LibGuides: Graduate Liberal Arts & Sciences: Liberal Arts and Sciences Electronic Resources

Library Quick Links

Recommended Databases

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties in more than 2,000 journals (with full text of more than 1,200) and 500 books
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains more than one million records with links to over 300,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 500 full-text journals and more than 200 educational reports.
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of trade and industry-related publications to support research on a variety of technical and vocational fields, including computers, engineering, health, technology, and business.

Recommended Websites

Education Search Engine

This search engine will search all of the sites listed here simultaneously-or you may choose to select specific site(s) to explore as needed.

Advanced Technological Educational Television
American Education Research Association
BASE—Bielefeld Academic Search Engine BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library. As the open access movement grows and prospers, more and more repository servers come into being which use the 'Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting' (OAI-PMH). for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalises, and indexes these data. BASE provides more than 60 million documents from more than 3,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 75% of the indexed documents. The Index is continuously enhanced by integrating further OAI sources as well as local sources.
Distance Education.org
Educause EDUCAUSE is a nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education through the use of information technology.
Harvard Edcast
International Society for Technology in Education As the creator and steward of the definitive education technology standards, our mission is to empower learners to flourish in a connected world by cultivating a passionate professional learning community, linking educators and partners, leveraging knowledge and expertise, advocating for strategic policies, and continually improving learning and teaching
National Education Association (NEA)
OER (Open Educational Resources) Commons
United States Distance Learning Association Nonprofit organization to promote distance learning.
Yovisto Yovisto is a video search engine specialized on educational video content. It is helpful for students or common interested peoples to looking for online lectures and educational video. Yovisto allows searching within videos. Furthermore, there are many other features as, e. g., tagging, adding comments, discussing uploading videos and organizing your videos, etc.

eJournals

Creative Education
Educause Review EDUCAUSE Review® is the association's open-access digital and bimonthly print flagship publication for the higher education IT community. With 22,000 distributed copies, the print magazine (ISSN: 1527-6619) takes a broad look at current developments and trends in information technology, how they may affect the college/university as an institution, and what these mean for higher education and society. The online version (ISSN 1945-709X) comprises more comprehensive coverage, including the content of the print magazine plus peer-reviewed articles, practical advice and guidance, interactive elements, and multimedia about managing and using information resources in higher education. The publication has won numerous editorial and design awards including APEX Awards for Publication Excellence, Magnum Opus Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Custom Publishing, Ozzie Awards for Excellence in Magazine Design, and Tabbies Awards, as well as being named Publication of the Year by the Colorado Society of Association Executives.
Excellence in Higher Education Excellence in Higher Education (EHE) is a sustainable research initiative established with the generous support of the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) as part of its Decentralized Basic Education 2 Project in Indonesia. EHE is the first English language academic journal in the field of higher education in Indonesia and is sponsored by the Consortium of Indonesian Universities–Pittsburgh (KPTIP: Konsorsium Perguruan Tinggi Indonesia–Pittsburgh). The journal is a product of the Consortium’s continued commitment to the quality and innovation of Indonesian education. To this end the Consortium works to create sustainable national, regional, and global partnerships to meet national education reform mandates. EHE is published by the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh.
Hybrid Pedagogy Hybrid Pedagogy (ISSN: 2332-2098) is an open-access peer-reviewed journal that : is not ideologically neutral; : connects discussions of critical pedagogy, digital pedagogy, and online pedagogy; : brings higher education and K-12 teachers into conversation with the e-learning and open education communities; : considers our personal and professional hybridity; : disrupts distinctions between students, teachers, and learners; : explores the relationship between pedagogy and scholarship; : invites its audience to participate in (and be an integral part of) the peer review process; : and thus interrogates (and makes transparent) academic publishing practices.
International Journal of Designs for Learning The journal provides a venue for designers to share their knowledge-in-practice through rich representations of their designs and detailed discussion of decision-making. The aim of the journal is to support the production of high-quality precedent materials and to promote and demonstrate the value of doing so. Audiences for the journal include designers, teachers and students of design and scholars studying the practice of design.
International Journal of Education Policy and Leadership IJEPL is a refereed electronic journal dedicated to enriching the education policy and leadership knowledge base, and promoting exploration and analysis of policy alternatives.
International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (IJTLHE) The International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (ISSN 1812-9129) provides a forum for higher education faculty, staff, administrators, researchers, and students who are interested in improving post-secondary instruction. The IJTLHE provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise. The specific emphasis of IJTLHE is the dissemination of knowledge for improving higher education pedagogy. Electronic distribution of IJTLHE maximizes global availability
Journal of Curriculum and Instruction The Journal of Curriculum and Instruction is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that provides a forum for the dissemination of articles focused on research, practice, and related issues relevant to teaching and learning in the PreK-12 environment.
Journal of Information Technology Education: Innovations in Practice (JITE:IIP) The Journal of Information Technology Education: Innovations in Practice (JITE:IIP) is an academically peer refereed journal publishing the best innovative practices on using information technology in education and the teaching of information technology. The focus is on innovations that have been systematically tested in practice and are based on pedagogical principles. We look to publish new ideas and innovations early, consequently the evidential support needed for the findings or recommendations would not necessarily be that normally expected for rigorous, fully mature research
Journal of Interactive Technoloyg & Pedagogy The mission of The Journal of Interactive Technology and Pedagogy (ISSN 2166-6245) is to promote open scholarly discourse around critical and creative uses of digital technology in teaching, learning, and research. Educational institutions have often embraced instrumentalist conceptions and market-driven implementations of technology that overdetermine its uses in academic environments. Such approaches underestimate the need for critical engagement with the integration of technological tools into pedagogical practice. The JITP will endeavor to counter these trends by recentering questions of pedagogy in our discussions of technology in higher education. The journal will also work to change what counts as scholarship—and how it is presented, disseminated, and reviewed—by allowing contributors to develop their ideas, publish their work, and engage their readers using multiple formats.
Journal of Praxis in Multicultural Education The Journal of Praxis in Multicultural Education is a peer-reviewed journal published once/twice a year by the Center for Multicultural Education at the University of Nevada Las Vegas. The journal is committed to publishing manuscripts written by Pre-K-16 teachers and higher education researchers that embody the true definition of praxis. The journal demonstrates teacher learning through a dialectical union of reflection and action
Journal of STEM Education The Journal of STEM Education: Innovations and Research is a half yearly, peer-reviewed publication for educators in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) education. The journal emphasizes real-world case studies that focus on issues that are relevant and important to STEM practitioners. These studies may showcase field research as well as secondary-sourced cases. The journal encourages case studies that cut across the different STEM areas and that cover non-technical issues such as finance, cost, management, risk, safety, etc. Case studies are typically framed around problems and issues facing a decision maker in an organization
Journal of Studies in Education Journal of Studies in Education is a peer-reviewed online international journal, published by Macrothink Institute. It publishes scholarly articles on the topics related to education, educational administration, educational psychology, economics of education, sociology of education, etc.
Online Journal of Distance Learning Administration The Online Journal of Distance Learning Administration is a peer-reviewed electronic journal offered free each quarter over the World Wide Web. The journal welcomes manuscripts based on original work of practitioners and researchers with specific focus or implications for the management of distance education programs.
Research in Higher Education Journal The Research in Higher Education Journal (RHEJ) publishes original, unpublished higher education manuscripts. Appropriate topics for consideration in the journal include retention, assessment, accreditation, financial management in higher education, new program development, teacher education, curriculum and recruitment.

eBooks

eBooks

These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.

Designing Mlearning by Clark N. Quinn Mobile is a powerful new tool for supporting organizational performance, including a wide–variety of learning opportunities including innovation, collaboration, research, and design. Mobile generates new products, services, and helps solve problems. Whether providing needed tools, augmenting learning, or connecting individuals, mobile devices are empowering individuals and organizations. Designing mLearning is a hands–on resource that presents step–by–step guidance for designing, delivering, and deploying mobile solutions, covering both the background model and pragmatic considerations for successfully navigating mobile projects. The book takes an integrated approach to mobile learning regardless of the device used. Written by Dr. Clark Quinn, a noted leader in the mLearning revolution, Designing mLearning debunks commonly held myths about mLearning, defines the myriad opportunities for mobile, contains real–world, illustrative examples, includes implementation concerns, and places mobile learning in an overall strategic plan. Designing mLearning is written for instructional designers, developers, media experts, managers, and anyone with responsibility for supporting performance in organizations. While the focus is on the design of solutions, the book addresses the critical organizational issues to assist the larger agenda of mobilizing the organization. The information outlined in this groundbreaking guide can be applied across the mobile device spectrum and provides a systematic and integrated suite of conceptual frameworks to guide designers to pragmatic and effective solutions. "Quinn takes you by the hand and leads you carefully and comprehensively through the m–learning maze of devices, models, examples, and designs, at the same time demonstrating that mobile learning is more than being about learning, but is also about performance." ––Jane Hart, founder && CEO, Centre for Learning and Performance Technologies "Stop thinking mLearning is miniaturized eLearning. Just as digital video has enabled entirely new forms of entertainment and communication, mLearning enables powerful new (and old) performance solutions at very low costs. Clark omits the deafening hyperbole and delivers today′s best source of clear, complete, and useful mLearning guidance for us all." ––Michael Allen, CEO, Allen Interactions "The future is mobile. It will rock you more than the web did. And Clark Quinn has written the missing manual." ––Jay Cross, CEO, Internet Time, and author, Informal Learning "Those of us in learning and development know we spend a disproportionate amount of time on formal training, missing opportunities to support workers where real learning occurs: in work, every day. With a wealth of examples, Clark Quinn provides a clear, useful guidebook for using 21st–century tools to support our performers as they enact their work and apply new learning." ––Jane Bozarth, Ed.D., author, Social Media for Trainers and Better Than Bullet Points "Yes, this is a handy book about mobile learning and support. But it′s also a thoughtful nudge towards rethinking what we mean when we say we are educators." ––Allison Rossett, San Diego State University "Clark Quinn sets the pace for a swift race toward mobile everything. His thought–leadership and focus on solutions that work make him the one to watch, to read, and to learn from now!" ––Marcia Conner, advisor in business culture and collaboration, co–author of The New Social Learning: A Guide to Transforming Organization Through Social Media
Call Number: Books 24x7
ISBN: 9780470604489
Publication Date: 2011-02-22
The Gamification of Learning and Instruction by Karl M. Kapp Learning professionals are finding success applying game-based sensibilities to the development of instruction. This is the first book to show how to design online instruction that leverages the best elements of online games to increase learning, retention, and application. It explains how to match different game strategies to types of learning content for the right learning outcome and discusses how gamification techniques can be used in a variety of settings to improve learning, retention and application of knowledge. Supported by peer-reviewed studies and examples from corporations who have adopted game-based learning successfully, the book illustrates how combining instructional design thinking with game concepts can create engaged and interactive learning experiences across a variety of media, from online to face-to-face.
Call Number: Books 24x7
ISBN: 9781118096345
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research by John C. Smart (Editor) Published annually since 1985, the Handbook series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of research findings on a selected topic, critiques the research literature in terms of its conceptual and methodological rigor, and sets forth an agenda for future research intended to advance knowledge on the chosen topic. The Handbook focuses on twelve general areas that encompass the salient dimensions of scholarly and policy inquiries undertaken in the international higher education community. The series is fortunate to have attracted annual contributions from distinguished scholars throughout the world.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCO
ISBN: 9781402096273
Publication Date: 2009-05-25
The Online Learning Idea Book by Patti Shank (Editor) Many books recommend teaching and learning strategies based on current learning research and theory. However, few books offer illustrative examples of how to take these strategies and put them into action in the real world. The Online Learning Idea Book is filled with concrete examples of people who make learning more inspiring and engaging every day, in all kinds of settings, all over the world. In this second volume of The Online Learning Idea Book you will find brand new and valuable ideas that you can adopt or adapt in your own instructional materials, to make them more dynamic and more worthwhile for learners and learning. These ideas will let you peek over the shoulders of some of the world's most creative instructors, instructional designers and developers, trainers, media developers, and others in order to help spark creative ideas of your own. This hands-on resource will help you build online instructional materials or improve existing materials including online courses, modules, activities, or supplementary materials for classroom-based courses. This book provides great tips, techniques, and tricks in the following areas: The Design and Development Process, Supporting Learning, Synchronous and Interpersonal Activities, Asynchronous and Self-Paced Activities, and NS Better Media. Within these pages you will discover creative ways to give your online and blended instruction a boost by adopting and adapting great ideas from others.
Call Number: Books 24x7
ISBN: 9780470472309
Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Research and Practice in Education by Catherine Lewis (Contribution by); Vicki Park (Contribution by); Rebecca Perry (Contribution by); Lisa Rosen (Contribution by); Laura Stokes (Contribution by); Mary Kay Stein; Juliet Baxter (Contribution by); Cynthia E. Coburn; Laura D'Amico (Contribution by); Amanda Datnow (Contribution by); Randi Engle (Contribution by); Meredith I. Honig (Contribution by); Gina Ikemoto (Contribution by) This book presents findings from a series of interlocking case studies of nationally visible RD projects, with a unique focus on how researchers and practitioners actually worked together, and the policy, social, and institutional processes that either enabled or hindered their work. By investigating the roles played by research and practice in these efforts, the book illuminates lessons for those who seek to do this kind of work in the future. It suggests implications for designers, funders, school and district leaders, and universities.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCO
ISBN: 9780742564060
Publication Date: 2010-04-16
Teaching and Learning with Technology by Concetta M. Stewart (Editor); Catherine C. Schifter (Editor); Melissa E. Markaridian Selverian (Editor) Today, new media is both augmenting and extending the traditional classroom with a variety of technology-based tools available to both students and faculty, and has created "new" virtual classrooms for anywhere, anytime availability to education. Despite the enormous potential for technology to support the educational enterprise in this emerging "creative" economy, technologies are still not yet fully integrated in the classroom and their association with educational outcomes is as-yet unclear. This book profiles scholarly work from around the world to examine closely the effectiveness of the newest media in education at bridging the gaps among and between teachers, students and subject matter at all levels, from K-12 through adult education. These pieces are theory-based investigations with implications for future research, theory and application. Contributors examine how the fields of education and new media have evolved and are continuing to evolve pedagogically and practically, from predominantly instructivist, with a passive, one-way teaching format; to constructivist, including teacher- and learner-controlled, sensorially immersive and socially interactive exchanges. This book will be of interest to students and faculty in the areas of new media in education, including distance learning, online learning and "virtual" learning.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCO
ISBN: 9780415878500
Publication Date: 2010-06-08

Other Electronic Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.