IEEE ExploreProvides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "My Subscribed Content" then click "Refresh Results". This will limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription
SciTech ConnectSciTech Connect contains over 65 years of energy-related full-text content and citations. It includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers and more
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Biomedical Applications of Nanotechnology by Vinod Labhasetwar (Editor); Diandra L. Leslie-Pelecky (Editor)An overview of nanotechnology and its potential The field of nanotechnology is undergoing rapid developments on many fronts. This reference provides a comprehensive review of various nanotechnologies with a view to their biomedical applications. With chapters contributed by distinguished scientists from diverse disciplines, "Biomedical Applications of Nanotechnology" Reviews recent advances in the designing of various nanotechnologies based on nucleic acids, polymers, biomaterials, and metals Discusses biomedical nanotechnology in areas such as drug and gene delivery Covers advanced aspects of imaging and diagnostics Includes a chapter on the issue of nanotoxicology Complete with figures and tables, this is a practical, hands-on reference book for researchers in pharmaceutical and biotech industries, biomedical engineers, pharmaceutical scientists, pharmacologists, and materials scientists as well as for the policymakers who need to understand the potential of nanotechnology. It is also an excellent resource book for graduate-level students in pharmaceutical sciences, biomedical engineering, and other fields in which nanotechnology is playing an increasingly important role.
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection (AN=208048) ISBN
Publication Date: 2007-08-13
Biomedical Materials by Roger Narayan (Editor)Biomedical Materials provides a comprehensive discussion of contemporary biomaterials research and development. Highlighting important topics associated with Engineering, Medicine and Surgery, this volume reaches a wide scope of professionals, researchers and graduate students involved with biomaterials. A pedagogical writing style and structure provides readers with an understanding of the fundamental concepts necessary to pursue research and industrial work on biomaterials, including characteristics of biomaterials, biological processes, biocompatibility, and applications of biomaterials in implants and medical instruments. Written by leading researchers in the field, this text book takes readers to the forefront of biomedical materials development, providing them with a taste of how the field is changing, while also serving as a useful reference to physicians and engineers.
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection (AN=285663)
Publication Date: 2009-06-22
Biomedical Nanostructures by Kenneth Gonsalves (Editor); Craig Halberstadt (Editor); Cato T. Laurencin (Editor); Lakshmi Nair (Editor)Learn to Use Nanoscale Materials to Design Novel Biomedical Devicesand Applications Discover how to take full advantage of nanoscale materials in thedesign and fabrication of leading-edge biomedical devices. Theauthors introduce you to a variety of possible clinicalapplications such as drug delivery, diagnostics, and cancertherapy. In addition, the authors explore the interface betweenmicron and nanoscale materials for the development of applicationssuch as tissue engineering. Finally, they examine the mechanisms ofcell interactions with material surfaces through the use ofnanotechnology-based material processing and characterizationmethods. The text's three sections highlight its interdisciplinaryapproach: * Part One: Nanostructure Fabrication * Part Two: Bio-Nano Interfaces * Part Three: Clinical Applications of Nanostructures Among the key topics covered are nanotechnology in tissueregeneration; biomolecular engineering; receptor-ligandinteractions; cell-biomaterial interactions; nanomaterials indiagnostics, drug delivery, and cancer therapy; and nano- andmicron-level engineering and fabrication. Throughout the text, clear examples guide you through the chemistryand the processing involved in designing and developing nanoscalematerials for biomedical devices. Each chapter begins with anintroduction and ends with a conclusion highlighting the keypoints. In addition, references at the end of the chapter help youexpand your research on any individual topic. In summary, this bookhelps biomedical researchers and engineers understand the physicalphenomena that occur at the nanoscale in order to design novelcell-based constructs for a wide range of applications.
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection (AN=209714)
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Circuits, Signals, and Systems for Bioengineers by John SemmlowApproaches such as the Transfer Function and the Fourier and the Laplace transforms are important tools for bioengineers that often considered borrowed from electrical engineering. This text allows bioengineering students and bioengineers the ability to foster a sense of ownership of these tools by providing them with a solid foundation in the concepts of linear systems analysis. Circuits, Signals and Systems for Bioengineers guides readers through the basic engineering concepts that underlie biological systems, medical devices, biocontrol, and biosignal analysis. Material important to their study and traditionally taught in an electrical engineering service course can now be embraced by bioengineers. Instructive illustrations and MATLAB routines and examples are provided throughout the book. All disc-based content for this title is now available on the Web. · Translates important electrical engineering tools such as Fourier Transform, Laplace Transform, analog modeling, systems modeling, and other linear systems analysis techniques for bioengineering students. · Includes MATLAB examples and problems. · Includes companion website with PowerPoint presentations, extra examples, figures, and support routines.
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection (AN=130121)
Publication Date: 2005-03-07
Commercializing Successful Biomedical Technologies by Shreefal S. MehtaSuccessful product design and development requires the ability to take a concept and translate the technology into useful, patentable, commercial products. This book guides the reader through the practical aspects of the commercialization process of drug, diagnostic and device biomedical technology including market analysis, product development, intellectual property and regulatory constraints. Key issues are highlighted at each stage in the process, and case studies are used to provide practical examples. The book will provide a sound road map for those involved in the biotechnology industry to effectively plan the commercialization of profitable regulated medical products. It will also be suitable for a capstone design course in engineering and biotechnology, providing the student with the business acumen skills involved in product development.
Call Number: Books 24x7 (BookID=29295)
Publication Date: 2008-04-24
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering by Gary E. Wnek (Editor); Gary L. Bowlin (Editor)Written by more than 400 subject experts representing diverse academic and applied domains, this multidisciplinary resource surveys the vanguard of biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials that lead to quality-of-life improvements. Building on traditional engineering principles, it serves to bridge advances in materials science, life sciences, nanotechnology, and cell biology to innovations in solving medical problems with applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices. In nearly 300 entries, this four-volume Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Second Edition covers: Essential topics integral to tissue engineering research: bioreactors, scaffolding materials and fabrication, tissue mechanics, cellular interaction, and development of major tissues and organs being attempted by researchers worldwide Artificial lungs and muscles, bio-artificial livers, and corneal, dental, inner ear, and total hip implants Tissue engineering of blood vessels, heart valves, ligaments, microvascular networks, skeletal muscle, and skin Bone remodeling, bone cement, and bioabsorbable bone plates and screws Controlled drug delivery, insulin delivery, and transdermal and ocular implant-based drug delivery Endovascular stent grafts, vascular grafts, and xenografts 3-D medical imaging, electrical impedance imaging, and intravascular ultrasound Biomedical, protein adsorption, and in vivo cardiovascular modeling Polymer foams, biofunctional and conductive polymers, and electroactive polymeric materials Blood-material interactions, the bone-implant interface, host reactions, and foreign body responses ... and much more
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection (AN=242044)
Publication Date: 2008-05-28
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering by John Enderle; Joseph BronzinoIntroduction to Biomedical Engineering is a comprehensive survey text for biomedical engineering courses. It is the most widely adopted text across the BME course spectrum, valued by instructors and students alike for its authority, clarity and encyclopedic coverage in a single volume. Biomedical engineers need to understand the wide range of topics that are covered in this text, including basic mathematical modeling; anatomy and physiology; electrical engineering, signal processing and instrumentation; biomechanics; biomaterials science and tissue engineering; and medical and engineering ethics. Enderle and Bronzino tackle these core topics at a level appropriate for senior undergraduate students and graduate students who are majoring in BME, or studying it as a combined course with a related engineering, biology or life science, or medical/pre-medical course. * NEW: Each chapter in the 3rd Edition is revised and updated, with new chapters and materials on compartmental analysis, biochemical engineering, transport phenomena, physiological modeling and tissue engineering. Chapters on peripheral topics have been removed and made avaialblw online, including optics and computational cell biology. * NEW: many new worked examples within chapters * NEW: more end of chapter exercises, homework problems * NEW: Image files from the text available in PowerPoint format for adopting instructors * Readers benefit from the experience and expertise of two of the most internationally renowned BME educators * Instructors benefit from a comprehensive teaching package including a fully worked solutions manual * A complete introduction and survey of BME * NEW: new chapters on compartmental analysis, biochemical engineering, and biomedical transport phenomena * NEW: revised and updated chapters throughout the book feature current research and developments in, for example biomaterials, tissue engineering, biosensors, physiological modeling, and biosignal processing. * NEW: more worked examples and end of chapter exercises * NEW: Image files from the text available in PowerPoint format for adopting instructors * As with prior editions, this third edition provides a historical look at the major developments across biomedical domains and covers the fundamental principles underlying biomedical engineering analysis, modeling, and design *bonus chapters on the web include: Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology, Genomics and Bioinformatics, and Computational Cell Biology and Complexity.
Call Number: Books 24X7
Publication Date: 2011-03-07
Medical Instrumentation by Molly Follette Story (Editor)Two of the most important yet often overlooked aspects of a medical device are its usability and accessibility. This is important not only for health care providers, but also for older patients and users with disabilities or activity limitations. Medical Instrumentation: Accessibility and Usability Considerations focuses on how lack of usability and accessibility pose problems for designers and users of medical devices, and how to overcome these limitations. Divided into five broad sections, the book first addresses the nature and extent of the problem by identifying access barriers, human factors, and policy issues focused on the existing infrastructure. The subsequent sections examine responses to the problem, beginning with tools for usability and accessibility analysis and principles of design for medical instrumentation. Building on this foundation, the third section focuses on recommendations for design guidelines while the fourth section explores emerging trends and future technologies for improving medical device usability. The final section outlines key challenges, knowledge gaps, and recommendations from accomplished experts in the field presented at the recent Workshop on Accessible Interfaces for Medical Instrumentation. Integrating expert perspectives from a wide array of disciplines, Medical Instrumentation traces a clear roadmap for improving accessibility and usability for a variety of stakeholders and provides the tools necessary to follow it.
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection (AN=176143)
Publication Date: 2006-10-31
Smart Biosensor Technology by Knopf George K StaffSynergy is the key to creating more intelligent biosensors. Engineers develop smaller, more integrated technologies; biologists and chemists develop increasingly selective and sensitive sensor elements; material scientists develop ways to bring it all together. However, most books focus only on the chemistry aspects of biosensor technologies. With a multidisciplinary perspective, Smart Biosensor Technology examines the design, applications, and future directions of this rapidly evolving field. This book collects contributions from leading specialists in a variety of scientific and engineering disciplines involved in different aspects of biosensor design and technology. Five broad sections provide a systematic structure that builds progressively from key concepts to emerging technologies and future directions. Following an introduction to the fundamental characteristics and functions of the underlying technologies, two sections explore the role materials play in developing smart biosensors. Next, the editors devote an entire section to bioelectronics with a focus on a biophotonic material called bacteriorhodopsin and its application to photoelectric biosensing, chemical sensing, and color imaging. They also present design and fabrication of new bioelectronic sensing arrays on flexible substrates. The final section explores a variety of smart biosensor applications in detecting food pathogens, monitoring toxicity, and detecting allergens and viruses. Building a solid background in the underlying technologies and demonstrating how to apply this knowledge to solve real problems, Smart Biosensor Technology is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to extending the capabilities of biosensors for a broad range of fields.
Credo ReferenceAn eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
RefWorksA comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
SkillPortProvides access to hundreds of self-paced online courses in business, desktop, and IT skills, as well as health, safety, and legal compliance.
Ask A Librarian
Click here for information about the Ask A Librarian Service
Knowledge Base search a series of commonly asked questions by topic keyword or course number