Consumer Health CompleteCovers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine; also includes relevant drug monographs.
Health Business EliteCovers more than 550 journals on health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Health Policy Reference CenterContains more than 100,000 records (over 200 full-text journals) on health policy, health care access, health care quality, etc.
Health Source: Consumer EditionOver 75 full-text consumer health magazines on medical science, general health, food science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, etc.
Blood, Bugs, and Plants explores several core biological areas that have influenced modern forensic science. Entomology ('bugs') is a specialty that uses knowledge about insect life cycles to inform death investigations. Botany ('plants') is a specialty that looks at plant materials as evidence in cases. Occupying the largest part of this book, the 'blood' section covers the identification of blood and body fluids (determining their origin as human or animal), DNA typing, and blood-spatter patterns.Each chapter in this new book provides an overview that briefly introduces readers to basic concepts in forensic science, allowing them to understand how this biological science sheds light on issues in legal cases.
Blood Collection by Di Lorenzo; Marjorie Schaub Di Lorenzo; Susan King Strasinger; Marjorie Schaub Di Lorenzo"The authors provide some excellent tools for teaching a venipuncture class though small, is complete in its coverage of topics related to phlebotomy. The unit on blood collection and venipuncture equipment is very thorough. . . "--Respiratory Care, review of the 1st Edition. Perfect for intensive one- or two-day phlebotomy courses! This user-friendly text concentrates on the crucial skills of blood specimen collection. . . making it a cost-effective, compact learning tool for cross training and continuing education.
Critical testing information and key clinical protocols in the palm of your hand McGraw-Hill's Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests focuses specifically on what you need to know to understand the test, educate the patient, and provide safe, effective care before, during, and after the test. In addition, this easy-to-use clinical companion is the only text to actively incorporate evidence-based practice features throughout, both in test monographs and appendices-a major advantage that enhances your ability to apply the book's content to your daily practice. Features: A cohesive 5-part organization covering the full range of laboratory tests, diagnostic tests, laboratory/diagnostic assessments of body function, education, and screening Time-saving alphabetical organization of tests with handy thumb tabs Full-color icons that highlight the organization of each test, and clearly identify important features throughout Skill-sharpening references to national guidelines, including JCAHO Full coverage of clinical interventions/implications Essential insights into the possible meanings of abnormal values and contraindications Key references that pertain to evidence-based practice Timely appendix on the increasing use of evidence-based practice Critical patient teaching information
Medical Error and Patient Safety by George A. Peters; Barbara J. PetersA difficult and recalcitrant phenomenon, medical error causes pervasive and expensive problems in terms of patient injury, ineffective treatment, and rising healthcare costs. Simple heightened awareness can help, but it requires organized, effective remedies and countermeasures that are reasonable, acceptable, and adaptable to see a truly significant drop in the intolerable rate of medical mistakes. Only with better understanding, knowledge, and directed techniques can there be rapid and marked improvement in medical error management discipline. Since medical error is situation specific and involves diverse variables in equipment, environment, and human performance, the correct choice of preventive and corrective techniques is critical. Providing a wealth of useful ideas, concepts, and techniques, Medical Error and Patient Safety: Human Factors in Medicine uses abroad perspective to present more than 500 remedies that can be applied and tailored to your unique circumstances. This detailed review of so many measures enables you to correctly identify needs and undertake appropriate actions to achieve a success that can be measured in avoided injuries, improved healthcare, and reduced cost. Thought provoking and useful, this book considers the potential for error and the possibility for improvement in every aspect of healthcare. After an introduction to general concepts and approaches, it examines vulnerabilities in medical services, including emergency services, healthcare facilities, and infection control. It covers risks in medical devices and product design; human factors such as fatigue and stress; management errors; errors in communication at all levels of the healthcare hierarchy; as well as mistakes in drug delivery including faulty labels and warnings. The authors also compare and contrast several analytical methods, their interpretation, and their translation into a plan of action.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHost
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Tietz's Applied Laboratory Medicine by Ann M. Gronowski (Editor); Charles S. Eby (Editor); Mitchell G. Scott (Editor)Using a problem-based approach, Tietz's Applied Laboratory Medicine, Second Edition presents interesting cases to illustrate the current use and interpretation of the most commonly available clinical laboratory tests. The cases present detailed descriptions of the symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. The book begins with an up-to-date general discussion of selection and use of laboratory diagnostic and prognostic tests. Cases are then grouped by category, including cardiovascular, pulmonary, renal, liver, gastrointestinal, endocrine, gynaecologic & obstetrical, haematological, CNS, lipid, congenital, toxicological, infectious, and autoimmune diseases. Tietz's Applied Laboratory Medicine, Second Edition: Presents over 100 cases organised by disease group Reflects latest treatment and risk factor guidelines, testing algorithms and recommendations Newly covers coagulopathies, infectious diseases, and autoimmune diseases Provides excellent coverage of relevant pathophysiology and biochemistry, and includes cases in molecular diagnostics Discusses legal implications This book is an invaluable resource for all clinical chemists, clinical lab technologists, pathologists, and allied health professionals. It is also of interest for general practitioners, residents, medical students, and educators.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2007-02-26
Other Electronic Resources
Credo ReferenceAn eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
NoodleToolsThe Web's most comprehensive and accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian bibliography composer with fully integrated note-taking.
SkillPortProvides access to hundreds of self-paced online courses in business, desktop, and IT skills, as well as health, safety, and legal compliance.
Ask A Librarian
Click here for information about the Ask A Librarian Service
Knowledge Base search a series of commonly asked questions by topic keyword or course number