- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- MGMT501
- MGMT501 Recommended Resources
MGMT501
This course covers essential management and marketing concepts and principles needed by managers. The course also reviews the legal and ethical environment of business. Management topics include fundamental functions of management, key business functions
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window A special search tool or finding business information in Ebscohost databases
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Gale Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window "Detailed company and industry profiles, thousands of company histories and industry essays, business news, and more."
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides coverage of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, and databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and more.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
Recommended Websites
- Ethics Resource Center First and foremost, ERC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization, dedicated to independent research that advances high ethical standards and practices in public and private institutions.
- Online Ethics Center Welcome to the Online Ethics Center (OEC), an electronic repository of resources on science, engineering, and research ethics, for engineers, scientists, scholars, educators, students, and interested citizens.
eBooks
Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management by
Optimizing staff performance is a key component of achieving outstanding business results. The new edition of Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management is an essential companion for improving employee and organizational performance. From performance pay and giving feedback to managing underperformers, this handbook addresses all areas of performance management to enable students and practitioners to understand how to assess, measure and improve performance. This updated seventh edition contains new chapters on the meaning and development of performance management and managing performance with a remote workforce. It also covers performance leadership and multi-source feedback. Packed with examples to show how the theory applies in practice and exercises to consolidate student learning, Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management remains an indispensable and engaging resource for securing effective performance across all aspects of the organization. Supporting online resources include an instructor's manual, lecture slides, a glossary and a literature review
ISBN: 9781398603035Publication Date: 2022-01-03
Business Ethics by
Business Ethics: An Ethical Decision-Making Approach presents a practical decision-making framework to aid in the identification, understanding, and resolution of complex ethical dilemmas in the workplace. Focuses exclusively on three basic aspects of ethical decision making and behavior--how it actually takes place, how it should take place, and how it can be improved Uses real-life examples of moral temptations and personal ethical dilemmas faced by employees and managers Discusses the biases, psychological tendencies, moral rationalizations, and impact of self-interest as impediments to proper ethical decision making Includes relevant examples of ethical misconduct and scandals appearing in the news media
ISBN: 9781118393444Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Conversations on Ethics and Business : A Guide to Thinking about Workplace Ethics by ISBN: 9781804410097Publication Date: 2023-03-01
The Entrepreneurial Adventure by
This book is perfect for anyone looking at business and entrepreneurship. It is ideal for anyone with an interest in business and anyone who has aspirations to start their own business-outlining key principles of the entrepreneurial adventure and the business world, bringing it to life using case studies. Within this text you will find useful and practical information about business and entrepreneurship. The authors provide a robust understanding of the theory and real-world implications of running a successful business. They also describe and explain the whole process from understanding the implications and risks, the start-up stage through to future expansion. The authors clearly demonstrate that if you consistently follow the good business habits and practices that are described in this book, you really can achieve entrepreneurial success and the opportunities that come with it.
ISBN: 9781637422793Publication Date: 2022-06-20
An Introduction to Trade and Globalisation by
International trade has created a highly interdependent world. Everyday products - such as phones, trainers or cars - are designed, manufactured and assembled across several different countries, by countless different companies, both large and small, involving millions of people of all nationalities, creeds and cultures. We take much of this creativity and competition for granted. But it wouldn't be possible without the peaceful collaboration of millions of people around the planet - a much-overlooked aspect of globalisation. Yet some politicians - perhaps bound by electoral concerns - often take a narrower view, claiming globalisation leads to job losses, lower standards and threats to security. An introduction to Trade & Globalisation examines the tensions that inevitably arise alongside the many benefits of trade. Author Eamonn Butler looks at the rapid growth of international trade over the past 50 years, and how commerce and international politics have become increasingly entwined. He describes the fundamental and growing importance of trade and globalisation in modern life - whilst also seeking to understand the opposition to it. And, at the same time, he skilfully provides a straightforward, insightful and essential introduction to the principles, economics, and politics of international trade - one of the key developments of the modern era.
ISBN: 9780255368032Publication Date: 2021-10-15
Management Organizations and Social Theory by
Social theorists speculate about large-scale social questions, asking of any phenomenon, how is it possible? This book addresses how various social theories contribute key insights into the nature of organizations and management. The cast of characters to be found in this book have had a transcendental impact, including on the practices of the management and organization disciplines. For students, however, engaging with social theory in a conversation that is much broader and potentially richer than those that may have been previously encountered is not at first easy. The question is where to begin: this book provides answers. Drawing on research from international contributors, this valuable textbook is an essential resource for students and introduces key social theories and theorists making them accessible to a management audience. The chapters include objectives and end-of-chapter reflective questions, as well as a glossary for readers grappling with new terms. erms.
ISBN: 9780815365846Publication Date: 2019-06-20
Marketing: a Very Short Introduction by
Very Short Introductions: Brilliant, Sharp, Inspiring. Marketing is pivotal in today's world. Used for determining and satisfying the needs of the customer, it stands at the interface between an organisation and its environment. Marketing provides customer and competitor information to the organisation, as well as creating awareness of the company's offering. As globalization creates increasing challenges to established marketing practices, marketing efforts need to reposition and adapt continuously to maintain an organisation's ability to reach potential customers. This Very Short Introduction provides a general overview of the function and importance of marketing to modern organisations. Kenneth Le Meunier-FitzHugh discusses how marketing remains central to creating competitive advantage, and why it needs to be forward looking and constantly reinventing itself in line with new developments in the marketplace, such as the growth of social media, and the importance of ethics and responsible marketing. He shows how this has led to the role of marketing expanding beyond advertising and promotion, encompassing a broader sense of customer relationship management. He also considers how marketers need to remain able to manage the marketing mix in response to their understanding of customer's purchasing habits. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
ISBN: 9780198827337Publication Date: 2021-05-03
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283