Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new windowJournal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window
Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.
- Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window"ProQuest Telecommunications™ is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology."
eBook Collections
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Recommended Cybersecurity Websites
- COMPUTERWORLDCovers a variety of topics in the computer security industry, including cloud computing, software, emerging technology, and more.
- Department of Homeland Security (DHS)The DHS protects the nation from foreign and domestic threats.
- Ready CybersecurityProvides information on identifying and avoiding a variety of cyberattacks, as well as action to take following a cyberattack.
Recommended Cybersecurity Journals
- CybersecurityFull text coverage Dec 2018 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
- IEEE Security & PrivacyFull text coverage Jan 2003-present
- IEEE Technology and Society MagazineFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
- IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and SecurityFull text coverage Jan 2006 - present
- Information and Computer SecurityFull text coverage 1995 (Vol. 3, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
- International Journal of Cyber CriminologyFull text coverage Jan 2008 (Vol. 2, no. 1) - present
- Proceedings of the IEEEFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
eBooks
Cyber Security: Essential Principles to Secure Your Organisation by
Cyber Security - Essential principles to secure your organisation takes you through the fundamentals of cyber security, the principles that underpin it, vulnerabilities and threats, and how to defend against attacks. Organisations large and small experience attacks every day, from simple phishing emails to intricate, detailed operations masterminded by criminal gangs, and for every vulnerability fixed, another pops up, ripe for exploitation. Cyber security doesn't have to cost vast amounts of money or take a short ice age to implement. No matter the size of your organisation, improving cyber security helps protect your data and that of your clients, improving business relations and opening the door to new opportunities. This pocket guide will take you through the essentials of cyber security - the principles that underpin it, vulnerabilities and threats and the attackers who use them, and how to defend against them - so you can confidently develop a cyber security programme. Cyber Security - Essential principles to secure your organisation Covers the key differences between cyber and information security; Explains how cyber security is increasingly mandatory and how this ties into data protection, e.g. the Data Protection Act 2018 and the GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation); Focuses on the nature of the problem, looking at technical, physical and human threats and vulnerabilities; Explores the importance of security by design; Gives guidance on why security should be balanced and centralised; and Introduces the concept of using standards and frameworks to manage cyber security. No matter the size of your organisation, cyber security is no longer optional - it is an essential component of business success and a critical defence against the risks of the information age. The only questions left are to decide when and where your journey will begin. Start that journey now - buy this book today
ISBN: 9781787782099Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Cybersecurity Risk Management by
Cybersecurity Risk Management In Cybersecurity Risk Management: Mastering the Fundamentals Using the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, veteran technology analyst Cynthia Brumfield, with contributions from cybersecurity expert Brian Haugli, delivers a straightforward and up-to-date exploration of the fundamentals of cybersecurity risk planning and management. The book offers readers easy-to-understand overviews of cybersecurity risk management principles, user, and network infrastructure planning, as well as the tools and techniques for detecting cyberattacks. The book also provides a roadmap to the development of a continuity of operations plan in the event of a cyberattack. With incisive insights into the Framework for Improving Cybersecurity of Critical Infrastructure produced by the United States National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Cybersecurity Risk Management presents the gold standard in practical guidance for the implementation of risk management best practices. Filled with clear and easy-to-follow advice, this book also offers readers: A concise introduction to the principles of cybersecurity risk management and the steps necessary to manage digital risk to systems, assets, data, and capabilities A valuable exploration of modern tools that can improve an organization's network infrastructure protection A practical discussion of the challenges involved in detecting and responding to a cyberattack and the importance of continuous security monitoring A helpful examination of the recovery from cybersecurity incidents Perfect for undergraduate and graduate students studying cybersecurity, Cybersecurity Risk Management is also an ideal resource for IT professionals working in private sector and government organizations worldwide who are considering implementing, or who may be required to implement, the NIST Framework at their organization.
ISBN: 9781119816287Publication Date: 2021-12-09
Information Security Management Principles by
In today's technology-driven environment there is an ever-increasing demand for information delivery. A compromise has to be struck between security and availability. This book is a pragmatic guide to information assurance for both business professionals and technical experts. The third edition has been updated to reflect changes in the IT security landscape and updates to the BCS Certification in Information Security Management Principles, which the book supports.
ISBN: 1780175205Publication Date: 2020-01-31
IT Security Controls by
Use this reference for IT security practitioners to get an overview of the major standards and frameworks, and a proposed architecture to meet them. The book identifies and describes the necessary controls and processes that must be implemented in order to secure your organization's infrastructure. The book proposes a comprehensive approach to the implementation of IT security controls with an easily understandable graphic implementation proposal to comply with the most relevant market standards (ISO 27001, NIST, PCI-DSS, and COBIT) and a significant number of regulatory frameworks from central banks across the World (European Union, Switzerland, UK, Singapore, Hong Kong, India, Qatar, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Oman, etc.). To connect the book with the real world, a number of well-known case studies are featured to explain what went wrong with the biggest hacks of the decade, and which controls should have been in place to prevent them. The book also describes a set of well-known security tools available to support you. What You Will Learn Understand corporate IT security controls, including governance, policies, procedures, and security awareness Know cybersecurity and risk assessment techniques such as penetration testing, red teaming, compliance scans, firewall assurance, and vulnerability scans Understand technical IT security controls for unmanaged and managed devices, and perimeter controls Implement security testing tools such as steganography, vulnerability scanners, session hijacking, intrusion detection, and more Who This Book Is For IT security managers, chief information security officers, information security practitioners, and IT auditors will use the book as a reference and support guide to conduct gap analyses and audits of their organizations' IT security controls implementations.
ISBN: 1484277988Publication Date: 2022-03-24
Multi-Cloud Architecture and Governance by
A comprehensive guide to architecting, managing, implementing, and controlling multi-cloud environmentsKey Features* Deliver robust multi-cloud environments and improve your business productivity* Stay in control of the cost, governance, development, security, and continuous improvement of your multi-cloud solution* Integrate different solutions, principles, and practices into one multi-cloud foundationBook DescriptionMulti-cloud has emerged as one of the top cloud computing trends, with businesses wanting to reduce their reliance on only one vendor. But when organizations shift to multiple cloud services without a clear strategy, they may face certain difficulties, in terms of how to stay in control, how to keep all the different components secure, and how to execute the cross-cloud development of applications. This book combines best practices from different cloud adoption frameworks to help you find solutions to these problems.With step-by-step explanations of essential concepts and practical examples, you'll begin by planning the foundation, creating the architecture, designing the governance model, and implementing tools, processes, and technologies to manage multi-cloud environments. You'll then discover how to design workload environments using different cloud propositions, understand how to optimize the use of these cloud technologies, and automate and monitor the environments. As you advance, you'll delve into multi-cloud governance, defining clear demarcation models and management processes. Finally, you'll learn about managing identities in multi-cloud: who's doing what, why, when, and where.By the end of this book, you'll be able to create, implement, and manage multi-cloud architectures with confidenceWhat you will learn* Get to grips with the core functions of multiple cloud platforms* Deploy, automate, and secure different cloud solutions* Design network strategy and get to grips with identity and access management for multi-cloud* Design a landing zone spanning multiple cloud platforms* Use automation, monitoring, and management tools for multi-cloud* Understand multi-cloud management with the principles of BaseOps, FinOps, SecOps, and DevOps* Define multi-cloud security policies and use cloud security tools* Test, integrate, deploy, and release using multi-cloud CI/CD pipelinesWho this book is forThis book is for architects and lead engineers involved in architecting multi-cloud environments, with a focus on getting governance right to stay in control of developments in multi-cloud. Basic knowledge of different cloud platforms (Azure, AWS, GCP, VMWare, and OpenStack) and understanding of IT governance is necessary.
ISBN: 9781800203198Publication Date: 2020-12-11
Principles of Data Management by
Data is a valuable corporate asset and its effective management is vital to an organisation's success. This professional guide covers all the key areas of data management, including database development and corporate data modelling. It is business-focused, providing the knowledge and techniques required to successfully implement the data management function. This new edition adds chapters on linked data, concept systems and big data and artificial intelligence.
ISBN: 9781780175935Publication Date: 2022-07-26
Cybersecurity Videos
- Cybersecurity Assets and Risks Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Threats Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Vulnerability and Countermeasures Recognize the key concepts of cybersecurity vulnerability and countermeasures
- The State of Cybersecurity Packt PublishingJuly 2022 The State of Cybersecurity This video explains the state of cybersecurity.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283