Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 300 full-text periodicals with current news about all branches of the military and government.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 500 full-text journals and more than 200 educational reports.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers more than two million records with more than 850 full-text journals dating back to 1908; includes more than 800 books and 16,000 conference papers.
Websites
- American Sociological Association As the national organization for sociologists, the American Sociological Association provides a unique set of services to its members and to promote the vitality, visibility, and diversity of the discipline.
- ASAnet Provides a glossary for over 400 sociology definitions.
- Data & Information Services Center Offers longitudinal surveys, macroeconomic indicators, election studies, population studies, socialization patterns, poverty measures, labor force participation, public opinion polls, education and health data, and census data comprise the scope of the collection.
- FedStats Gathers from more than 100 agencies access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
- Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan An academic social science survey and research organization, which monitors the trends in areas as consumer confidence and economic expectations to voting behavior, teen drug use, aging, and family dynamics.
- International Sociological Association The International Sociological Association (ISA) is a non-profit association for scientific purposes. Its function is to represent sociologists everywhere, regardless of their school of thought, scientific approaches or ideological opinion.
- Pew Research Center An organization that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions.
- Sociology Search Engine Use this to search a variety of websites on Sociology.
- US Census Bureau Products and tools including data visualizations, mobile apps, interactive web apps and other software.
EJournals
- Advances in Social Work Advances in Social Work is committed to enhancing the linkage among social work practice, research, and education. Accordingly, the journal addresses current issues, challenges, and responses facing social work practice and education. The journal invites discussion and development of innovations in social work practice and their implications for social work research and education.
- Columbia Social Work Review The Review is an annual peer-reviewed journal for students in the field of social work to share their research, experiences and views. The journal provides a forum for the exchange of innovative ideas from the perspective of social work students, and gives Master's students the opportunity to be published in an academic journal.
- International Journal of Society, Culture and Language International Journal of Society, Culture & Language (IJSCL) is an open-access and fully peer-reviewed journal that publishes original research and review articles on the relationship between society, culture, and language.
- The SocJournal The Socjournal is a new media journal intended to offer sociologists a window into the world of new media communications.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Arrested Justice by
Black women in marginalized communities are uniquely at risk of battering, rape, sexual harassment,stalking and incest. Through the compelling stories of Black women who havebeen most affected by racism, persistent poverty, class inequality, limitedaccess to support resources or institutions, Beth E. Richie shows that thethreat of violence to Black women has never been more serious, demonstrating howconservative legal, social, political and economic policies have impactedactivism in the U.S.-based movement to end violence against women. Richie arguesthat Black women face particular peril because of the ways that race andculture have not figured centrally enough in the analysis of the causes andconsequences of gender violence. As a result, the extent of physical, sexualand other forms of violence in the lives of Black women, the various forms ittakes, and the contexts within which it occurs are minimized—at best—andfrequently ignored. Arrested Justicebrings issues of sexuality, class, age, and criminalization into focus rightalongside of questions of public policy and gender violence, resulting in acompelling critique, a passionate re-framing of stories, and a call to actionfor change.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780814776223Publication Date: 2012-05-22
The Entrepreneurial Group by
Recent surveys show that more than half of American entrepreneurs share ownership in their business startups rather than going it alone. Yet the media and many scholars continue to perpetuate the myth of the lone visionary who single-handedly revolutionizes the marketplace. In The Entrepreneurial Group, Martin Ruef shatters this myth, demonstrating that teams, not individuals, are the leading force behind entrepreneurial startups. This is the first book to provide an in-depth sociological analysis of entrepreneurial groups, and to put forward a theoretical framework for understanding activities and outcomes within them.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780691163949Publication Date: 2014-08-31
Net Work by
A detailed study of the work of web designers, drawing on empirical research carried out from the birth of web design as an area of work in the 1990s to its professionalisation in the twenty-first century.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780230231375Publication Date: 2011-11-18
- Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology Provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline, combining anthropological theory and ethnography.
- World of Sociology A comprehensive, subject-specific guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, developments and pioneers related to the field of sociology. Coverage includes alphabetically arranged topical essays, definitions and biographies, intelligently organized and written in clear, concise and easy-to-understand language.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283