garner's clear, unambiguous advice resonates with English-speakers worldwide, more than 2,000 entries have been revised to account for the nuances of English not only in the United States, but in Australia and New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Canada, and South Africa. Not everything has changed: readers will still find the popular "Garner's Language-Change Index" which registers where each disputed usage in modern English falls on a five-stage continuum from non-acceptability (to the language community as a whole) to acceptability, giving the book a consistent standard throughout. Bryan Garner's tools for scientific accuracy are, however, fully updated: this fourth edition benefits from usage data generated by Google Ngrams, which charts frequencies of any word or short sentence in sources printed after 1800. With thousands of concise entries, longer essays on problematic areas such as subject-verb agreement and danglers, and meticulous citations of the New York Times, Newsweek, and other leading journalistic sources, this fourth edition of Garner's Modern English Usage provides priceless reference information to anyone hoping to improve as a writer - worldwide.
ISBN: 9780190491482Publication Date: 2016-04-08
May I Quote You on That? by
We all use language in different ways, depending on the situations we find ourselves in. In formal contexts we are usually expected to use a formal level of Standard English-the English codified in grammars, usage guides, and dictionaries. In May I Quote You on That? Stephen Spector offers a new approach to learning Standard English grammar and usage. The product of Spector's forty years of teaching courses on the English language, this book makes the conventions of formal writing and speech easier and more enjoyable to learn than traditional approaches usually do. Each lesson begins with humorous, interesting, or instructive illustrative quotations from writers, celebrities, and historical figures. Mark Twain appears alongside Winston Churchill, Yogi Berra, Woody Allen, Jerry Seinfeld, Stephen Colbert, Oprah, Lady Gaga, and many others. These quotations allow readers to infer the rules and word meanings from context. And if they stick in readers' memory, they can serve as models for the rules they exemplify. The lessons then offer short essays, written in a conversational style, on the history of the rules or the words being discussed. But because English is constantly changing, the essays offer not only the traditional rules of Standard English, but also the current opinions of usage panelists, stylists, and language specialists. When rules are controversial, Spector offers advice about stylistic choices. A companion website features a workbook with practice drills. This book will appeal to anyone who wants to write well. It's aimed at those who are applying to college, taking the SAT, or writing a job application, an essay, or anything else that requires clear and effective communication.
ISBN: 9780190215286Publication Date: 2015-08-05
Websites
English Composition Search Engine
This will search all of the websites listed below simultaneously or you may choose to select specific search site(s) to search.
- APA Style Guide Provides an introduction with tutorials to the 6th edition of the American Psychological Association's Publication Manual and style guidelines for writing scholarly papers.
- Edufind.com Online English Grammar Resources A complete guide to English grammar and the rules of usage.
- Elements of Style This standard reference book by William Strunk Jr. provides the principal requirements of plain English style and concentrates attention on the rules of usage and principles of composition most commonly violated.
- Figures of Speech Served Fresh Blog that identifies the common figures of speech with definitions of terms and lists the best books on argumentation and rhetoric.
- Guide to Grammar and Style An eBook that covers a miscellany of grammatical rules, style and usage.
- Guide to Grammar and Writing An interactive site with explanations and quizzes created by a community college professor.
- How to Study.com: Writing Techniques Describes the five writing techniques required of effective writers.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab Welcome to the Purdue OWL. We offer over 200 free resources including: Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides, Job Search and Professional Writing.
- Strategies for Critical Reading and Writing Analyzing choices of content, language, and structure.
- University of Texas Austin Undergraduate Writing Center A website that offers handouts relevant to writing at the undergraduate college level.
- Using English A fully cross-referenced English glossary of linguistic and grammatical terms. Each grammar definition contains an explanation and cross-references to other relevant grammar terms.
- Writer’s Digest The one-stop shop for information, resources and writing community. Writers can connect with other writers on our forum, visit our blogs and sign up for our free weekly e-newsletter.
- Writing Technical Articles Offers advice on writing technical research and survey papers.
- Writing Tools: 50 Essential Strategies for Every Writer An electronic book by Roy P. Clark that provides advice on improvement of writing skills.
- Writing.com Writing.Com is an online community for writers of all interests and skill levels since 2000. The website offers a creative environment for authors with hundreds of unique writing tools and opportunities for creation and inspiration.
- Writing-World.com An online community for readers and writers.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Full-text periodicals covering "all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as...performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and...thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world".
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
eJournals
- Composition Forum Association of Teachers of Advanced Composition
- Journal of Writing Research An international peer reviewed journal that publishes high quality theoretical, empirical, and review papers covering the broad spectrum of writing research.
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283