CoHS Student Resources : eBook Resources
College of Health Sciences Student Resources
Health Reference
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by
Taber's brings meanings to life. The all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinical, and beyond. Put the language of nursing, medicine, and the healthcare professions at your fingertips--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 25 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects today's most current and relevant information.
ISBN: 9781719654227Publication Date: 2025
Health and Technology
Medical Robotics : History, Challenges, and Future Directions by ISBN: 9789819973170
Digital Health by
Digital Health: Telemedicine and Beyond describes practical ways to use digital health tools in clinical practice. With a strong focus on case studies and patient outcomes, this title provides an overview of digital medicine, terms, concepts, and applications for the multidisciplinary clinical practitioner. Chapters provide a concise, yet comprehensive understanding of digital health, including telemedicine, mHealth, EHRs, and the benefits and challenges of each. The book gives insights on risks and benefits associated with storing and transmitting patient information via digital tools and educates clinicians in the correct questions to ask for advocacy regarding state laws, scope of practice, and medicolegal implications. It also addresses the ethical and social challenges that digital health raises, how to engage patients to improve shared decision-making models and how digital health tools can be integrated into clinical practice. This book is a valuable resource for clinicians and medical educators of all health professions, including physicians, physician associates, nurses, pharmacists, physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists, students, and all those who wish to broaden their knowledge in the allied field.- Provides a clinical perspective on digital health- Written by clinicians for clinicians with the patient in mind- Describes practical ways to use digital health tools in clinical practice- Includes case studies to incorporate workflows into practice to improve patient outcomes
ISBN: 9780443239021Publication Date: 2024-11-01
Handbook on Augmenting Telehealth Services : Using Artificial Intelligence by ISBN: 9781003825630Publication Date: 2024
Health Policy
Medicare for Dummies by
Cracking the Medicare code Medicare For Dummies is your ultimate cheat sheet to demystifying Medicare. This newly updated guide covers the latest changes in benefits, including expanded coverage for mental health and chronic pain. In simple language and clear step-by-step instructions, this bestseller walks you through the enrollment process and helps you avoid costly mistakes along the way. You'll learn how to reduce your out-of-pocket expenses, and you'll get trusted guidance on finding the perfect policy for you and your family. Find answers to all your Medicare questions--even those you wouldn't think to ask--so you can develop a solid game plan to get the most out of Medicare. Learn the basics of Medicare and determine the best plan option for you Reference the latest prices, coverages, and other must-know information Get tips for minimizing your out-of-pocket expenses, whatever your health situation Find clear and thorough guidance for navigating Medicare at any age If you're currently enrolled in Medicare and want to maximize their benefits, or if you#re thinking about enrolling soon, Medicare For Dummies will help you better understand the often confusing process. This book is full of examples, ideas, and useful takeaways that empower you to take control of your healthcare--and your health.
ISBN: 9781394267989Publication Date: 2024-08-13
Coding Resources
Buck's Workbook for Step-By-Step Medical Coding, 2025 Edition - E-Book by ISBN: 9780443260674
Medical Billing and Coding for Dummies by
The essential guide for medical billing professionals, updated for ICD-11 standards Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies will set you up for success in getting started as a medical biller and coder. To ensure data accuracy and efficient data processing, medical offices need professionally trained coders to handle records. This book provides prospective allied health professionals with everything they need to know to get started in medical billing and coding as a career. In addition to an introduction to the basics of medical coding, you'll get information on how to find a training course, meet certification requirements, and deal with government agencies and insurance companies. Learn about the standard practices in the medical billing industry and get up to speed on the ethical and legal issues you're likely to face on the job. This accessible guide is a great entry point--and a great refresher--for anyone interested in the medical billing and coding profession. Get a primer on your career options in the field of medical billing Learn coding practices for telehealth, viral outbreaks, and other emerging issues Update your knowledge of the changes between ICD-10 and ICD-11 coding systems Find training programs and explore your options for certification This Dummies guide is an accessible entry point for prospective professionals looking get a jump on their new career, and current professionals intent on staying up-to-date in this flexible and growing field.
ISBN: 9781394268337Publication Date: 2024-09-19
CPT Changes 2025: an Insider's View
For a better understanding of the latest revisions to the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®) code set, rely on the best-selling CPT® Changes 2025: An Insider's View. Find the meaning behind all the changes included in the American Medical Association's (AMA) CPT® 2025 Professional Edition codebook. Invest in this annual publication and get the insider's perspective into the annual changes in the CPT code set directly from the source--the American Medical Association. The AMA is the authority to turn to when seeking an official interpretation and explanation for a CPT code or guideline change. Know the changes inside and out. Avoid and reduce claim denials. FEATURES AND BENEFITS Organizational structure matches the CPT codebook -- allows coders to easily conduct a side-by-side read of CPT® Changes with the CPT® Professional. Official AMA rationales -- provide a detailed explanation for the code or guideline change. Clinical examples, procedural descriptions and tables -- help explain the practical application for each change. At-a-glance summary table of the 2025 changes in each section -- shows the extent of all changes for the section and specialty.
ISBN: 9781640163072Publication Date: 2025
Test Prep
Multiple Choice Secrets! : Winning Multiple Choice Strategies for Any Test! by ISBN: 9781927358986
Study Skills
College Research Papers for Dummies by
Get ready to take on your first college research paper like a pro Just got assigned your first college research paper? Don't sweat it! College Research Papers For Dummies has your back with the perfect companion to these not-as-hard-as-they-look assignments. Discover how to research, argue, problem-solve, analyze, and synthesize your way through even the densest material. Find out how to best revise and rework your paper until it's a polished gem. Plus, get some quick tips on higher-level research papers, such as literature reviews and white papers. Accurately cite references using APA, MLA, and Chicago styles Take advantage of all the resources available to you as you write your first research paper, from your university's library databases to your local college center's support services Develop common research paper writing techniques, including argumentation, research questions, and thesis statements Don't wait until the night before your paper is due! Grab a copy of College Research Papers For Dummies today and ace that first research paper like we all know you can.
ISBN: 9781394191116Publication Date: 2023-07-06
Academic Writing Skills for International Students by ISBN: 9781350427891
Fractions for Dummies by
An easy, straightforward, and fun guide for learning fractions and its counterparts Fractions For Dummies is the perfect strategy guide for both understanding and using one of math's most common (and most challenging) topic areas. You'll explore current solving strategies for fraction-related problems, and you'll also discover how to solve problems involving fractions' closely related cousins, decimals and percentages. Dive deep into the basics of these topics before moving on to more advanced uses, such as word problems, with the help of author and experienced math teacher Mark Zegarelli. This straightforward and intuitive book also includes: Techniques for working with mixed numbers (numbers that include whole amounts and fractions) and more Ways to add, subtract, multiply, and divide fractions with whole numbers and with each other Strategies for helping and supporting the young student in your life who's struggling with fractions, decimals, and/or percentages It's time you showed these math areas who's boss. Fractions For Dummies shows you just how easy fractions and the like can be!
ISBN: 9781394296897Publication Date: 2024-12-24
Planning Your Essay by
With essays, the key to success is in the planning. The fourth edition of this bestselling guide takes students through the complete essay writing process, from planning the task and analysing the question to structuring, drafting and editing their work. It provides practical guidance on how to reference, approach different types of essay and make the most of tutors' feedback. This is an essential resource for students of all disciplines and levels who are assessed on the basis of their ability to write essays. New to this Edition: - Additional material on using sources in your work through paraphrasing and quoting - Guidance on working with AI tools such as ChatGPT - Fresh examples of student essays
ISBN: 9781350444874Publication Date: 2025-02-06
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the sixth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university. New content in this edition helps students make the most of online learning, with a new self-evaluation page and more on working collaboratively online. This edition includes support tailored for students on hybrid, asynchronous or distance learning courses as well as more material on building study stamina and improving concentration.
ISBN: 9781350421271Publication Date: 2024-07-11
50 Ways to Manage Stress by
This practical book will inspire and encourage students to shape new habits and make stress-management a natural part of their everyday routine. Each of the 50 'Ways' in this book is a starting point, offering suggestions of things to do and think about, alongside opportunities to reflect on, choose and commit to new ideas and actions. It shows students how to recognise helpful and unhelpful stress, identify their stress triggers and develop coping mechanisms to ease and manage stress. Throughout, it encourages students to take charge of their wellbeing and strike a healthy study-life balance. Packed with supportive guidance, this book will help students to stay on top of stress during their time at university.
ISBN: 9781352005790Publication Date: 2019-05-08
50 Ways to Manage Time Effectively by
This book will inspire and motivate students to shape new habits and make effective use of time in their studies, work and everyday lives. Each of the 50 'Ways' in this book is a starting point, offering suggestions of things to do and think about, alongside opportunities to reflect on, choose and commit to new ideas and actions. It helps students to make smart use of time-saving strategies, set manageable goals and pace their study so they keep on top of deadlines. It also shows them how to identify potential distractions, manage procrastination and take action that will stand them in good stead for their studies and working lives. Packed with practical tips, this book will help students of all levels to fine-tune their time management skills, take control of their time and be more productive.
ISBN: 9781352005851Publication Date: 2019-05-08
50 Ways to Excel at Writing by
This highly practical book will inspire and motivate students to shape new habits and develop a winning approach to writing. Each of the 50 'Ways' in this book is a starting point, offering suggestions of things to do and think about, alongside opportunities to reflect on, choose and commit to new ideas and actions. It will help students to find the writing routines and strategies that work for them, develop their writing style and fine-tune their assignments with a critical eye. Additionally, it supports students in identifying their weaknesses and taking steps to address them. Whether your students are in their first or final year, this indispensable resource will support them in building the writing skills they need to succeed at university and beyond.
ISBN: 9781352005882Publication Date: 2019-05-08
Critical Thinking Skills by
The ability to demonstrate critical thinking is essential for students who seek to achieve good grades at university but it typically creates a lot of confusion and anxiety. Critical Thinking Skills provides an easy to follow, step by step guide to developing analytical reasoning skills and applying them to tasks such as reading, note-making and writing. A complex subject is broken down into easy to understand blocks, with clear explanations, good examples, and plenty of activities to develop understanding at each stage. Students can use this book to: · Critically assess other people's arguments · Recognise flawed reasoning · Evaluate the material used to support arguments · Apply critical thinking when reading, writing and making notes · Write excellent essays and reports The 4th edition features a new section on argument mapping techniques, which help readers to visualize the structures of an argument. It also contains new and updated examples that link to current affairs, showing the importance of critical thinking as a lifelong skill. Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills.
ISBN: 9781350322585Publication Date: 2023-03-23
